Safeco Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Safeco Insurance Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Safeco Insurance

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

17 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

37 Reviews

 

4 Star

21 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

10 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

68 Reviews

 

4 Star

35 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

11 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

52 Reviews

 

4 Star

13 Reviews

 
Premium
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

1 Review

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

2 Reviews

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

29 Reviews

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

61 Reviews

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

84 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

19 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

106 Reviews

 

4 Star

45 Reviews

 

Safeco Insurance Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have not had much interaction with Safeco's customer service. The payment is added to our mortgage each month so we haven't needed to call them.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
We are very safificed with SAFECO. The amount we have on our house is very satisfactory for the price we pay. Other insurance companies wanted to give us the same policy, but would have charged a great deal more.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I would say my premium & deductible would be similar to other home insurance policies.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
im pretty happy with the company i use, i have a guy dedicated to me and my insurance so if i ever need anything i can call him directly, anytime ive ever had a problem they took care of me



Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We had been with Liberty Mutual and Safeco had a better premium for the same coverage. We did have to bundle our car insurance with our homeowners but it came out to be less premium paid.



Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
When compared to other service providers, the premium and deductibles at Safeco are a little high, but when you it against the premium services offered by Safeco, it seems negligible.




Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not had too much contact with our insurance company in the six years we have had them. I have never had to contact customer service and so am unable to say if they work well with their customers.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Premium seems reasonable for size of house. Every years to provide us with recommendations to increase coverage based on projected replacement costs.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
When we were trying to reduce our monthly payments she was very informative and helpful. She wasn't trying to squeeze every cent out of us.



Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service is very good. Our agent is always helpful and answers any question we may have.. 5 rating


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The ratio of the cost of our premium to the offered coverage is very comparable to the other companies we researched.



Date: October 07, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Our home insurance company has been fine. We made a claim for a new roof last year and they made it easy and painless.


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Over all they have been a good company to deal with. I have only needed to call them a couple of times so far. Each time I was able to get what I needed to get accomplished.


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had no issue with my insurance company. The main problem I would say is the price. I have quoted others and the price is high for them too so I guess they are all about the same. Their website is easy to use.




Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
the rates are about the same as anywhere else, i think the are reasonable otherwise i wouldnt be paying them, but they are also SLIGHTLY cheaper than other companties i looked into


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have a simple 500 deductible. The premium for the house insurance is the same as other companies we had in the past. I think home insurance policies have very little variety in them. Unless you are looking for something specific.


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Their pricing is what made me switch to them compared to the company I was with and the other companies I called around to. They offered what I wanted at a price I wanted to pay for it.


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
its a really good company with decent rates, i have my own dedicated representative who can help me 24 hours a day


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
our premium is competitive and our deductible is less than what i paid with my previous company for the same coverages.


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My home insurance company is Safeco, a very modern and well developed company. They have been in this field for a long time. i would rate their service at a 4, based on my experiences with them.


Date: October 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I'm pretty well satisfied with my insurance company's customer service.great company. they are very reliable and very low prices.





Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
its probably average or slightly lower, when i was price comparing most companies came in about the same rate


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
This is a renter's insurance that we hold. I would rate them as a "5" because it is cheap and we have not had any issues. That being said, we have also not had any claims.



Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
THe premium is pretty cheap and we have a very low deductible. The deductible is the money we pay before the insurance company starts paying out and its good.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Premium is about right , the deductible I find it a little bit high, but I have no need to use it very often.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We have wonderful coverage through our insurance company. It is not badly priced.This was the best company that we could find for the price we needed.They also were able to give us all the coverage we needed for that price.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think my home insurance offerings are very competitive. I have check around as a standard procedure and i wouldn't change anything.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My home insurance in been great,Their customer service was great.My water heater broke about few years ago and they were able to come and fix it very quickly.I have no complains towards my home insurance.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We have full coverage on everything we needed. We have accident on property and insurance for tornado and flood in case of natural disaster. The other policies charged was too much for this part of the insurance.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have been extremely satisfied with our insurance company. We have a bundle policy through them and receive a discount for it. Our insurance is reasonably priced for the insurance we are receiving.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My home insurance deductible policy is the most standard pricing and the most standard packaging I could find when using an online resource that acted as an insurance agent.



Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Out policy is a lot less than our old provider and has greater coverage. I am really happy with the coverage we have at the cost. We also have an umbrella policy and it's still less!


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I really like the customer service I have received from Safeco. They have been response, quick and helpful. We have not neded to submit a claim and their responses are still great.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Policy Offerings
In all honesty, I don't know how our policy compares to others, but I think it is comparable in coverage. Our agent always tries to get us the most discounts, so I think that we have a great price as well.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Knowing our agent, she consistently checks on any adjustments that can be made to our policy in order to save us the most money. We are happy with what we pay. I trust her to stay on top of this.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
My deductible is very affordable and fair. As a first time home buyer they are more than willing to explain the policy and help me understand what I am purchasing when selecting their coverage.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have had to call Safeco on two occasions after a storm.Their customer service was quick to answer my call and never had to transfer me to a different department.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I would rate them a 3 here. The premium was a little lower than other companies we received quotes from. However, the deductible was 1,000. It could have been worse, but 1,000 seemed a bit high to me.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not yet had to make a claim so my experience has been neutral. Anytime I have had a question about my rate my rep has responded quickly, which I appreciate.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The Safeco customer service is very good. I have no complaints and my needs are met. I have the information that I need and I am able to get questions answered in a timely and professional manner.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
THE PREMIUM AND DEDUCTIBLE RATE IS MUCH BETTER WITH MY CURRENT COMPANY. I HAD THE SAME COVERAGE QUOTED AND IT THE RATE WAS HIGHER WITH THE LAST COMPANY.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Before purchasing a Safeco policy, I did several quotes from different insurance companies. Most of the companies seemed to have the same offerings.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am not sure what our deductible is. I want to say that it is $1,000, but don't quote me on it. Our monthly premium is less than $50. Comparatively, for our area, this seems reasonable.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have renters insurance, that is all I can really tell you. I didn't do A lot of shopping for this insurance. It is with the same company that is insuring my car.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Regarding customer service,They were courteous and responsive, however they would often not be up-to-speed on the payment process or would seem to forget documents I had sent them previously.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Our premium is set at $1,000. I do not know how to compare to other policies as the deductible is at the desecration of the homeowner so it not an apples to apples comparison.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I currently am unaware of what our deductible is. I want to say that it was somewhere between $500 and $1,000. However, our premium is less than $50 per month, and I'm pleased with that.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I HAVE HAD A GREAT EXPERIENCE WITH SAFECOS CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY ARE ALWAYS AVAILABLE TO TALK AND HELP RESOLVE MY PROBLEM VERY QUICKLY.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium was 800 but with discounts the policy is only 400 a year. This is an amazing price for the coverage of my house which is a new built and worth $350,000+.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Premium seemed reasonable, but I am going to have the time to shop around for insurance at the end of the policy year.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have no experience with this company besides buying the renters insurance from them.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The home insurance policy offerings are completely satisfactory. I do not have any need for other policy offerings beyond the ones I currently have with this company.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Safeco is very good about paying for repair services rather than reimbursing homeowners for repairs. This allows for people to have the best repairs for their house no matter their financial situation.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Safeco's offerings were exactly the same or better than competing insurance agencies, so we went with them even though they didn't have physical locations to go to like State Farm, for instance.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
This is my first time using a home insurance company,the rate seems fair and as I said earlier, I have only had quick responses when I have reached out with questions.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I went with my current policy because they offered discounts for my premium that were not available with other options. I believe I save about 10% compared to other quotes I received.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible were exactly the same or better than competing insurance agencies for the same coverage. We shopped through Primerica and they had the cheapest home insurance by $300/yr.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I would rate Safeco a 4 on their policy offerings. There was nothing that really stood out about the policy, however it was comparable to other home insurance providers on the market.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I love Safeco. I have insurance through them because my family has for years. Safeco proved their dedication to their customers when my hometown was hit by tornado.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I AM COMPLETELY SATISFIED WITH MY CURRENT COMPANY VERSES MY OTHER COMPANY. IN COMPARISON SAFECO OFFERS MORE COVERAGE FOR LESS MONEY.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have not had to contact safeco regarding our home insurance yet, but they have the best rates for our house compared to other insurance companies. Their customer service was friendly.


Date: June 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They will cover the house and my property inside along with payments for loss of use. They also cover other structures like my shed that is located on my property. We also have out wedding ring son our insurance.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Our premium is extremely low for the level of coverage provided. As new homeowners, we appreciate the savings each month.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Our premium and deductible are highly competitive with other insurance agencies.This directly impacts our ability to have lower costs to us.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
We paid for an additional rider to cover sewer repair. Our house is older and had a significant potential to need the entire sewer system rerouted.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I would say I'm pretty satisfied with Safeco's service - they are always quick to respond to any questions I have; their customer service is great.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I don't typically worry about the deductible or premium of my provider's coverage for me.There may be cheaper options, but I'm satisfied with the coverage I have.


Date: June 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
This is a renter's insurance that we hold. I would rate them as a "5" because it is cheap and we have not had any issues. That being said, we have also not had any claims.



Date: June 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
THe premium is pretty cheap and we have a very low deductible. The deductible is the money we pay before the insurance company starts paying out and its good.


Date: June 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Our premium is almost half what other companies wanted to charge us. I think our deductible is probably right on par with other companies.



Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We use an insurance broker that we usually deal with instead of directly with the home insurance company. Our brokers are great. I haven't had any issues with our home insurance company customer service.


Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
SafeCo customer service is very helpful, easy to work with, and knowledgeable. The last time I called, the representative skillfully answered a variety of my questions.


Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
We carry a higher deductible. This is in line with any other insurance company I've had experience with in the past. The premiums are entirely too high for the amount of coverage.


Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
They were not only able to beat the price of my last company but also the five other companies that I called and compared pricing to.




Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
It is a good company. I like safeco and they do a good job with my insurance. We got it a lot cheaper than the competitors and we love it.





Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
My insurance agent is excellent. He is highly personal and meets our need for cost and coverage. He lives in our community and fully understands the specific risks and needs for our home.


Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I have had a genuinely good experience. Low rates and a fairly low deductible is what drew us to them. They are also willing to cover quite a bit of personal items in addition to the dwelling costs.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I ENJOY MY INSURANCE COMPANY VERY MUCH. THEY ARE ALWAYS THERE WHEN I NEED THEM . THEY HAVE THE BEST RATES AROUND AND FRIENDLY SERVICE.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We have great luck with our insurance carrier and the customer service. They are fast and efficient and provide us the information we need quickly.