Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Nationwide Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Nationwide

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

11 Reviews

 

3 Star

24 Reviews

 

2 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

67 Reviews

 

4 Star

50 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

34 Reviews

 

2 Star

8 Reviews

 

5 Star

96 Reviews

 

4 Star

46 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

27 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

79 Reviews

 

4 Star

36 Reviews

 
Premium
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

12 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

16 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

77 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

88 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

130 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

7 Reviews

 

3 Star

37 Reviews

 

2 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

173 Reviews

 

4 Star

87 Reviews

 

Nationwide Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am completey satisfied with nationwide. They have been very helpful to me.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They have lots of options for their policy offerings, and are happy to help you find the one that would be best suited for you and your needs. They have a policy for anyone in any housing situation.


Date: August 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It seems premiums are high and keep going up, but we have compared to other insurance companies, and the premiums and deductibles seem to be similar.




Date: August 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the deductions are made to suit the client and not forced on them so that the client can pay up at his or her conducive time




Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I love nationwide. They offer me rental and car insurance along with a discount because I used the save driver app they offer. I would rate them a 5 at this time because I have had nothing but good interactions with them.


Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have been happy with my home insurance customer service. There is an easy to use website, and I can also call, but I have not had to call them yet.


Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am a 5 and extremely satisfied with my insurance company i have no complaints. I have never had any issues that have come up in which i felt it was unfair.



Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I would rate the premium I pay on my home owners insurance a 3 because although I feel it covers everything that I need it to cover, sometimes I feel that the deductible is a little too high.


Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
When I called the representative worked with me to find my state minimums and then he talked about everything individually. He really took the time to make me understand each thing.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
A deductible or discount, either way they make it work. Good offerings and plans made for my choosing so nothing bad on either end.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am very pleased with Nationwide.I made a call to Nationwide and they were able to bundle by auto and home and ended up costing under what Progressive charged just for my home.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
After researching, my deductible is a little higher than other home insurance policies, but it also does have a bit more added coverage.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
the home owners insurance that I currently have is very satisfactory, I rate them a 4 because they are always available, the prices are reliable and convenient.



Date: August 10, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
We contact our insurance company often due to umbrella policy and home policy payments being switched to accounts. Personnel in office usually handle quickly.


Date: August 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am indifferent to this because my husband will pay for the home insurance so i have never had an issue with the price or the deductible.


Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had very little issue with Nationwide. Have only had to use their customer service once but the experience was pleasant.



Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Nationwide's premium was cheaper than any company I was able to find. I used numerous insurance sites that compared prices and was unable to find anything cheaper.


Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would rate the customer service a 3. They were not very helpful in directing us to the right person when trying to file a claim.


Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Overall im really satisfied with the company cause its a need for me. And really good rates to get from them.




Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
When I call with a question, it is hard to get good service. I do personally know the agent that owns that location and if i really need something, he takes care of it, so when I deal with him, I get good service.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I actually pay quite a bit less than I was paying with my other company and receive better quality service



Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Nationwide's customer service is better than other insurance companies I've dealt with because they usually answer calls fairly quickly and respond relatively quickly.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
At this time I believe our policy could be lowered to meet other companies rates. Our out of pockets seems a little high. Our premiums are manageable, easy to pay with monthly rates.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Nationwide's premiums are very similar to other companies I have dealt with. They may be slightly higher, but come with slightly more options. So all things considered I would say they are about average.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
they have been extremely wonderful and they have their clients interest at heart, though they might take some time too.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The policy is decent. Compares favorably to coverage that I had before. Does offer a few more options that I couldn't get before so definitely a solid reason to switch providers.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The agent himself is a friend of ours and when he gets involved, the service is great. However, the people that work there don't provide good service.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
very good to deal with and is easy to work with giving many options and rates to deal with . I like alot


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Very good care and many options that make ya a satisfied costumer . Good service and many good benefits to help you as a costumer


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I really believe there are better or less expensive insurance companies out there. However, we hate to change simply because we have great service. I have had other companies that are not attentive.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I haven't filed a current claim but my current policy seems sufficient. My replacement cost for the house is higher than the total purchase of my home by about 25% so it seems worthwhile.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I like how they have the combination deal. So, the more you services you use them for the bigger discount you will receive.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My deductible is high, as is my monthly payment. It's great! Love insurance don't you? The insurance company and its scams are amazing. Go insurance go!


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I did some price and policy coverage comparison when I moved to my new home and wanted to take out a policy. I was mainly concerned about potential damages since the home is old.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My home insurance company has been easy to work with and have things resolved so far. They've been helpful with issues I've raised but so far I haven't had a major claim.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I wish they were a bit less but I'm sure that's what everyone wishes. I do get the amount of coverage I would like at a lower cost then I used to so I can't complain too much on that end.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied with the policy, they even added some specific valuable items to the policy at no additional cost. That said I'm not super aware of other companies offerings.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I would rate my experiences with Nationwide Home Insurance a 4. I've never had a problem. They were easy to use in the home buying process and were helpful in many regards.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Customer service has always been very good, using the insurance 2 times over the last 40 years they made good on both claims in a timely manner!


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It seems that the offerings are similar to other insurance companies. We have looked into other companies a little when our prices go up , and it seems the offerings are about the same.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It seems that the prices often go up, without explanation. We just get a new bill that is higher. We have compared and all insurance companies do seem to be high.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I'm satisfied with my home insurance company as of now. I have not had to make a claim so I have not dealt with them in that process, which I imagine would influence my perceptions of them greatly.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had a great experience with Nationwide. I recently had called because two of my appliances have gone out and they were able to send someone very quickly.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy offerings are pretty straight forward. The one thing that I don't like is them trying to get into the home to ...Take another look at the place.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think the premium is fine, I would like for it to be less but I'm sure everyone would like to pay less for something. Its wrapped into our house payment so we don't really feel it when we pay it.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I like all the options that it gives the people to choose from . Very good people and good at what they do . I like it much


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I think that for my money the coverage that I get through Nationwide is good. I have not had to make a claim yet, so I have not put this to the test but so far I am happy with what my policy covers.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had a positive experience with this company. We are low maintenance but when we do need something they are there. The agent is responsive and I would rate them as a 5 for answering us back.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium is part of my mortgage but it is a very easy option for me to only have to pay the 1 bill each time. I have no problems with my current premium.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Customer service is pretty good. Can usually get any questions or issues I have resolved without much wait time. Callers are always courteous and knowledgeable about the problems I have.


Date: June 27, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
It is very easy to navigate around the web page. I can quickly get to my account and make a payment. The chat feature is very easy to navigate and use if ever I need any help and I don't have to wait forever to chat with someone.


Date: June 21, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Other companies make me pay up to 200 dollars more pro my coverage. Some companies are cheaper but do know have everything I'd want.


Date: June 21, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I haven't looked into other companies yet, it is on my to-do list.


Date: June 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
Love the communication. My messages get where they need to go, I am always called back and emailed with updated policies right away.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Initially my premium was high when I first got my house policy, but when it has lowered drastically. I feel like I could not do any better, or get a better policy from another company.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We've not had to have much contact with our insurance company since purchasing our home. However, our agent has been a tremendous help with helping us to bundle and save.



Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
My premium and deductable are slightly higher compared to most but not by much. I'm a firm believer that sometimes you pay a little more for a better product and services.



Date: June 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Very reasonable for a poor girl like me. On a fixed income and paying a mortgage too. They have been fair.


Date: June 05, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
Nationwide seems to be a good insurance company. They have always been responsive to my needs even though my agent recently retired and I inherited a new agent.





Date: June 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I am sure premium is low and I have no deductible.where that stands against other companies I would not know.


Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I feel my premium is fair compared to other companies. I don't mind paying more for good service and peace of mind.




Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
The premium is average although i haven't shopped around much lately.I dislike that they increase the rate every year and recently.I am paying more for less coverage.


Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The deductible for my insurance policy is as reasonable as most. I am satisfied enough to stay with them and not move.



Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Our premiums and deductibles are right on with other insurance companies in the area. I would love my deductible to be lower, but that just isn't the reality of our world today.



Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
Nationwide has given me good experiences with their customer service. I called when my husband passed and wanted his name removed from the billing address.




Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I am mostly satisfied with my insurance since they have been very responsive in my experience. They also provide online access to my account so I can make changes online.


Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
Nationwide has truly always been on my side. Although I have never had to file a claim. I know if the time should arise I will be well covered and my payments are low.


Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I'm not sure how my policy compares to other policies that are available on the market today, but I am extremely satisfied with the premiums


Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
My local agent has been spectacular since I've started as a client with him. He's gone out of his way to provide me with answers and quotes rapidly whenever I've inquired.


Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I have not compared insurance companies for several years so it is really difficult for me to answer a question of this magnitude. I probably should compare insurance companies.



Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I am satisfied with my home insurance because it is affordable. I can usually always reach a customer service agent when I call in to the call center.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
The deductibles are not too expensive but I am sure there are companies that have lower deductibles. However, for the most part they are not too bad and are pretty resonable.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
my policy is close to the same as when I first started with Allstate, the policy has went up a little but not as much as other company's would have over this long period of time.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Since I am a long term customer I have not researched different premium and deductibles but feel that due to current state regulations other companies would be similar.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I was very satisfied with the customer service of Nationwide. I would give them a five for getting the claim resolved quickly and efficiently.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
My premium is less then others that offer home insurance. I have have had 3-4 different quotes and none offer the coverage for the cost of the premium each month.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
Mine has been wonderful, I got into an accident in December. All was taken care of quickly and efficiently. Kept me apprised about everything.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Compared to other insurance providers, my premium is significantly lower. I get better coverage for the cost. My deductible is about the same as other policies.