Ameriprise Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Ameriprise Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Ameriprise

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

14 Reviews

 

5 Star

5 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

3 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

11 Reviews

 

4 Star

5 Reviews

 
Communications

3 Star

3 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

10 Reviews

 

4 Star

7 Reviews

 
Premium
Ameriprise Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

2 Reviews

 
Ameriprise Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

1 Review

 
Ameriprise Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

9 Reviews

 
Ameriprise Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

15 Reviews

 
Customer Service

3 Star

7 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

12 Reviews

 

4 Star

4 Reviews

 

Ameriprise Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
i was extremely satisfied with my last experience (5). i backed into a car behind my driveway and dented my neighbor's new vw car. i was so mad at myself and embarassed to tell my neighbor.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible I have is the same as the quotes I got from other companies and is standard for most policies. The rates were competitive and I am pleased with the rates.


Date: July 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Policy Offerings
I have had different policies with other insurance providers but the coverage I get with the rates I pay are superb. I also like how open and straightforward they are not only about our coverage.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
When I compare my premium with what my deductible is I find them very affordable for today's rates. The premium is very comparable and the deductible doable.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I love this insurance company! Even if they weren't associated with my Costco Executive membership I would use this company.


Date: June 29, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Before I took the policy, I compared prices in the market and it was the most convenient one.


Date: May 29, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
we compare every couple of years - and have yet to find anyone that can beat the price / coverage break point we are at. We think it is still too much, but we haven't found anyone cheaper.


Date: April 28, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I like it because I receive discounts for having my cars with the company too.


Date: April 09, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The coverage provided to me from Ameriprise is identical to coverage I have had in the past with both State Farm and Liberty Mutual. The coverage amounts satisfy all of my needs.


Date: February 24, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The customer service representatives are always courteous, helpful, Probably some of the most helpful company representatives I have ever worked with. Always eager to get the job done right.


Date: February 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Ameriprise offers a decent premium and deductible. To my knowledge, it is not the best as some other companies for the same coverage, however.


Date: January 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
the premiums that the users of this service pay are adjusted to our needs and do not stick in our pocket so it can be said that it is a good insurance company


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
is an excellent insurance company because they comply with the established and a little more, are always up to date and always respond with speed to the difficulties that are presented to their customers


Date: December 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They have offers for each client, which adjust to the needs of each one and their service is exceptional, for which I recommend it


Date: November 28, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like that I can go right to my profile easily and ask questions about changes I might want to make.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think that because of the age of our home we pay too much.


Date: October 20, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
.The premium is very satisfying since Ameriprise offers the lowest rates in the state.


Date: October 19, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The customer service is very efficient and it is very responsive to all the requirements of the customers.They are supportive in all a customer requires


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I am unfamiliar with the company's website/mobile app. We deal with the company via phone calls and I have never actually visited their website and am unsure if they have a mobile app.


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
While they have a website, I've really only used it to look up their phone number. I didn't find the website that helps to use, plus I've been very pleased with their call center phone reps.


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
When I SWITCHED MY PREMIUMS DECLINED $100 A MONTH. I SHOP MY INSURANCE EVERY YEAR WHEN MY RENEWAL COMES UP AND I HAVE NOT SEEN A LOWER RATE.


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
We have property protection coverage which includes dwelling, other structures, personal property, and loss of use. Additionally, we have personal liability protection which includes personal liability and medical payments.


Date: October 03, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I like it because I receive discounts for having my cars with the company too.


Date: October 02, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The customer service offered by the company is quite dis-satisfactory as the response time from the customer office is too long. The issues are not managed and followed well by the company officials. Overall I dislike the customer service.


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The website of the insurance company works perfectly providing users in particular to my person with full and reliable attention.


Date: September 29, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
When I am able to get onto the app I have no issues with communication. They have agents online that are more than happy to help with any issues.


Date: September 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have never had a poor experience with them, at least not yet. We try not to file claims, even when we could because in the past, the minute you file a claim your rate goes up. We were canceled by USAA for simply calling to ask if our fence was covered when it blew down during a major storm.


Date: September 22, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The house and the outside of items like the driveway and porch and a hotel.


Date: September 21, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Communications have been excellent! The phone center reps are friendly and professional. Written communications are delivered promptly, and they give you a choice of either e-mail or regular mail for delivery.


Date: September 19, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I am allowed to choose email, text, or phone for communication.


Date: September 16, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I have not really used the website or mobile app so I cannot give a proper opinion.


Date: September 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like the simplicity of the site. Everything is right where it should be and easy to find. The one issue I have is that almost 50% of the time it says my account is unavailable at this time. It doesn't matter if I'm on my phone or computer at home or work, It is about half the time not available.


Date: September 12, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We are satisfied with our premium because it covers all of the bases, and literally was half the yearly cost compared to Travelers, which was nearly a hardship it was so expensive.


Date: September 11, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
WHEN MY RENEWAL IS ABOUT TO HAPPEN I GET A LETTER WITH CHARGES FOR THE NEXT SIX MONTHS ALONG WITH THE POLICY INFORMATION AND MY PROOF OF INSURANCE CARDS SO IT IS VERY EASY


Date: September 11, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I HAVE ONLY USED MY WEBSITE ONCE AND THAT WAS TO GET A QUICK QUOTE IF I BOUGHT A NEW CAR. IT WAS EASY TO USE FOR THAT PURPOSE BUT I HAVE NOT USED IT AGAIN.


Date: September 10, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I like that I can go right to my profile easily and ask questions about changes I might want to make.


Date: September 06, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Before I took the policy, I compared prices in the market and it was the most convenient one.


Date: September 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
the communication between the user and the employee of the company is reliable and safe in what respects the information, among other things related to the insurance


Date: September 05, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not really used their service so I don't know how the customer service is. I can not give proper judgment regarding their service.


Date: September 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
It covers the dwelling, contents, additional structures, and temporary living cost. It also covers accidental injuries.


Date: September 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
do not use it much, but it is efficient and allows you to look up information rapidly


Date: September 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
Our current company is very good about communicating with us, although it's all via mail and on paper. They send our policy updates twice a year and we feel we are well informed by them.


Date: September 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
My insurance company is always available when I need them. I feel confident that they will always be there for me.


Date: September 02, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website has a lot of details about my policy which I appreciate. I can log in and see my payments and my policy.


Date: September 02, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I'm not sure what's covered but I think fire and theft and there may be some limitations on water damage.


Date: August 21, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Every time I have called the insurance company they have been helpful, upbeat and friendly. There hasn't been a long wait which I appreciate.


Date: August 20, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
they are great. they respond to emails and phone calls withing 24 hours


Date: August 17, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Living structure, electrical wiring, roofing, garage. This policy does not cover flood or hurricane damage.


Date: August 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I love that fact that I am always able to speak with a live agent whenever I want.


Date: August 16, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium offered by the company is low compared to the other operating insurance agencies. Overall, the premium offered by the insurance company is manageable and within the limit.


Date: August 15, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I HAVE NOT MADE ANY CLAIMS SO I HAVE NOT HAD TO USE THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ALL MY PAYMENTS HAVE BEEN MADE WITHOUT ISSUE SO I WOULD RATE IT AVERAGE.


Date: August 14, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are quick to respond to questions. We only call them 1-2 times per year with a question (usually about renewals). We do receive a lot of mail from them and that can be confusing.


Date: August 13, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home policy covers replacement costs for my dwelling, garage, and contents. It also has liability insurance protection as well as an optional rider for damage from sewer backups.


Date: August 11, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think this was the best price for the policy. Honestly, they did well with the auto policy and I just bundled them together because the price seemed good.


Date: August 10, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I HAVE ONLY USED THE WEBSITE TO REVIEW SOME POLICY INFORMATION. I HAVE NOT MADE A CLAIM ON THE POLICY WITH AMERIPRISE. THE POLICY INFORMATION WAS EASILY FOUND AND I DID FIND WHAT I NEEDED. THERE WAS NOTHING I DISLIKED.


Date: August 09, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I really like the website. It is very detailed and informative. Policy details are very readable and user-friendly. Contact information for Ameriprise is easy to find on the website.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The communication offered by the company is very hectic and dis-satisfactory. The interaction offered by the company officials is very disappointing and issues were not solved for long periods.


Date: August 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
They are a lot cheaper. This is an added perk of being a Costco member


Date: August 02, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
offer coverage in the health area for one year, among other benefits during this same.


Date: August 01, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think that because of the age of our home we pay too much.


Date: August 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I had to use one and the service was good. They were helpful


Date: July 30, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
My rating is neutral because I have not had to use their customer service or communicate with them, the only thing that I have to do so far is just to pay the premium.


Date: July 29, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
EACH YEAR WHEN MY POLICY COMES UP FOR RENEWAL I GET A PACKAGE IN THE MAIL. THE PACKAGE SUMMARIZES MY COVERAGE AND GIVES ME WHAT THE NEXT YEAR PREMIUM WILL BE. AGAIN, I HAVE NOT HAD ANY REASON TO CHANGE AND ALL HAS GONE SMOOTHLY.


Date: July 28, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
he service offered by the company in general in excellent, I have no negative comments about it


Date: July 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have always had great customer service with my insurance company. They are always willing to work with my claims. Especially when our roof had hail damage.


Date: July 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have not compared my insurance with any other companies because everyone I speak to about insurance is usually paying more than me.


Date: July 24, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service team is always helpful and polite. I am never placed on hold for an extended amount of time. All team members are able to answer my questions and explain things in terms that are clear and understandable.


Date: July 24, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The insurance company really only communicates when renewal time comes around. They send out numerous letters around that time and it can be confusing what each letter is for and if they are all relevant.


Date: June 08, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home insurance has covered the stealing of the valuables, damage done by the natural calamity, damage done by some other unnatural means, damage done by fire, appliances in the room like led, refrigerator, ac etc.


Date: June 02, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The insurance premiums are the lowest I've found. They offer numerous discounts for loyalty, accident- or claim-free history, various safety features, and more. Any time I've priced competitors, no one has been able to match Ameriprise's rates.


Date: June 01, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I HAVE NOT HAD CONTACT WITH CUSTOMER SERVICE BECAUSE I HAVE NOT FILED A CLAIM AND HAVE NOT FOUND ANOTHER COMPANY THAT HAD A BETTER POLICY OR RATE STRUCTURE. I REVIEW THE POLICY EVERY YEAR AND HAVE NOT FELT I NEEDED TO MAKE CHANGES. MY BILL IS PAID BY AUTOMATIC PAYMENT FROM MY CHECKING ACCOUNT AND I HAVE NEVER HAD AN ISSUE.


Date: May 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Honestly, I don't even know if they have one. I've never tried to access it. Maybe I should look. Would be nice, actually.


Date: May 25, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
have never had an issue. they have been very responsive and have always taken care of everything. it would be nice if they had a local office, though. everything must be done via phone or internet.


Date: May 13, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The dwelling is covered as well as items inside - jewelry, furniture, electronics. There is a deductible before items are covered.


Date: May 13, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We check premiums annually through an insurance agent and Ameriprise has consistently offered us the best deal for the same coverage.


Date: May 12, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Damage from fire or storms, tear and repair, living expenses if we have to move out, medical to someone else if something happens to them on our property.


Date: May 11, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The website of the company has easy interface. Many features are readily available on the homepage. Some services like yearly premium payment are somewhat tedious to do on the website.


Date: May 11, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
It is a decent premium for the coverage. It was offered through Costco with discounted rates


Date: May 09, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have never had an issue with the customer service. They answer quickly and in friendly tones. They have never given me anything but great service.


Date: March 09, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The house is covered in the home insurance policy, including dwelling coverage and specific damages.


Date: January 11, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The reason i went with them in the first place cost. They were by far the cheapest of all the companies i received quotes from. In fact, they were almost half the cost of some of the others.


Date: December 07, 2017    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
THE PREMIUM RATE I HAVE IS THROUGH MY MEMBERSHIP WITH COSTCO. THE REASON I SINGED UP WITH THE COMPANY WAS BECAUSE I REVIEWED THEIR COVERAGE AND THEIR RATE COMPARED TO THE ONE I HAD IN PLACE. IT WAS MUCH LOWER AND THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE RATINGS WERE HIGH. EVERY YEAR PRIOR TO RENEWAL I DO SOME CHECKING ON RATES FROM OTHER COMPANIES AND HAVE NOT FOUND THEM TO BE COMPETITIVE WITH THE ONE I HAVE CONSIDERING PREMIUM AND COVERAGE.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service is fabulous! They operate a call center in Green Bay, WI staffed with upper Midwest, American English speaking representatives. These people are very friendly, courteous, and promptly resolve any concerns I've had. It is one of the best features of the coverage I have.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Like anything, I do wish the premium was less, but I do feel it is comparable or even less than other companies I have priced coverage with. One thing I dislike is how every year the premium seems to go up even though I never file any claims.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
It's a renters policy and the premiums are very low so I can't really complain about the monthly premiums I have to pay.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
The company communicates very well in writing or through email. I am not bombarded by phone calls or solicitations. I receive most of my communication through email.