State Auto Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


State Auto Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
State Auto

Reviews by customers

Website/App

3 Star

7 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

2 Reviews

 

4 Star

1 Review

 
Policy Offerings

3 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

8 Reviews

 

4 Star

6 Reviews

 
Communications

3 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

7 Reviews

 

4 Star

1 Review

 
Premium
State Auto Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

3 Reviews

 
State Auto Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

4 Reviews

 
State Auto Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

16 Reviews

 
Customer Service

5 Star

17 Reviews

 

4 Star

6 Reviews

 

State Auto Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is very competitive with other companies - based on the one time we did look around. And the deductible is fair.


Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have been with State Auto for years. Not that we've had many claims over the years, but when we have, the company has been quick to help.I do not have one negative thing to say!


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home insurance offer seems to be better now than when I was with all State Auto Insurance. Don't mind having a lower rate than what I'm currently paying now.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Have been with State Auto Insurance since 2008 and I have received nothing ,but superb response each time I contact their customer service with any problem that I may have.


Date: July 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
The customer service at State Auto is on par with other insurance companies - it is really good. I am always able to get help when I need it.


Date: July 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I think the premium and deductible is slightly better than the larger, more well known companies. State Auto has less employees, less overhead.


Date: July 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
We just moved to a new house and they are a new insurance company for us. So far we have not had to file a claim, so I don't have anything negative or positive to advise about them.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Policy Offerings
I am happy with the offerings of my home insurance company policy. It aligns with the benefits I was recently getting from my previous company, provides some extra benefit in some areas.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
State Auto allows cheap and affordable premiums and also you can choose your deductable. We have a $1000 deductable and super afordable payments.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Auto offers the same benefits for home insurance as most other insurance companies. The offerings they provide meet my needs for home insurance.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is slightly higher than what I have previously paid, but the house I moved to is larger and covers more than my previous policy. The deductible is the standard 1%, which I am happy with.


Date: June 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am mostly satisfied with the premium. It would be great if it was cheaper, but it is paid from my escrow account and I rarely deal with it.


Date: June 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not had to use the customer service for my home insurance, but the service for the auto insurance is pretty decent. They are quick to reply and helpful. I would imagine the same would be true for the home insurance side.



Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium and deductible my insurance company offers are much better than that of other companies I have gotten quotes from or used in the past.



Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium and deductibles are fair for what I am getting, although I found cheaper rates elsewhere, they have good integrity and a good reputation.


Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
My home insurance company customer service has been very helpful when I have needed their assistance. They are friendly, patient, and very helpful.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Premium and deductible is less than other companies which is the main reason I chose to go with them, and also for similar policies.


Date: May 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
Home insurance company has great customer service. They are friendly and willing to answer any questions, and don't make you feel like an inconvenience.


Date: May 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
The main reason why I chose to go with my currently insurance company was reliability I like the way they presented their insurance.


Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
State Auto has the absolute best rates and allows you to always choose when you would like to pay. They are very helpful when help is needed. I highly reccomend State Auto.



Date: March 29, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have had to contact our home insurance company regarding damage done to our roof.They were very attentive, concerned with our issue, and quick to find a resolution for the issue.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
After reviewing several different home insurance quotes from approximately 4 different companies, our home insurance company was quite comparable in price and deductible.


Date: January 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We have a $500 dollar deductible with our policy. I wish it was lower for smaller types of damage, but the policy would cost a bunch more so I have left it at $500.


Date: January 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I haven't had to file a claim on the website, but I use it for my auto insurance and it is not user-friendly. It is hard to find where you need to go to pay your bill and to find coverage information. I would imagine that the home insurance side would be the same.


Date: December 30, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
In terms of home insurance, the rates seem in the ball park and we once incurred damage from hail the size of golf balls. They replaced the roof and then some. So no big complaints.


Date: December 29, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The best I know, the offerings are competitive with other insurers. My insurer, regular sends notices of additional coverages we can purchase or consider.


Date: November 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Insurance covers loss of any part of our home, including what is on the inside. It is also insured against trees falling on it and against flood damage.


Date: November 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Dwellings - exterior damage from natural occurrences ie, roof, siding, windows, interior damage such as fire, water damage.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I dislike the company's website because it is very limited. It only provides general information and an ability to pay your bill. You are not able to log in with a username and password to see your account, coverage, and statements.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Have not had any issues with the company's company service itself, though my agent;s office was a mess. Had several issues with receiving replies or straight answers from the agent. We ended up calling the main customer service line for the company and got all the help we needed and more.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Pretty on par. Our premiums were slightly higher but only because we chose slightly higher coverage. Compared to other companies, they were pretty much the same.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I'd say they are relatively on par, though they do explain some of the ins and outs a little better. The more painful part is that they do not have a summary type document that gives you the low down on what coverage you are getting, instead you get the full, barely intelligible to normal people, policy documents.


Date: November 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am not sure about this because fortunately I have not had to use it much. It did cover damage from water in the basement and it also covered loss of food and repairs to our home when we lost power due to a car accident that occurred very close to our home.


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I have not had to communicate with the home insurance side of State Auto, but the car insurance side has been helpful and quick to communicate. I would hope, the home insurance side would do the same.


Date: October 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Dwelling, other structures, personal property, loss of use, personal liability, medical payments, foundation, water backup, water damage, windstorm or hail


Date: October 02, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I dislike the company's website because it is very limited. It only provides general information and an ability to pay your bill. You are not able to log in with a username and password to see your account, coverage, and statements.


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The only interaction I've had with this is through my insurance agent, who I get along with very well. I trust his knowledge and instincts in offer me the best the business has to offer.


Date: September 29, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
It's kind of tough to figure out how to pay the bill online. I like electronic pay, and their website is not super helpful in this way.


Date: September 27, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
There is nothing I dislike about the interaction and communication of the insurance company. Communication is easy and straight forward with a local agent available. Mailed documents come promptly to my home address.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am mostly satisfied with the premium. It would be great if it was cheaper, but it is paid from my escrow account and I rarely deal with it.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not had to use the customer service for my home insurance, but the service for the auto insurance is pretty decent. They are quick to reply and helpful. I would imagine the same would be true for the home insurance side.


Date: September 13, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The agent with whom I work takes care of all of my insurance needs in a polite and professional manner. I couldn't ask for a better customer service experience than the one I get from my agent.


Date: September 11, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service is good. I can call or go to a local agent if I have any questions or if I have to make adjustments to the plan or to file a claim.


Date: August 31, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website can be hard to navigate and pay your bill. Luckily, this is mostly covered through my escrow account, so I don't have to deal with it directly.


Date: August 30, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium on my plan was the best found by my insurance provider. My insurance provider shopped and compared different policies.


Date: August 30, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
is good solves the problems fast but sometimes does not want to work and I have to call the company but in general, it does its job I feel satisfied medicament


Date: August 30, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I can't say much of anything about the website or the app because I don't spend enough time on either one to have an opinion. I only transact with the insurance company via email.


Date: August 27, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Insurance covers loss of any part of our home, including what is on the inside. It is also insured against trees falling on it and against flood damage.


Date: August 26, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home insurance covers damage to the home, roof, outside structures, and will help to replace items inside in the event of a fire or damage.


Date: August 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I like that communications such as statements and policy documents are mailed prompt and on time. Communication is easy as they have a local office I can contact with any questions or concerns.


Date: August 13, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I hate paying for insurance, period. I haven't compared rates with other insurance companies because this was the only company willing to insure me at the time I got coverage, 5 years ago.


Date: August 08, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Dwellings - exterior damage from natural occurrences ie, roof, siding, windows, interior damage such as fire, water damage.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I gave this a 5 when I have not had to deal with the home insurance side of customer service. Luckily, there have been no issues with the home, so I haven't used it. I have used the auto side, and it has been decent.


Date: August 02, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I was with Allstate for both home and auto coverage. The rates just continued to go up and up, so I had to look for something else. State Auto provided the same coverage at a lower rate.


Date: July 31, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Home policy from State Auto covers the home for damage caused by natural disasters, and accidents. Also causes bodily injury in the home.


Date: July 28, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I like that it is easy to navigate to the areas I need to get to. I like that it is simple and concise without extra, unneeded information. I like that it is easy to follow instructions.


Date: July 27, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I was paying almost $2000 annual premium due to the age of my house. This is the least I've paid for owning my house.


Date: July 26, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Dwelling(Pays for damage to your house and to structures attached to your house. This includes damage to fixtures, such as plumbing, electrical wiring, heating and permanently installed air-conditioning systems.)


Date: July 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My insurance covers lost items, health issues, outside structures, and home repair.


Date: June 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I am fairly satisfied because sometimes it is almost impossible to communicate with the company they take too long to answer the calls and the alerts of the application but once they attend they solve the problem quickly


Date: June 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I feel good with the annual value I think it is a little more economical than others and offers a very good service


Date: June 10, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like the service and the speed of response when there is a problem in my house I do not like that sometimes the operator does not answer and the application does not respond, it happens a few times but it happens


Date: June 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I've never really shopped around for other rates, but I know my independent insurance dealer has and always come back with the same company, so I know they must have the best rates in the business.


Date: May 14, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like the company's customer service because they have a small, local office. I can contact them for any questions I have or any changes I need to make to my plan.


Date: May 14, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I haven't had to file a claim on the website, but I use it for my auto insurance and it is not user-friendly. It is hard to find where you need to go to pay your bill and to find coverage information. I would imagine that the home insurance side would be the same.


Date: May 11, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
There is no ability on the website to log in and manage your account and view your documents. You can only visit the site to make a payment.


Date: May 11, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I like that my rep got back with me immediately and that they communicated in the style that it most convenient for me.


Date: May 05, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
There has been little communication because I haven't had to use it yet. The auto insurances part has been very open in their communications.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I believe the premium is fairly good when compared to other companies. My insurance agent compared various plans when deciding on our current plan.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like that the company is incredibly friendly and easy to speak with. I like that they are knowledgeable and make you feel at ease.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Again, the only communication I've had is with my insurance agent, which is very positive. Other than that, it's sifting through their website, finding how to pay online.