Safeco Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Safeco Insurance Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Safeco Insurance

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

17 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

37 Reviews

 

4 Star

21 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

10 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

66 Reviews

 

4 Star

33 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

11 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

52 Reviews

 

4 Star

13 Reviews

 
Premium
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

1 Review

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

2 Reviews

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

25 Reviews

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

48 Reviews

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

74 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

17 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

97 Reviews

 

4 Star

29 Reviews

 

Safeco Insurance Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My home insurance deductible policy is the most standard pricing and the most standard packaging I could find when using an online resource that acted as an insurance agent.



Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Out policy is a lot less than our old provider and has greater coverage. I am really happy with the coverage we have at the cost. We also have an umbrella policy and it's still less!


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I really like the customer service I have received from Safeco. They have been response, quick and helpful. We have not neded to submit a claim and their responses are still great.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Policy Offerings
In all honesty, I don't know how our policy compares to others, but I think it is comparable in coverage. Our agent always tries to get us the most discounts, so I think that we have a great price as well.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Knowing our agent, she consistently checks on any adjustments that can be made to our policy in order to save us the most money. We are happy with what we pay. I trust her to stay on top of this.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
My deductible is very affordable and fair. As a first time home buyer they are more than willing to explain the policy and help me understand what I am purchasing when selecting their coverage.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have had to call Safeco on two occasions after a storm.Their customer service was quick to answer my call and never had to transfer me to a different department.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I would rate them a 3 here. The premium was a little lower than other companies we received quotes from. However, the deductible was 1,000. It could have been worse, but 1,000 seemed a bit high to me.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not yet had to make a claim so my experience has been neutral. Anytime I have had a question about my rate my rep has responded quickly, which I appreciate.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The Safeco customer service is very good. I have no complaints and my needs are met. I have the information that I need and I am able to get questions answered in a timely and professional manner.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
THE PREMIUM AND DEDUCTIBLE RATE IS MUCH BETTER WITH MY CURRENT COMPANY. I HAD THE SAME COVERAGE QUOTED AND IT THE RATE WAS HIGHER WITH THE LAST COMPANY.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Before purchasing a Safeco policy, I did several quotes from different insurance companies. Most of the companies seemed to have the same offerings.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am not sure what our deductible is. I want to say that it is $1,000, but don't quote me on it. Our monthly premium is less than $50. Comparatively, for our area, this seems reasonable.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have renters insurance, that is all I can really tell you. I didn't do A lot of shopping for this insurance. It is with the same company that is insuring my car.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Regarding customer service,They were courteous and responsive, however they would often not be up-to-speed on the payment process or would seem to forget documents I had sent them previously.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Our premium is set at $1,000. I do not know how to compare to other policies as the deductible is at the desecration of the homeowner so it not an apples to apples comparison.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I currently am unaware of what our deductible is. I want to say that it was somewhere between $500 and $1,000. However, our premium is less than $50 per month, and I'm pleased with that.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I HAVE HAD A GREAT EXPERIENCE WITH SAFECOS CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY ARE ALWAYS AVAILABLE TO TALK AND HELP RESOLVE MY PROBLEM VERY QUICKLY.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium was 800 but with discounts the policy is only 400 a year. This is an amazing price for the coverage of my house which is a new built and worth $350,000+.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Premium seemed reasonable, but I am going to have the time to shop around for insurance at the end of the policy year.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have no experience with this company besides buying the renters insurance from them.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The home insurance policy offerings are completely satisfactory. I do not have any need for other policy offerings beyond the ones I currently have with this company.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Safeco is very good about paying for repair services rather than reimbursing homeowners for repairs. This allows for people to have the best repairs for their house no matter their financial situation.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Safeco's offerings were exactly the same or better than competing insurance agencies, so we went with them even though they didn't have physical locations to go to like State Farm, for instance.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
This is my first time using a home insurance company,the rate seems fair and as I said earlier, I have only had quick responses when I have reached out with questions.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I went with my current policy because they offered discounts for my premium that were not available with other options. I believe I save about 10% compared to other quotes I received.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible were exactly the same or better than competing insurance agencies for the same coverage. We shopped through Primerica and they had the cheapest home insurance by $300/yr.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I would rate Safeco a 4 on their policy offerings. There was nothing that really stood out about the policy, however it was comparable to other home insurance providers on the market.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I love Safeco. I have insurance through them because my family has for years. Safeco proved their dedication to their customers when my hometown was hit by tornado.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I AM COMPLETELY SATISFIED WITH MY CURRENT COMPANY VERSES MY OTHER COMPANY. IN COMPARISON SAFECO OFFERS MORE COVERAGE FOR LESS MONEY.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have not had to contact safeco regarding our home insurance yet, but they have the best rates for our house compared to other insurance companies. Their customer service was friendly.


Date: June 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They will cover the house and my property inside along with payments for loss of use. They also cover other structures like my shed that is located on my property. We also have out wedding ring son our insurance.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Our premium is extremely low for the level of coverage provided. As new homeowners, we appreciate the savings each month.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Our premium and deductible are highly competitive with other insurance agencies.This directly impacts our ability to have lower costs to us.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
We paid for an additional rider to cover sewer repair. Our house is older and had a significant potential to need the entire sewer system rerouted.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I would say I'm pretty satisfied with Safeco's service - they are always quick to respond to any questions I have; their customer service is great.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I don't typically worry about the deductible or premium of my provider's coverage for me.There may be cheaper options, but I'm satisfied with the coverage I have.


Date: June 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
This is a renter's insurance that we hold. I would rate them as a "5" because it is cheap and we have not had any issues. That being said, we have also not had any claims.



Date: June 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
THe premium is pretty cheap and we have a very low deductible. The deductible is the money we pay before the insurance company starts paying out and its good.


Date: June 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Our premium is almost half what other companies wanted to charge us. I think our deductible is probably right on par with other companies.



Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We use an insurance broker that we usually deal with instead of directly with the home insurance company. Our brokers are great. I haven't had any issues with our home insurance company customer service.


Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
SafeCo customer service is very helpful, easy to work with, and knowledgeable. The last time I called, the representative skillfully answered a variety of my questions.


Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
We carry a higher deductible. This is in line with any other insurance company I've had experience with in the past. The premiums are entirely too high for the amount of coverage.


Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
They were not only able to beat the price of my last company but also the five other companies that I called and compared pricing to.




Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
It is a good company. I like safeco and they do a good job with my insurance. We got it a lot cheaper than the competitors and we love it.





Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I have had a genuinely good experience. Low rates and a fairly low deductible is what drew us to them. They are also willing to cover quite a bit of personal items in addition to the dwelling costs.


Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
My insurance agent is excellent. He is highly personal and meets our need for cost and coverage. He lives in our community and fully understands the specific risks and needs for our home.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I ENJOY MY INSURANCE COMPANY VERY MUCH. THEY ARE ALWAYS THERE WHEN I NEED THEM . THEY HAVE THE BEST RATES AROUND AND FRIENDLY SERVICE.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We have great luck with our insurance carrier and the customer service. They are fast and efficient and provide us the information we need quickly.



Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
Since we have only owned the home for four months, I haven't had much opportunity to interact with the website/mobile app. Seems to be solid architecture.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is easy to use, but very outdated. The website design looks old. It does not have all the new features like other websites do. I like that I can get information, but it needs to be updated.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I rate Safeco home insurance's customer service 5. It was easy to set up and I have had no issues since then. There was a slight mix-up about whether or not I was covered.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I give them a 5 because each time I contacted their reps, I always had a good experience and they resolved my issue quickly.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I have been satisfied with my policy premiums. SafeCo was the least expensive of a variety of insurance companies I researched, for the coverage I desired.




Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
USAA provides extremely competitive premiums for the policies that they provide. Comparing them to other home insurance policies, USAA generally charges less for the same coverage.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I don't know how it relates to other companies. The premium is very cost effective, although the deductible is a little high.



Date: May 29, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I would rate my insurance company as a 4 out of 5. This year our rates went down a bit which is nice- as they have risen every year so far.



Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They are always helpful and always keeping me up to date on new policy updates and annual payments.


Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
We had water damage. We called the customer service person and they contacted the company to come out and dry our house out and replace the damaged material.


Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I would rate them 4 out of 5. When we have called around, no one so far can beat their rates. They are reasonably priced.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
We have shopped around repeatedly looking for cheaper insurance companies, but we always find it cheaper to stick with our current deductible and policy.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I think our premium is comparable to others. It just went up as it renewed for the year but the only way for us to switch to another company we would have to pay for a new home inspection.




Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
Over all they have been good, I have had to call them a couple of times recently to check on my policy and they have been responsive and able to assist with the questions.


Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
It's very competitive, price-wise. I am please with the customer service but I have not yet made any home insurance claims.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It's lower than most companies, but it can always be lower. I'm sure it will go up because of the Colorado massive hail storms we just had.



Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
The premium and deductible is standard to most of the competitors low end insurance coverage. I'm still completely satisfied with the offer.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
My premium and deductible with my other policy was double. My current premium and deductible is lower than what I used to pay.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
We used to have a different carrier that was through our mortgage company when we bought the house. I did some homework and found out that safeco was an option for home insurance.


Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I was qualifying for my mortgage I did not shop much for insurance but I already had USAA and it was an easy option. I do know that I am paying more than others for similar coverage.


Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
We have never had to file a claim with them, so we don't know if that process would be difficult or not. However, the rate is very low. And, to be clear, we have renter's insurance as we rent.



Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I rate the premium and deductible of my policy 5. I think the home insurance policy they offered me is very affordable.Compared to other insurance options they offer, it is worth it.


Date: May 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It's cheaper, but still could probably be a little cheaper. It's not like I have 100,000 dollars worth of stuff in there to cover.


Date: May 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service has been good overall. In the beginning, the salesperson after making the sale would not return my calls which were not nice, but I called their customer service number instead and that person was helpful.


Date: May 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
everything from the inside including belongs. Liability as well. Also, anything on the outside is covered.


Date: May 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
without pulling up the policy to double check, I believe dwellings, belongings, other structures and medical payments are covered by our home policy


Date: April 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are always very nice and willing to help. I get somebody right away when I call as well.


Date: April 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Everything on the inside and outside, including the structures. All of my belongings are covered as well as liability.


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied with the offerings of my company. I have the exact policy that I need for my home.


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Compared to some of our older insurance carriers I'd say that safeco is pretty good about the policy options and offerings they have available.


Date: March 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our insurance policy is a good rate comparatively to other companies and we get a discount by combining our home and auto insurance.


Date: March 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Overall I think safeco's customer service is alright. They are usually pretty responsive to inquiries my wife and I submit and are pleasant to talk to.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our deductible is comparable to deductibles in the industry and the premium is a good price.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer about the same qualities as other insurance companies do, and we have been able to have all the coverage that we need through them.