Safeco Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Safeco Insurance Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Safeco Insurance

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

17 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

37 Reviews

 

4 Star

21 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

10 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

68 Reviews

 

4 Star

35 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

11 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

52 Reviews

 

4 Star

13 Reviews

 
Premium
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

1 Review

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

2 Reviews

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

29 Reviews

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

61 Reviews

 
Safeco Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

84 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

19 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

106 Reviews

 

4 Star

45 Reviews

 

Safeco Insurance Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
Since we have only owned the home for four months, I haven't had much opportunity to interact with the website/mobile app. Seems to be solid architecture.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is easy to use, but very outdated. The website design looks old. It does not have all the new features like other websites do. I like that I can get information, but it needs to be updated.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I rate Safeco home insurance's customer service 5. It was easy to set up and I have had no issues since then. There was a slight mix-up about whether or not I was covered.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I give them a 5 because each time I contacted their reps, I always had a good experience and they resolved my issue quickly.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I have been satisfied with my policy premiums. SafeCo was the least expensive of a variety of insurance companies I researched, for the coverage I desired.




Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
USAA provides extremely competitive premiums for the policies that they provide. Comparing them to other home insurance policies, USAA generally charges less for the same coverage.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I don't know how it relates to other companies. The premium is very cost effective, although the deductible is a little high.



Date: May 29, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I would rate my insurance company as a 4 out of 5. This year our rates went down a bit which is nice- as they have risen every year so far.



Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They are always helpful and always keeping me up to date on new policy updates and annual payments.


Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
We had water damage. We called the customer service person and they contacted the company to come out and dry our house out and replace the damaged material.


Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I would rate them 4 out of 5. When we have called around, no one so far can beat their rates. They are reasonably priced.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
We have shopped around repeatedly looking for cheaper insurance companies, but we always find it cheaper to stick with our current deductible and policy.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I think our premium is comparable to others. It just went up as it renewed for the year but the only way for us to switch to another company we would have to pay for a new home inspection.




Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
It's very competitive, price-wise. I am please with the customer service but I have not yet made any home insurance claims.


Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
Over all they have been good, I have had to call them a couple of times recently to check on my policy and they have been responsive and able to assist with the questions.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
The premium and deductible is standard to most of the competitors low end insurance coverage. I'm still completely satisfied with the offer.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It's lower than most companies, but it can always be lower. I'm sure it will go up because of the Colorado massive hail storms we just had.



Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
My premium and deductible with my other policy was double. My current premium and deductible is lower than what I used to pay.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
We used to have a different carrier that was through our mortgage company when we bought the house. I did some homework and found out that safeco was an option for home insurance.


Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I was qualifying for my mortgage I did not shop much for insurance but I already had USAA and it was an easy option. I do know that I am paying more than others for similar coverage.



Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
We have never had to file a claim with them, so we don't know if that process would be difficult or not. However, the rate is very low. And, to be clear, we have renter's insurance as we rent.


Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I rate the premium and deductible of my policy 5. I think the home insurance policy they offered me is very affordable.Compared to other insurance options they offer, it is worth it.


Date: May 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It's cheaper, but still could probably be a little cheaper. It's not like I have 100,000 dollars worth of stuff in there to cover.


Date: May 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service has been good overall. In the beginning, the salesperson after making the sale would not return my calls which were not nice, but I called their customer service number instead and that person was helpful.


Date: May 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
everything from the inside including belongs. Liability as well. Also, anything on the outside is covered.


Date: May 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
without pulling up the policy to double check, I believe dwellings, belongings, other structures and medical payments are covered by our home policy


Date: April 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are always very nice and willing to help. I get somebody right away when I call as well.


Date: April 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Everything on the inside and outside, including the structures. All of my belongings are covered as well as liability.


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied with the offerings of my company. I have the exact policy that I need for my home.


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Compared to some of our older insurance carriers I'd say that safeco is pretty good about the policy options and offerings they have available.


Date: March 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our insurance policy is a good rate comparatively to other companies and we get a discount by combining our home and auto insurance.


Date: March 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Overall I think safeco's customer service is alright. They are usually pretty responsive to inquiries my wife and I submit and are pleasant to talk to.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our deductible is comparable to deductibles in the industry and the premium is a good price.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer about the same qualities as other insurance companies do, and we have been able to have all the coverage that we need through them.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have been very happy with our customer service. when we made a claim they paid the expenses and ensured that all the work was complete before final payment the process went smoothly.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think that, for the most part, Safeco's prices are pretty reasonable. Like most consumers, I'd like to pay less on my premium and deductible but I think it's a fair price.


Date: March 27, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Years ago I had a d issue with my policy. I call the main office. They were polite and resolved the issue quickly.


Date: March 27, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I pay the best rate for the premium and deductible of my policy. When I compare the policy with what is offered by other companies,I come out on top.


Date: March 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The dwelling and other structures like my garage. Also, all the contents of the house and medical payments.


Date: March 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I called and compared multiple companies with my current provider. Safeco was able to provide me the offerings that I was looking for and needed for a better price then what I was paying already.


Date: March 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
They were able to beat my current company and also about 5 other companies I called around and compared to. This was the reason I ended up switching to them.


Date: March 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
They where able to beat the current price I was paying with my provider. On top of that they beat four or five other companies that I called and received quotes from for the same coverage.


Date: March 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Overall the customer service has been good when I needed help with something. I would not say its been excellent, but overall they were able to help me with what I needed.


Date: March 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I just recently had to call them to ask question about coverage that was part of my plan. The representative was helpful and provided the information.


Date: March 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer everything I was looking for when comparing their coverage to my current company and others that I called around to. They gave me everything I was needing and looking for.


Date: February 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We did not have a great experience with our prior company. They were difficult to reach and did not seem to offer much by way of their policies. We are much more satisfied with the options that we have now.


Date: February 24, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible are a little less than what we previously had. However, their price points seem to remain more constant and over rewards for staying claim free.


Date: February 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I would say that our premium and deductible are basically industry standard. I would like to see a lower deductible but I don't see that as being very realistic. Our premium is better but the deductible seems on par to competition.


Date: February 24, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
SafeCo offers all the traditional home polices from what I understood from the service rep. Though one thing I could not do was really bundle because they were just a broad insurance provider and not a car specific one, thus no car and home bundling for me.


Date: February 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Our insurance company has been very good. When we had damage to our sunroom, it was covered. When the repairs went over the original estimate, they gave us more money to cover the difference.


Date: February 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They combine with automobile insurance and offer good discounts. We were impressed with the savings compared to our previous company who kept going up and up.


Date: February 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I found safeCo through a third party local provider and they did a broad search for me given my home's parameters and ones set forth by the bank and from what I was told SafeCo had the best rates


Date: February 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The insurance I have through SafeCo is the condo/ Home owner's insurance. Mandated by the bank I have not really interacted with them (thankfully) but when I got the insurance they were very helpful.


Date: February 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I'm not all that familiar with what other insurance companies offer. I guess mine is comparable. I know they offer coverage for identity theft, which is really nice.


Date: February 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think our premium and deductible are reasonable. They are less than the other quotes we received, which is why we chose this company.


Date: February 21, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I rate the company's customer service as a 5 because my interactions with the company have been positive. They are responsive when I call, I do not have to wait on hold long, and they make sure they answer all the questions I have.


Date: February 21, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am completely satisfied with their policy offerings.I am not aware of any other company offering different policies or types of insurance that my insurance company does not offer.


Date: February 20, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Well here in California the insurance that's basic covers nothing. You need extra fire, extra flood, extra earthquake. And most of the time you can't get it without insanely high price gouging. Next to nothing is covered and they prefer it that way.


Date: February 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Fire, flood, theft up 50,000 along with optional bonus coverage with a larger monthly premium. Discounts included if you purchase a home monitoring system. Also offers car insurance as well.


Date: February 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
They are fine. I have had no problems what so ever. I talk to the people in my home office who are normally very knowlegable and helpful.


Date: February 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Customer service is local (united states), is kind, attentive and understanding. We have not had problems with them the very few times we've ever had to use them significantly.


Date: February 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
the policy I have is pretty similar to the other policies I looked at in my area for my lifestyle. We don't have a lot of expensive heirlooms, technology items, or furniture, so I don't need that high of a deductible.


Date: February 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
When we called other insurance companies, they were much more expensive and made us wonder why Safeco was so cheap. They have been great though and offered the same things for cheaper.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I love the customer service from Safeco. I am never on hold for more than 5 minutes when I call the national number, and my local office if very friendly.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I do not know the premium and deductible of my policy off the top of my head. My premium is paid through my mortgage lender, and so I do not have the number on the top of my head to make a comparison.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The flexibility offered from Safeco has been outstanding. Other insurers have required receipts, invoices, or other paperwork regarding musical instruments, which if found, would have taken some time to procure. Safeco's service was, by comparison, seamless.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I think they are pretty much the same. The people who work in the office at my home town insurance company are great but not the higher ups. All the insurance agents in the town are probably like this.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
very good service very attentive always are when the nesecito without so much paper the attention to the client is very good in addition to its prices and quality for the service is important to recommend it to a familiar friend


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Communication is prompt, everything is transparent and we enjoy the service. No issues with the service thus far


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
their offers are very good also there are several prices for different pockets and lifestyles for the lowest medium and high social level, be it home health or even the vehicle


Date: February 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I would say that it is about the same. I have never had to use my home insurance for anything yet, and I am not sure what others around me pay for home insurance.


Date: February 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not had to interact directly with Safeco insurance for my home insurance, or make any claims. My agent has always been communicative about when it is time to renew, and I haven't had any problems with the agency or with Safeco.


Date: February 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It's lower than other companies and very affordable. The deductible is the same as other ones. I wish it could be a little cheaper though for sure.


Date: January 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Again, my policy at Safeco was cheaper than Sate Farm while adding a $1M umbrella policy. I am so much happier than before.


Date: January 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My home insurance is a 5. We switched from State Farm to Safeco about 3 years ago and haven't looked back. We haven't had a claim but we were able to reduce our yearly premiums AND add a $1M umbrella policy.


Date: January 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I do not primarily work with the insurance company's customer service. In the past, I have worked with our broker. To me, this is a more pleasant experience because I have a more personal relationship with the broker.


Date: December 29, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Safeco offer the same wide range of deductibles to choose from as other companies.


Date: December 29, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We have used other home insurance companies. The policy offering from Safeco are similar to the other companies but at a better price.


Date: December 29, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've called them before to request documents and other updates to my account. They always answered right away and had awesome customer service. They were always personable to me.


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We recently had a claim due to a leaky pipe. Safeco was fantastic to work with. They were responsive and fair.


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It was a lot cheaper than the other ones. Not only was it cheaper, it was always like 400 dollars cheaper a year compared to the leading companies in the nation.


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Very available, friendly knowledgeable, willing to work with me so I get exactly what I want and need in my policy.


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
When we switched to Safeco Insurance it was mainly due to the differences in premiums. We saved several hundred dollars a year in premiums by switching companies. Similar deductible.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It's a little high, but it's still the cheapest I could find which is nice. The deductible is very comparable to everything else with the 1000 dollar deductible.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I did not see any difference in the offered coverage compared to my former insurer. The rates I pay now are more favorable.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and the deductible are cheaper than other companies, but still on the expensive side. I am satisfied though because it does save me money throughout the year.


Date: December 24, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I feel like I get more out of my policy for cheaper. I know that I've called others and they charged at least 500 dollars more a year for less coverage. I get more bang for my buck.


Date: December 23, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our home insurance policy covers almost everything that we would need in the event of damage to our home. I hope to never have to use the policy.


Date: December 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Whenever I've called in the past, the customer service has always been so friendly and ready to help me with whatever problem I have. They are very personable and always kept me up to date.


Date: December 21, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I can only compete State Farm and Safeco because they are the ones I know best and Safeco is much better than what we had with state farm. I actually thought State farm was incompetent, or at least my agent.


Date: December 17, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
We have not had to use our home insurance policy (thank goodness) and so I am neutral about the interaction with the company.


Date: November 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Lately, last time re-signed for the insurance they seemed like I was a bother. It seemed as though I was putting them out to do this although they never actually said anything to this extent I just felt it. Very quick to get this done and off their desk.