Horace Mann Educators Corporation Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Horace Mann Educators Corporation Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Horace Mann Educators Corporation

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

1 Review

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

2 Reviews

 

4 Star

4 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

5 Star

4 Reviews

 

4 Star

5 Reviews

 
Communications

3 Star

1 Review

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

4 Reviews

 

4 Star

4 Reviews

 
Premium
Horace Mann Educators Corporation Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

2 Reviews

 
Horace Mann Educators Corporation Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

1 Review

 
Horace Mann Educators Corporation Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

1 Review

 
Horace Mann Educators Corporation Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

3 Reviews

 
Horace Mann Educators Corporation Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

12 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

7 Reviews

 

4 Star

5 Reviews

 

Horace Mann Educators Corporation Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: October 04, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
we have better coverage, lower deductibles and much lower premiums. In our old home, we bundled coverage with another famous company but their premiums and deductibles were substantially higher.


Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
They also say in addition to auto, home and renters insurance, Horace Mann offers life and disability insurance, but they never call back when i need their help.



Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Horace Mann used to have a good service, but now they have terrible customer service. even worse claims experience causing us to cancel all our policies, at one point we called 8 times claim for help.



Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My deductible is in line with other insurance policies. I also get nice discounts for the premiums for carrying mulit-lines and also because I am an educator.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have been very happy with Horace Mann. They have been supportive and have helped anytime we have had an issue. Lightning ran in and did a bit of damage.They covered it with no arguments.



Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
They typically respond quickly via email but are slower to return my phone messages. They are good about following-up with me if I don't respond right away in case I forget.


Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Their premiums are extremely competitive compared to other home insurance policies. I have not found lower premiums with any other insurance companies. They are much cheaper.


Date: February 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Agent is easy to contact with questions or concerns. I have had no issues with the insurance company and their customer service has been great so far!


Date: February 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I chose to have a higher deductible to have a lower premium. Ive been fortunate not to need to file claims very often and I have the money set aside so it works for me.


Date: February 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Its chepear and it gives a multi-line discount for me with other services. It give me additional options of what I need or dont need. I dont have to pay for things I dont need.


Date: January 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
As we have home, life, auto insurance polidies, we enjoy a substantial premium discount and are able to select lower deductibles for both home and auto coverages. We now save more than $1K on our annual premiums with much lower deductibles.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My agent has contacted me on a regular basis during the Hurricane season to see how prepared I was. Also, when I had issues with a claim, he was there to walk me through - step by step.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy offerings could be better and a little cheaper. However, the rates and offerings are competitive with other major players.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible is more than fair but the premium is a bit too pricey. I have inquired about this before and was informed that the rates what they were because of the fact that I lived in a flood prone area.


Date: October 23, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
Its all good I have an agent who delas with most of it buit the comuncation with the actual companym has always been fine


Date: October 22, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service is great whenever I have a questiuon about billing and if they are very thorough ans considerate


Date: October 22, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
All my house structure and all its belongs. Any jewelry and art work along with specific inclusuion that are offered.


Date: October 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
It is great. I can check my policy and look up any speifics I need but most important is i can make payments online.


Date: October 20, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I find it to be as equitable as any others based on what I have read and heard form other people and sites


Date: October 18, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
My agent is very personable and helpful. She is willing to do whatever is necessary to make sure her clients are satisfied.


Date: October 18, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I have never used their website or app, or even know whether they offer such a service.


Date: October 17, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have never had an experience to use customer service so I cannot comment on it.


Date: October 15, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Of the three companies that I used to get estimates prior to purchasing my home, not only was this the cheapest price, it was also the most coverage.


Date: October 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have made rate comparisons with several major companies (Allstate, State Farm, Liberty Mutual). Of the companies that I have checked, my current insurance company has lower premiums.


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My family researched other companies and found Horace Mann to offer the best coverage for the lowest price. We switched from State Farm.


Date: September 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have compared it against a couple other companies we have had and it was about 10-20 percent cheaper than the others.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I usually do not get any communication from them besides when I reach out to them


Date: September 19, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I love their interaction styles, both over the phone and through email, they sure are of good reputation and have never disappointed.


Date: September 15, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I don't know that they even have a mobile app, I have never used it. They do not advertise themselves as much of a technical company. I typically do not use their website, I just communicate with my agent.


Date: September 13, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Residence, related private structures, Personal Property, Additional living costs and loss of rent


Date: September 11, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I like the fact that the company's website is simple and easy to navigate. The site has links to the basic necessities.


Date: September 08, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I have never used their website or mobile app. I wasn't aware they had much available for online use.


Date: August 31, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I really like the customer service I receive from my agent. I email his admin and she is in touch usually within the same day.


Date: August 26, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Horace Mann offered the best pricing and premium over other companies, we shopped against a couple others - State Farm, Travelers


Date: August 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Because there is only one person who does all the work for the agent, if we are dissatisfied with that person's handling of a request, we don't have much recourse and can't ask to work with someone else. The agent himself never reaches out to us. However, most of the time, we get very individualized attention and they are thorough and prompt. We are overall satisfied.


Date: August 21, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I love the company's customer service, they are very prompt in responding to customers request and very efficient, they surely do their job well.


Date: August 15, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I love the company's website because it is very easy to Navigate and it looks very attractive and welcoming to use.


Date: August 11, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The company did a tremendous job with filing my claims and gave detailed information. The process took over a year and they kept me informed the entire time.


Date: August 11, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Residence, Related Private Structures, Personal Property, Additional Living costs and loss of rent, personal liability, medical payments to others


Date: August 07, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The insurance covers things both outside and inside the house, such as the roof, antenna, food, appliances, windows, and replacements to the house structure.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
It was cheaper than others I compared with and had been with (Travelers and State Farm). They give a good discount compared to others.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Residence, related private structures, personal property, additional living costs, personal liability, medical payments to others.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service of this company is kept at a minimum. I dislike that I am constantly being placed on hold every time I have a question and I get roundabout responses.


Date: August 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Covered due to Fire, lightning strikes, Hail, and windstorms. Basically anything natural disaster-related. We also have a coverage package for our HVAC unit


Date: August 02, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have one point of contact and she is very responsive and offers great customer service. When I need something she is there and will respond quickly.


Date: August 02, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I think my premium is fairly priced given all that is covered under my home insurance policy. I think compared to others, it is somewhere in the middle of the pack.


Date: July 28, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
My agent helps me when needed, but they are not in touch often when I am not contacting them. It would be nice if they were in touch a bit more.


Date: June 15, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I've never really used their website and they do not advertise it. I believe you can use it to log in to view your current coverage, but in the past, I have just called my agent and made changes that way.


Date: May 28, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
As far as I know, my company does not have a great website at all. I don't have a portal I can log in to view the offerings. It is a small local company for educators (my wife).


Date: May 15, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I like that I can write an email to the admin at my insurance company's main office and she responds within a couple hours and is always very nice and gets what I want to be done.


Date: May 03, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Residence Related private structures Personal Property Additional living costs and loss of rent Personal Liability Medical payments to others


Date: November 26, 2017    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Our agent has a small office which means we get very individualized attention. I like that; however, sometimes they can be slow in getting back to us. There's really only one person who does all the work so there's no one to complain to.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is very cheap compared to my experience with another insurance company in the past. They are very friendly with their clients and offer different payment options.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The communication is very minimal. I never get calls from them trying to solicit me for more products. I just communicate with my agent and she responds.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Somethings I enjoyed about the company's website is the information is easy to find. Something I dislike is because it's a small company, there is no mobile app.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I dislike the lack of communication my home insurance company gives me. I think there is a lack of communication starting with upper management which stems down to the customer service representatives.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service was great. They were able to answer all of my questions as well as walk me through the claims process from beginning to end.