American Modern Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


American Modern Insurance Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
American Modern Insurance

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

7 Reviews

 

3 Star

5 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

3 Reviews

 

4 Star

4 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

5 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

5 Reviews

 

4 Star

11 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

2 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

8 Reviews

 

4 Star

2 Reviews

 
Premium
American Modern Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

4 Reviews

 
American Modern Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

2 Reviews

 
American Modern Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

7 Reviews

 
American Modern Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

4 Reviews

 
American Modern Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

8 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

8 Reviews

 

5 Star

8 Reviews

 

4 Star

5 Reviews

 

American Modern Insurance Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: April 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service has been good, but I have not made any claims. I have used them on multiple houses since I own rental properties, and getting the house's insurance set up.


Date: April 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I used to insure through Farmer's insurance, but I switched to American Modern because of the agent I had with Farmer's. They did not listen to me and always tried to sell me more insurance.


Date: January 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have never had to contact the insurance company so, I cannot verify anything about the company's customer service


Date: January 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
we live in a mobile home so, I think the premium is a little much compared to what others pay that live in a stick built home


Date: January 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
our home, our barn, we have med pay, additional expenses covered for loss of value in our home


Date: January 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home insurance company quoted me the best rates. They rates and terms of policies are very reasonable. They were very willing to work with us on they terms of the policy and the payment amounts.


Date: January 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I like all the offerings as far as price and everything else that goes along with it,.


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I love all the people that work in the local office and they always go above and beyond to help me.


Date: December 30, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I don't really think there are much differences from one company to another,


Date: December 30, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I love using american modern insurance agency. They have always been wonderful to work with and very understanding. Any questions or concerns that i have ever had they have done what they could to answer them to the best of their ability.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I feel the premium and detectable are better at this company than others. I have had to place 2 claims on my home with 2 different insurance company and the one i am with know was by far the best and most reasonable to work with. They helped is settle the matter very quickly and we got our payout in a fast timely manner.


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
to me, the premium seems high. I know in a regular house the premium, would be lower. I don't think mobile homes should be charged differently.


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
they fixed my roof promptly when a tree fell on my house. very please with the quick response. however, they would not cover floor damage for an unknown water leak


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
i am really not sure what, if anything, they offer that other insurers don't. they are one of the few companies that will insure a mobile home.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
the website is simple but not user-friendly. our car insurance is through progressive and I love the way things are labeled so you know exactly where to go to get to what you need.


Date: November 15, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
our home, our barn, we have med pay, additional expenses covered for loss of value in our home


Date: November 06, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My premium is high because of some credit issues. there are some companies that won't insure our house because of it's age. So our premium is high because of that.


Date: November 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
As for the premium with respect to the comparison of this company with another, I like more what it can offer to be huamno or the American itself.


Date: November 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My policy covers after a deductible, fire, wind, hail, acts of God and explosion damage and my personal property as well as my provides liability insurance


Date: November 02, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not ever used their customer service. I would guess it is good.


Date: October 31, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
It has what I am looking for. I can see my policy and it's information. I don't use it often so I am satisfied.


Date: October 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I have no complaints about interaction or communication with my company as of this date and I have a great local agent who provides immediate help is I need it to solve a problem which I might need help with


Date: October 23, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is well under the cost of other providers and provides a reasonable coverage amount without making the value of my house out of sight to get a higher premium.


Date: October 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I guess the standard stuff is covered. Fire, Theft, Storm damage, no flood coverage. Water damage.


Date: October 17, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The app provides all the needs I have to contact my agent or the home office with names and phone numbers and I do not have to sign up to user a pass word I might forget.


Date: October 16, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I like the company because I can call in and talk with a rep immediately to make a change of payment mode without a hassle and it is taken care of and I am not hassled by company wanting to make up dates etc.


Date: October 15, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
My communication from them is always good. I get my renewals on time, I get my policy documents on time.


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
It takes way too long and sometimes they dont respond and close the session so you have to re que for another communication


Date: October 04, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
This is really getting old. Maybe you didn't understand. Everything about this company sucks. I could have gotten more done to my house by saving the money myself. They acted offended that we wanted to make a claim on our home for tornado damage to the property.


Date: October 04, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've generally only had to use the customer service line to set up my account, and once when I forgot a payment. They were very helpful both times. It would be nice if there were an online chat option.


Date: October 02, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It is more expensive, but I have had difficulty finding places that will cover me, as we live in a high fire danger area.


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They don't communicate at all with me. I have received no updates or information on what they do or what they cover. I only know because I used to be an insurance agent and know my coverage.


Date: September 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
They offer good coverage at a low premium. I shopped around a couple of years ago for a lower premium, but our current company had the best rates and coverage.


Date: September 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I do not believe they have a mobile app but the website is not mobile phone friendly. I have to access it through a computer which is a pain in the butt.


Date: September 25, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Not sure what I am supposed to write my insurance company doesn't offer a mobile app of any kind....So I can't like or dislike


Date: September 23, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Since I live in what they consider a mobile home which is actually a doublewide I have a higher policy premium that if I had an actual house...So there aren't any cheaper rates for me,


Date: September 22, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
the website is simple but not user-friendly. our car insurance is through progressive and I love the way things are labeled so you know exactly where to go to get to what you need.


Date: September 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Other companies premium have a lot of privileges and free stuff. but this company has the better methods of security covered. They do give away some gifts just for having the service.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I quite like my insurance agent. I have had one-on-one attention from my insurance company, clear explanations of changes, etc. I would not change anything about the customer service at this point in time.


Date: September 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
we live in a mobile home so, I think the premium is a little much compared to what others pay that live in a stick built home


Date: September 16, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I believe that everything is covered under my policy including flood and property damage ...slip and fall accidents.


Date: September 15, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My dwelling, other structures, personal property, personal liability, medical payments to others, and damage to other's property. I am covered if there is an earthquake, flood, hail damage, hurricane, high winds, or water backup from sewers.


Date: September 13, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have never called my customer service for my insurance, so I have no opinion either way with their customer service.


Date: September 12, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service was very kind and respectful. The one time I had to speak to them they were very helpful and answered every question I had in a timely fashion.


Date: September 12, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website its slow and sometimes doesnt respond to me. the same with the app, sometimes it closes itself and it doesnt let me work on it.


Date: September 11, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
They never contact me, which is fine. I don't think I have received more than one letter in the mail from them.


Date: September 10, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
Theyre located in another state, Its very hard to get someone to call you back after you submit a claim. I wish that I could find something cheaper or change to a different company.No communication


Date: September 05, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
customer service is awful usually I get a machine and not a real person to speak to.


Date: September 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home is completely covered in case of accidental damage or fire. My belongings are also covered up to a certain amount. I do not have flood insurance, as I live on a hill and it is not needed.


Date: August 31, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have to contact my local agent to learn about the policy. I can't just contact customer service.


Date: August 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I have never used the company's website or mobile app, as I don't really need it right now.


Date: August 26, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I have never been to my company's website, so I cannot tell you how it looks or what I dislike or like about it.


Date: August 17, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium is included with my house note. It is $1100 a year which is a good rate in my opinion.


Date: August 12, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It is more expensive but because we live in a high wildfire area, the premiums are more and very few insurance companies are willing to insure us.


Date: August 11, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I've seen some cheaper premiums offered, but I'm not sure if I'm eligible in my particular circumstances. This company is significantly cheaper than my previous one, Metlife. I'm satisfied overall with the premium.


Date: August 09, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Each action I take tends to open up a new tab, where I need to go back and and look at the previous tabs to find the policy number and the amount due in order to make a payment on the new tab. I'd like it if some of the essential information was auto filled in, and if I could keep a credit card on file.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I like that they dont charge me too much on my insurance and they still got covered all my necessities like robber protection. protection against fires and for every thing that can be destroyed


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I have only had to communicate with them once and that was by phone and they were very kind and helpful. They send me statements when my premium is ready to renew and they are fairly easy to understand and always come on time.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
It is a standard homeowners policy with dwelling, liability, and loss of use.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Despite good customer service, I feel like they could still communicate with me more. I rarely see communication from them; most of it comes only if I initiate it.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They're located in another state, It's very hard to get someone to call you back after you submit a claim. I wish that I could find something cheaper or change to a different company.


Date: August 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I have never used the company's website or mobile app. Everything is all included in our mortgage in escrow. They offer good coverage at a decent premium that hasn't changed, so I haven't had to mess with it.


Date: August 02, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Our bank set up the insurance for us and they send letters each year notifying us of our premium. I have never spoke with anyone at the mortgage company to give a rating so I will place a 3 below.


Date: August 02, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It is more, but we live in fire country, so it tends to be more expensive.


Date: July 31, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home is covered for wind, fire, and water damage and it includes inside content damage as well with a small deductible.


Date: July 26, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I don't believe that they have a mobile app to use, my payment comes directly out of my account.


Date: June 20, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Honestly, I am satisfied that they send letters annually and otherwise they do not contact me. I get annoyed with companies that constantly feel the need to contact me.


Date: June 15, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
In addition to calling and email, I can also go to the insurance office (local agent) and talk to them about my policy. Communication is very easy.


Date: June 03, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
300K in liability, Full Rebuild on Dwelling, loss of use, medical payments


Date: May 15, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
all clothing, furniture, outside buildings, stored cars tools, fish tanks dogs cats appliances hot water heater


Date: May 10, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Sometimes you feel like you're talking with a bot and i dont really like that. Sometimes customer service is rude with you. Other times they have time and are good with you


Date: May 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The customer service is very prompt and professional. Email replies are usually within an hour, or I can call and talk to someone right away.


Date: March 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
our home, our barn, we have med pay, additional expenses covered for loss of value in our home


Date: March 17, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have never had to call customer service, so I cannot comment on whether or not the company's customer service is good or bad.


Date: January 03, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home policy covers the house and structures attached to it, loss of use, repairs, and anything located inside my home.


Date: December 01, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
You don't seem to understand. They don't have an app. We can't do anything with their website. If I could have given them a 0, I would have.


Date: November 25, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I'm generally happy with the communication. I get an email before each payment is due, which is appreciated. They've been easy to talk to when I needed help.


Date: November 23, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Home insurance in my area is fairly high. I shopped around quite a bit before I landed on using my insurance company. It was the lowest and most competitive price.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have a double wide home with an addition and a two car garage I don't think my policy should be so high.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
My home insurance company's website is very basic, and I have not had to use it frequently. I have no major issues or faults with it.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is very easy to use and it is easy to pay my bill. The company treats their customers very professionally.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I believe that it is lower than some other insurance companies I researched before decided to go with this one. I feel like this is the best deal.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
They have always been available and prompt to help me with my questions.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have never had to contact the insurance company so, I cannot verify anything about the company's customer service


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Rebuild, loss of use, other structures, and medical and liability payments