Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Nationwide Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Nationwide

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

11 Reviews

 

3 Star

24 Reviews

 

2 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

67 Reviews

 

4 Star

50 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

26 Reviews

 

2 Star

8 Reviews

 

5 Star

74 Reviews

 

4 Star

42 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

27 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

79 Reviews

 

4 Star

36 Reviews

 
Premium
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

12 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

10 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

61 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

71 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

103 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

7 Reviews

 

3 Star

23 Reviews

 

2 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

135 Reviews

 

4 Star

65 Reviews

 

Nationwide Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: May 29, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I find it about the same as other companies that I have used in the past, however, they gave me a discount when I combined this insurance with other insurance.



Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I actually have no idea about the premium or deductibles. I do know that it's affordable and helps when I need them. I can get a hotel paid for if our family home is damaged and unlivable.



Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I get a pretty good deal on the insurance we have because my boyfriend works for the company and receives a discount. I feel as though we get a lot of value out of the plan that we have.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I feel that the price, especially with bundling, is a little better than anyone else for the coverage we choose.



Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I do not really focus on the premiums or the decuctables when it comes to my policy. I like the special add ons that Nationwide gives me.


Date: May 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have been with Nationwide for 18 years. First, with my auto insurance, and when I purchased my house. Their customer service is cannot be beat.




Date: May 25, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I really like the job that Nationwide was done for me. I think they are doing an incredible job representing me and providing me with the best service possible.


Date: May 25, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have have with my home insurance company to 6 years and i am very pleased with the level of customer service they have. I have shopped around for other services.



Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
My premium is very reasonable and I have excellent coverage amount. The deductible meets my needs if I need to file a claim it will be manageable to pay.


Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I would rate my insurance company a 4. They've been great to work with on all claims though I don't totally agree with the amount given on my last claim. Fast, and responsive however.



Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I shopped for homeowners insurance a long time. When I could nationwide I was thrilled with the quote they gave me. The premium was the most affordable and covered more than all the other companies I called. I honestly couldn't be happier with them.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I believe that I am getting a good value for my premium and that it is comparable to other providers. I'd prefer to save money but have found no other provider to do so.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have been a customer for over 30 years and all claims were promptly resolved to my satisfaction


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium and deductible of the policy is bit high when compared to other companies. Sometimes had feeling that there is no offers in the premium and deductible of the policy.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
The customer service of the Home insurance company is good in resolving the issues. It the query has been different, they were transferring to the concern department on time.


Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I think the premium is very fair. i enjoy the price. i think the deductible is a very reasonable price for the coverage that i have. nationwide has the best coverage that i have found.



Date: May 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I haven't had to file a claim but whenever I've called with a question, they have been very helpful and kind. I like their attitude.


Date: May 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I can't give a great review on this because I don't use their website or their mobile app. I call them and deal with them over the phone when I need something.


Date: May 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Sometimes the wait times on the phone are very long. I wish that they would get more employees to take more calls.


Date: May 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The company is really helpful when you call them they make sure you have a clear understanding of your policy. They also quickly answer any questions you have.


Date: May 05, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It's about average it started out around 500.00 and has jumped to 700.00 with no claims and just because you do not mean the insurance companies are loyal to their customers. It has been stated in the market to change every so often insurance companies.


Date: May 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
From what I know the premium is a fairly decent one. Again, mine comes out of escrow, so I don't have to pay that bill every month. Even so, I think it's a completely fair amount.


Date: April 27, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I do have an agent that I work with, and he goes above and beyond for me. For example, he gave me an alarm discount in advance. When I failed to have the alarm installed, he let me keep the discount anyway.


Date: April 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The service is incredible, any time we need our local agent she gets back to us right away. When she is out of the office, a hotline is available to get still get service immediately. Everyone I've talked to at nationwide has been really nice and helpful.


Date: April 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I haven't had to interact with the company much but when I have the staff has been very knowledgeable and helpful.


Date: April 03, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My payment amout that I have to pay is not as much as it would be with any other company. I call around to check before I got Nation Wide. My deductable is $100.00 which is good.


Date: April 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
i am satisfied with there customer service,who are always prepared to help you when need be.they have friendly customer service who are readily answerable to you and give directions.


Date: April 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home and injuries on my property are covered. Also lots of things in my home in the event of a fire.


Date: April 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My insurance company has a great customer service department. When I called to make payment arrangements for my premium, my specialist suggested.


Date: April 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
my homeowners insurance company offers fairly traditional coverage, I do feel that is sufficient to protect my home and belongings.


Date: April 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
it offers a wide range of discounts and this makes it convenient for the consumer. there deductible and premium policy is customer friendly with a variety to choose from.


Date: April 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The prices for Nationwide are pretty good.I had a few choices for deductible and i went with the 1000 deductible. They offer a small discount if you have home and car insurance with them.


Date: April 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have the 500 dollar deductible, as it seemed about right to lower my rates but not be too expensive if i had a claim on it. The premium is reasonable.


Date: April 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I havent had many reasons to call customer service except for billing or renewal questions, but the reps seemed courteous and were able to help me, phone system was decent to navigate as well


Date: April 01, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I called them once about a fire in my kitchen. They were very helpful and took all the information and had a adjuster to my house in 2 days. I had a check to get the work fixed in 4 days.


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They have pretty much the same offerings as every other company but the difference for me was in the price.


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am extremely satisfied with Nationwide's customer service. Any questions I have ever had in regards to my home policy, they have always answered and they have been very courteous.


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I do not hear from my insurance company which is just fine with me! If there was a problem, I am sure they would contact me. I know I can always get ahold of them when I need them.


Date: March 30, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
There policy is pretty competitive with all the other insurance companies I compared them too. They cover the basics, roof, interior and garage. I don't believe the offer flood insurance.


Date: March 29, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is the big reason I chose Nationwide. It was the cheapest premium around. The deductible is not the best, and it's a little higher than some, but I have already met my deductible.


Date: March 29, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They are the same as any other major company, and the rates were similar. They cover the usual things, and offered the same levels of deductibles.


Date: March 29, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I found Nationwide to offer coverage for my credit rating at a far more affordable rate than competing insurance companies that provide homeowners policies.


Date: March 29, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
When we first bought our house, I checked with several different companies. Nationwide had the best coverage at the least expensive annual premium price.


Date: March 29, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Compared to the other companies I reviewed, Nationwide had the cheapest premium and deductible for our home and our two barns.


Date: March 29, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Customer service with nationwide has, for the most part, been relatively pleasant. I cant really complain any because every time I do call and need assistance.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I switched to this company because of this mainly. I could get House and Auto insurance with Nationwide for the same price as just Auto insurance at my last place. It was a no brainer.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have only talked to them once or twice but when I did they fixed my problem quickly and were very nice.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
they out perform their competitors when it comes to the claim experience.their policies are affordable and you have a variety to choose from .it is good in timely claim payment.


Date: March 27, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They offer a lot more than some other companies. I called around and the ones I have are cheaper for me and they offer things the other ones didnt. Like I wanted my home covered for flood.


Date: March 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Unfortunately, I have not considered switching companies until recently. My premium has gone up steadily for the past couple of years. I cannot really compare to anyone else because I have not looked.


Date: March 16, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have Nationwide Insurance and I have never really compared to other companies. They have been my provider for over 25 years.


Date: March 16, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I'm actually not exactly sure what is covered or not. This is not a priority item of mine. Now that I have said that I realize that I probably should know these things. I know that if the house completely burns to the ground, my policy will pay to rebuild it and the fence surrounding my yard up to code.


Date: March 16, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I never have had to file a claim with Nationwide. I have had good experiences in dealing with their people during set up in the beginning as well as with renewals.


Date: March 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Personal property: computers, furniture, clothing, tools, etc. The house and also all outdoor additions such as fence, gazebo, shed lawn mower. Also, any injury on our property is covered.


Date: March 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I haven't compared other insurance offerings in a long time as I've been satisfied with our coverage from Nationwide.


Date: March 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Nationwide mutual insurance Homeowners offering , lock down low rate of interest compared to other Home insurance company. its too good to take for our financial maintaining aspect.


Date: March 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Excellent Customer Service, I have had insurance with Nationwide for 25 years. Local agents and reps have always been very helpful with any of my questions or needs.


Date: March 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
this company is giving premium to domestic property and casualty insurance. this is major deviation from other one. so we can take which one is eligible for us.


Date: March 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The policy is standard and when we talked to others they said the price we were quoted couldn't be beat.


Date: March 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I don't think that there are too many other companies that have more home products than Nationwide does. I was able to add specific coverages that were important to me without any issues.


Date: March 14, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible of Nationwide is slightly less than other companies, partly because I have been with them for many years and now receive certain lower rates as a long time customer.


Date: March 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Nationwide seemed to offer the most comprehensive coverage for the best price. I checked other providers but could not find a package that included everything.


Date: March 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have been using Nationwide for car and home insurance. They have been wonderful when dealing with auto claims - thankfully we have not had to use them for any home claims to date.


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My initial deductible was higher than I would like but Nationwide still offered the best price for the amount of coverage needed. During renewal in the year mentioned.


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I would say Nationwide hits mid-range compared to other policies for deductible and rates. They are not on the low end, however they are certainly competitive with other major insurers.


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Nationwide is my home/fire insurance company. I get a bundle deal with them, also have car insurance. Premium could be a little lower considering I've never made a claim in 25 years.


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I researched several other insurance companies prior to going with Nationwide.The other companies in general were about the same price range but their customer service was sub standard.


Date: March 11, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Over the years Nationwide has offered the coverages that we have needed and we believe their rates and offerings are completely inline with what we could get should we decide to look elsewhere.


Date: March 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium seems reasonable, but I have not compared insurance company premiums and coverage in a long time.


Date: March 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Overall, I've had a good experience with Nationwide Insurance.I had an adjuster out the next day, followed by a check printed immediately. The increase in my premium due to a claim wasn't out of hand and the customer service was great.


Date: March 10, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
All my contacts with Nationwide have been positive. They are responsive and seem to view each customer on an individual basis.


Date: March 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible of my policy seems to be reasonable. My premium raised after a claim, but I'm assuming that that is a common occurrence when a claim is filed.


Date: March 09, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer the same as everyone else. Most insurance companies offer the same. The biggest selling point is the customer service.


Date: March 09, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Between the two companies that I have had, with Nationwide, I now have many extras that I was never given with my Erie Insurance. I paid the same deductible for both and my rate is lower with Nationwide.


Date: March 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
nationwide insurance company is best for replacement coverage policy. And rate of interest also reasonable to everyone. Their hospitality about marketing is too good.


Date: March 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I believe the customer service at my local Nationwide is a 5. They are friendly and always willing to help.I enjoy dealing with them and recommend them to anyone.


Date: February 27, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I compared my premium to other carriers and the cost of insurance was very low


Date: February 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
This was the cheapest premium that I found. Ill most likely try to bundle my insurance in the future. Right now I have the very minimum policy that is offered.


Date: February 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They have very good customer service. It is easy to get in contact with and talk with an actual person and they are very helpful when needed.


Date: February 21, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I do think I could get a better rate somewhere else because the premiums are high. I do have a low deductible which could account for some of the premium costs. I do not like the increases each year and wish I could just have an unchanged premium.


Date: February 20, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I do believe I could get a better price if I checked around with other companies but due to the customer service I have not done so. Also I don't know if every company could offer coverage that is as good.


Date: February 20, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My insurance agent is great in explaining all questions asked. When I call he is very helpful and always calls back if I leave a message. The insurance coverage is very good.


Date: February 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The company has to charge for that coverage. If they want it then we'll have to charge for it.


Date: February 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home insurance covers more or less all of the items in my house, I have to update the policy every so often.


Date: February 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home is covered up to the dollar amount needed, it covers the items within my home and also covers some other items.


Date: February 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home, land, and property are covered under my policy. Our personal belongings, our home itself, our small parcel of land as well.


Date: February 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
Nothing was mentioned about how that would take place now that it has there's water lew who has the interim replacement fee.


Date: February 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium seems to be competitive with other companies. Since all my insurances are bundled together, I am able to receive a better rate on my home insurance policy.


Date: February 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
Its simple to use and always loads fast. Ive never used the app, but im not sure if they have one as I only use the site.


Date: February 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I think the companies customer service is ok but it can take a while to get through to the correct person. It is usually a good experience otherwise.


Date: February 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think my policy covers me well, however i believe insurance is a cash grab because you cant get back any of the money you spend on it. There should be some way to get back something after spending all that money and not having a claim for years.


Date: February 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think the premium is too high for all the companies, not just mine. They should give you at least half of premium bask instead of just taking your money year after year.