Esurance Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Esurance Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Esurance

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

8 Reviews

 

5 Star

11 Reviews

 

4 Star

15 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

3 Star

10 Reviews

 

5 Star

14 Reviews

 

4 Star

13 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

3 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

19 Reviews

 

4 Star

14 Reviews

 
Premium
Esurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

5 Reviews

 
Esurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

14 Reviews

 
Esurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

22 Reviews

 
Esurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

20 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

2 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

41 Reviews

 

4 Star

13 Reviews

 

Esurance Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would rate Esurance customer service a 4. They have handled my claims in a timely manner and are usually pretty helpful and courteous on the phone.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I feel that Esurance is on parity with the other insurance carriers available in my area. Insurance is insurance as far as I'm concerned.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Esurance was pretty reasonably price when I first signed up, they have since raised their prices, but are still cheaper than the bigger agencies that spend more on advertising.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I would say that they are fairly average for coverage, nothing outrageous but for the low monthly cost it's not much more than what can be expected.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Absolutely terrible. I would give them a 1, for the constant mischarges and blatant lack of respect for their customer base. I am not at all satisfied.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I own less than what my deductible is likely worth so I would not be able to fairly rate it, other than to say it seems disproportionate for the coverage.


Date: June 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Esurance has great customer service reps. They are helpful and polite. They explain everything in detail and are patient since it is a transaction over the phone. I would use them again unless I found something better.


Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
We are saving on our premiums over what we paid on our last two homeowners insurance providers. It's not a huge savings, but it is noticeable.



Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They communicate well with the customers. But it is difficult to contact them. There are lot procedures to contact them by pressing their keys.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
The customer service for my insurance company is usually good. There was one instance where I was on hold for about 7 to 8 minutes, but other than that I have always been satisfied.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The price point is similar to other insurance companies, though eSurance has been able to offer us more discounts because of a number of factors.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
It was really nice policies and I really like these type of policy and I really like and love it.


Date: May 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
The premium or deductible is comparable if not slightly better from other quotes that I have received over time from other providers


Date: May 26, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
They offered me great coverage and my deductible is great and afford for me every month. I 'm very pleased.


Date: May 25, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I'm a 5 I am extremely satisfied with my home insurance company. They make it easy to call in with any problems and easy automatic payments.



Date: May 25, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We got eSurance last year when we bought our first home. They were very helpful over the phone and offered the most competitive rate. They offer discounts for things.


Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We recently switched to esurance from Liberty Mutual. I had been satisfied with esurance as an auto insurance provider, so decided to look into them for homeowners insurance.


Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
they have friendly customers service and take of issue's quickly though sometimes there agents do not listen well.



Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
esurance has been so wonderful they offer the best insurance policy regardless of what your isuring


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have always had an easy time contacting my insurance company. They have been kind, helpful, and fast with my inquiries.




Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
We are first time buyers so it was important to us to have this be very affordable. eSurance was able to roll this payment into our monthly house payment to make sure we never miss one.


Date: May 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My Insurance company covers all repair or replace your home or other structures on your property, like a tool shed.


Date: March 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
It is very easy to access. It is very useful for the customers to know their dues and times. This is the simple way to find the solutions.


Date: March 21, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Esurance was really easy to use. I liked the company for the lower cost premium but did not like that they automatically charge your card for the premium the following year to renew. The website was easy to use and I have never used their app.


Date: March 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Its been a while since I looked at the policy but I believe my home is covered with storm damage or natural disasters, fires, burglary, and human-caused disasters like it someone drove into the house.


Date: February 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My early interactions with my home insurance company's customer service occurred when I was getting all set up. The lady was kind and patient, and very helpful in answering any questions I had.


Date: February 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium that I pay is a little bit less due to the fact that I am bundled with auto insurance under the same company, but the deductible is comparable to other insurance companies.


Date: February 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I feel that my insurance company's policy offerings are probably very similar to other companies, but I was able to save more money by bundling my home with the auto policy I already had.


Date: February 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have no real experience with my insurance company as I have never had to deal with them. We pay our bill on time and that is just fine with us.


Date: February 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Offering auto insurance, home insurance, and more, Esurance is one of the top names in online insurance. With nearly one million policies, we understand that customers are our most valuable resource


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have no bases for comparison of my insurance company with others. It seems all the same to me as I have not nor intend to look into it long enough to compare it with others.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I dont know much about what other people are offering, i liked this company cause it was cheap, same as my car inssurance and i got a discount for joining


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Compared to the other home insurance policies I reviewed with the same or similar coverage, Esurance offered a lower monthly premium and a reasonable deductible.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have to give them a 5 star. i had issues at first getting my first payment set up cause of issues with the billing names but they were right on it and got it fixed in minutes. good people


Date: February 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium is comparable to others from my understanding but what do I know, I haven't really compared it to any other company.


Date: February 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
i only hae a basic polocy set up. just basic fire, flood, robbery, tornado. just the basics so im not any help there.


Date: January 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The one time I have had to speak on the phone with them regarding my policy the customer service advocate was very kind and helpful.


Date: January 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We are new to esurance but they have been very helpful. They have chat to easily answer whatever questions arise and have been hemlock setting things up with the bank for the escrow account. Purchasing has been a breeze.


Date: January 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Esurance has consistently had the best coverage/premiums for my home over the past 5 years and my deductible (for when I obtain quotes) has always been consistent, so that I am comparing apples to apples.


Date: January 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Esurance are some of the nicest people I have ever worked with. I have never had to file a claim, but if required to do so, my guess is that they would be just as accommodating as they have been when I've called for one reason or another.


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Policy coverage is similar to others. The price of the coverage was much cheaper than others. I am very satisfied with the policy offerings.


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The price is very good in comparison to other companies that we have checked. It is not the cheapest but is two to three hundred dollars less than the other "bigger" names. I appreciate that I'm not paying rent for an office I will never need to go to as everything is online.


Date: December 31, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Had a great experience using Esurance. Purchased our first home Dec. 2017 and was unsure of the whole process. They explained everything very clearly and was easy to understand what all was included. We originally had requested a quote for insurance through the bank we got the mortgage with and Esurance was half their cost.


Date: December 31, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I prefer to handle things online vs over the phone and they are very accommodating about that. The customer service on in general has been fantastic and not pushy.


Date: December 30, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
In the only experience with my home insurance I would give them a grade of 5. They answered all of my questions and left me feeling satisfied


Date: December 29, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I honestly wouldn't choose this coverage if I had the option. However, because of my area, other companies were trying to charge a monthly rate for 3x what I could afford and this was a way for me to have coverage and still be able to live.


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I fell that my insurance deductible are fair and affordable after talking to customer service the left me feeling satisfied. Will use them again


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have the basic of basic coverage compared to other insurance companies. Other companies were trying to make me pay more than I even earned in the year for just 6 months and this was largely because I didn't have insurance before.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
As far as home insurance and customer service, they have been more than helpful when it comes to having coverage.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
This is the best part of using Esurance, it was a lot cheaper than other offers. It was half the cost for the same coverage at a local bank. I am very happy with the cost.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am very satisfied with the offerings of my company. When obtaining quotes, which I do every year, each company offers very similar options, meaning that one company never really tends to stand out over the others in that aspect.


Date: December 23, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is probably a little lower because I am receiving discounts for bundling my auto and home policies through esurance. I have no issues with the premium.


Date: December 21, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I would say the offerings from my home insurance company are probably pretty similar to those of other companies. I had auto insurance through them already so the ability to bundle was a huge factor


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The coverage offerings are similar to competitors; however, what keeps them affordable is being web based. No commercials so my monthly rate doesn't reflect paying for advertisements.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Esurance offers similar homeowners products compared to other companies, in my opinion. There was a base policy to choose from and add-ons, if ncessary


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I had to contact esurance when my home was hit by a tornado. They were very calming, sympathetic, and made sure to get my family somewhere safe for the night.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not had to utilize Esurance's customer service other than when I initially bought the policy. At this point I would assume if I had to utilize it, I would rate it a 5 out of 5.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've been able to sign up for insurance and maintain it online. I've never had to file a claim so I never had to speak with customer service; I make my monthly payments online and all my insurance documents are available for download and viewing online at their website. The convenience is stellar.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I'm paying $10 monthly premium for home insurance and my deductible is currently $150. I feel that is fair to cover all my belongings in the event of burglary or damage from water or fire. Other companies would be comparable, but only if I was bundling policies with auto.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The price of the premium and deductible have been compared as better and cheaper than other comparable companies in my opinion.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium really couldn't be beat. For what we paid, I wasn't expecting a whole lot. We've had similar coverage and paid twice the amount before.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I gave them a 4 out of 5 because there was one or two other places I had looked at that offered a better deductible, but ended up with Esurance because of the better reviews in customer service and care.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They are great, they cover everything that I want covered and are extremely affordable, which is wonderful if you're on a tight budget like me. I am completely satisfied with their coverage and recommend them to anyone who is looking.


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
They have been wonderful on all levels, especially customer service, and I cannot speak highly enough of them. They always answer in a timely manner weather it is over the phone or via email, and are always helpful and cheery. I definitely would recommend them to anyone who is looking.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Esurance offers everything any other service I have dealt with offers. Their prices have been better than every other company I have been in contact with.


Date: November 12, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The main thing I dislike about the customer service with my company is they take awhile ringer back to me when I have issues or questions about the policy.


Date: November 10, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is easy to navigate, and the tabs are clearly labeled in order to find what you are looking for while on their website.


Date: November 09, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I can do almost anything on the mobile app. I rarely have to actually call them.


Date: November 08, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My policy covers liability, personal property, and also structure damage that may occur to the dwelling during storms, fires, and natural disasters.


Date: November 01, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Everything with them is great. We really enjoy our representatives for our home and car owners insurance.


Date: November 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I rarely have to call customer service which is nice, but they do seem to need a lot of verification for the my insurance.


Date: October 30, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
my home and all of my belongings. If my home is unsalvagable I have 140,000 to rebuild.


Date: October 17, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The customer service is friendly and competent, yet they take a long to get back to me on sensitive issues I need answers to.


Date: October 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium is about 1000 less than comparable coverage from other companies.


Date: October 16, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The reason I choose Esurance is because they seem to offer a lot of options and coverage for an affordable price compared to their competition in my area.


Date: October 15, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They usually just email me which I like because I don't enjoy talking on the phone, but I do't like how often I have to talk with them.


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
communications through phone and website is not the best. on hold on the phone for a very long time with a very confusing automated answering machines. When a phone call is answered by a person, does not seem very knowledgeable


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
They were very polite, yet I feel like they weren't going the extra mile to make sure we felt we were protected. I felt that they looked for loop holes and ways to make sure they didn't have to help us.


Date: October 03, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The insurance company proves to be an important resource that everyone will follow in real time for a lot of reasons.


Date: October 02, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have not looked to much into other insurance coverages, but I like the fact that this policy covers personal property in the premium.


Date: October 02, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We went with the most affordable we could find, but I would be happier with a smaller premium/deductible combo. I'd prefer a lower premium with a slightly higher deductible for claims.


Date: October 02, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They randomly show up to take pictures of the property, unannounced, yearly. I wish we were notified so our home would always look its best. I have had experiences with a rude agent not wanting to verify coverage due to it inconveniencing her.


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy protects my home and our personal property from damage caused by fires or lightning. Windstorms (which includes hurricanes and tornadoes) or hail. In addition to Explosions.


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The website is easy to navigate, and is pleasant to utilize. The tabs are easy to identify, thus enabling me to get what I need done quickly and efficiently.


Date: September 30, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
Interactions are minimal and no excessive mailing, selling, or over promotion of items are sent my way. Would even prefer less communication and quarterly emails would be ideal.


Date: September 26, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Esurance is completely easy to use. Fast as far as response time. Enjoyed doing everything from the website in addition to talking with the representatives. Friendly and easy to use.


Date: September 25, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I get weekly and monthly notifications and news about the company I am currently insured with.


Date: September 25, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
No complaints. Again, I don't contact them very often, but when I do they answer all my questions and never leave me confused.


Date: September 24, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I feel as though my premium with insurance is lower than other companies we had checked into. That may or may not be the case now as we moved in there 11 years ago.


Date: September 23, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My house insurance covers fire damage, water damage, an act of god, tornado, flooding, earthquake, theft, business in the home, etc.


Date: September 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Both the app and the website are very easy to navigate and I can talk to a rep easily on either platform. It's also very simple to pull any information I need as well.


Date: September 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
All of the representatives I have spoken to were helpful, polite and pleasant. I have nothing bad to say about the customer service. They are always on point.


Date: September 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
The customer service agents seem to be well trained and thoughtful in their interactions in addition to knowledgeable enough to point me in the right direction if they can't directly answer a question (meaning, they get someone on the line who can help).


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Esurance was much cheaper than other companies we looked into. I still feel our coverage is a bit overpriced though. I am hoping our premium will drop overtime.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like the company because their products are easy to use and the app is functional as well for many consumers out there.