Universal Property & Casualty Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

9 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

6 Reviews

 

4 Star

7 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

3 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

8 Reviews

 

4 Star

21 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

14 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

5 Reviews

 

4 Star

3 Reviews

 
Premium
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

2 Reviews

 
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

4 Reviews

 
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

7 Reviews

 
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

15 Reviews

 
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

12 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

5 Reviews

 

3 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

11 Reviews

 

4 Star

13 Reviews

 

Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium seems to be a little cheaper than other companies even though I find it extremely expensive. I wish they had discounts for years of ownership without any claims.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are usually understanding and helpful.one department doesnt always know what other is doing and its frusterating becaus you need to talk to more than one person


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We had lightning strike our air conditioner last year, and the customer service team was very helpful in getting the unit replaced with minimal fuss and effort.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
We chose our own deductible, and the premium is handled through the mortgage company. Overall I have no complaints.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I wish they offered a home and auto bundle to save money. they seem to be the most resonably priced with the same offerings as other insurance companies that I have .


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I like our insurance, but to be honest, haven't comparison shopped in a while.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Universal Property & Casualty only insures homeowners in the states of Florida and Texas, but they are highly competitive with their policy offerings and pricing.


Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The deductible offered is comparable to other companies, where it allows me to choose what deductible I want and adjusts the price monthly.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
The customer service representatives are very helpful when I need any assistance or have questions about my policy. I have called in several times and always got the help I needed.


Date: May 29, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
The deductibles are very reasonable. Compared to other companies that we got quotes from they were the best compared to the coverages offered.


Date: May 26, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
our insurance is pretty standard. The coverage is enough to rebuild in the event of a claim and our deductibles are low and affordable if something were to happen.



Date: May 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I don't like insurance companies because they take your money and give you nothing in return,


Date: February 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They have covered several fixes in my bathroom. I was remodeling and the guy who was doing it, did it wrong and I had to go to me home insurance company.


Date: February 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
We pretty much never hear from our insurance company outside of our annual renewal documents. It would be nice to feel appreciated as customers throughout the year by receiving mail or even something special like a calendar during the holidays. Mostly we just pay them and never hear a word in response.


Date: February 22, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
They have several departments and they each do not know what the other is doing so thats frusterating. When I have questions they don't know the answer because those files are in a different dept


Date: February 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I completed trusted my local independent insurance sales person. He told me Universal was a reputable company with great customer service that offered the lowest rates at the time.


Date: February 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Their premium is pretty cheap compared to the competition. They cover more for less.


Date: February 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The local agent was very helpful upon signing the original paperwork. I have been lucky in that I have not had to file a claim, and have had no questions or reason to reach out to customer service.


Date: February 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The company's website is very basic. It isn't visually appealing and does not have a modern appearance. If it were to be updated with a more current design and with more information easily accessible ti would be much improved.


Date: February 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our home is protected against wind damage, hurricanes, sinkholes, and other damage. Flooding due to water damage is not covered.


Date: February 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our insurance company offers a fair value for the level of coverage and deductibles chosen. In comparison with other home insurance companies their prices are more affordable.


Date: February 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I like the website it is easy to use. You can file a claim or look at your claims status. You can review all of the paperwork that goes back and forth after a claim has been filed(I had a total loss house fire so there is a lot of back and forth paperwork)


Date: February 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I like when I call them, they arrive in less than 2 hours. In general, I would say that this company is fast for everything.


Date: February 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like that they are so fast when it comes to customer service, but I dislike that they are never simpathetic.


Date: February 09, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I don't like that I have an unresolved extra charge on my policy that noone can seem to explain or get removed. The claims process was tedious and I am unsure if it was my particular adjuster or just the way it works.


Date: February 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Honestly, I like the website, their desing is amazing and it is simple to understand all the content.


Date: February 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Every interaction with our insurance company's customer service department has been a pleasant experience. They answer questions easily and respectfully while proving the requested information.


Date: February 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
this insurance is very satisfied to my family. This insurance used to easier to apply.Used to all type of problems.


Date: January 20, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like their availability, pricing, call back timing and they are friendly. There is nothing I dislike about the customer service so far.


Date: January 19, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy covers dwelling, replacement cost, $1000 deductible, does not cover wind or hurricane, covers roof covering secondary water resistance, roof-to-wall connection, shutters


Date: January 16, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is cheap compared to other companies. I don't have wind coverage but that is a chance I will take. Other insurance companies won't cover because of our location to the water.


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have contacted them approximately a half dozen times. One time I could not understand the customer service representative. She did not speak good English.


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We compared quotes and my premium and deductibles are less than the other quotes I received for the same coverage.


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
It is much, better my insurance, it is much more deductible than the insurance of the potion, and it is more eocnomico


Date: December 31, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I don't think my insurance company offers anything other companies don't. I only use them because they were the default company when we purchased our home and the premiums were reasonable. The only plus I can see is that they are local so I'm not dealing with a big company like Allstate or State Farm.


Date: December 30, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I haven't had too many interactions with my home insurance company but the two times I have called I was told the issue in question was not covered. The representative was pleasant but I was not happy to hear that I would be paying out of pocket for damage done to my home due to high deductibles and loopholes in my policy.


Date: December 29, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have gotten a quote from Allstate and the difference in premium was negligible. I don't want to go through the hassle of changing companies especially when something could go wrong with the house in that time frame just to save a few dollars.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied with their offerings. Their offerings are no better or worse than the other insurance carriers we received quotes from.


Date: December 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
So far it has covered my expectations, they have been very responsible and the best are the discounts that they have, the service has been very good


Date: December 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They are much better for the promotions of packages that they have, besides the attention has been very good in comparison with other insurances that I have heard


Date: December 08, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Basic fire policy. It cover fire. it covers hurricane but at a high dedecutible. It covers people getting hurt.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They seem to offer the same standards as other companies. I have only compared apples to apples when looking for other companies I have never needed anything more than the basic insurance policy


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
UPC's policy offerings are a great value. They also cover houses with pier and beam foundations in hurricane areas, like mine, which is hard to find.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My home insurance company's customer service group has been a pleasure to work with, although in a limited sense as my exposure to them has been brief. The little interaction I have had with them has been entirely pleasant.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
They have a web site that is easy to access and get answers to most of your questions. The customer service reps are very helpful in explaining any issues and helping with problems.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My premiums when up after a fire claim which I find unfair considering the fire wasn't my fault and my deductible is very high in order to keep my premiums low. I dont make small claims so I don't worry too much about it


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium of my UPC policy is quite competitive. It is the primary reason i went with them. Very satisfied.


Date: November 15, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website and app are easy to use, secure has all of my information, documents are downloadable, it is free.


Date: November 12, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Very good and personalized, they treat the client very well and always try to clarify the doubts in a very efficient and friendly way, taking into account that if we have any problem they immediately respond.


Date: October 27, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Not applicable. I have not had to call or communicate with UPCIC yet.


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My policy is a standard HO3 Form policy which covers my dwelling, other structure (such as the pool), personal property, loss of use, and medical coverage so I don't get sued.


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They have several departments and they each do not know what the other is doing so thats frusterating. When I have questions they don't know the answer because those files are in a different dept


Date: October 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
It's well designed and seems to have all the information I would need. Looking at it for this survey is the first time I've visited the site.


Date: October 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
exterior damage as well as accidental damage to the inside and outside of the house. For example, insurance covers damage caused by a storm, fire, and other hazardous incidents INCLUDING WATER DAMAGE, ROOF DAMAGE.


Date: October 02, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It covers Fire, theft, mold, sinkhole, and hurricane. The deductible is kind of high on the hurricane insurance.


Date: September 29, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
As of today, I have not yet needed to use Universal Property & Casualty's website or mobile app to access my policy. I have only had my policy for 3 years.


Date: September 25, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I haven't use customer service very much. They seem okay but very matter of a fact.


Date: September 25, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
It is typical of most insurance companies. It charges high payments and offers little protection. They have my house valued way high almost double the amount. They won't let me pick my coverage cost.


Date: September 23, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
PROTECTION AGAINST COVERED PERILS SUCH AS WIND, HAIL, LIGHTING OR FIRE. LEGAL PROTECTION FOR CLAIMS FOR FROM ACCIDENTS TO OTHERS.


Date: September 23, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Basic fire policy. It cover fire. it covers hurricane but at a high dedecutible. It covers people getting hurt.


Date: September 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
The only communication we have had with Universal Property is the annual statement they send out & the web site I mentioned above. I am satisfied with both interactions.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The interior and exterior of the house--things like our roof, the structure, our belongings. We have to pay extra deductible for hurricane damage. We are not protected against flooding by our insurance.


Date: September 19, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I dont have one. it would be nice to have one so i can review my policy and get quotes for additional coverage or to remove coverage.


Date: September 19, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is clearly constructed so you can see where all subject matter is. There is a location of where to contact the company and an area that answers commonly asked questions. The only change is that the webpage could be more visually appealing and colorful.


Date: September 18, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I dislike having to go through the agent and playing phone tag with this lady. The insurance company email correspondence also lacks quality customer service. They need more available representatives


Date: September 17, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I don't like insurance companies because they take your money and give you nothing in return,


Date: September 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is cheap compared to other companies. I don't have wind coverage but that is a chance I will take. Other insurance companies won't cover because of our location to the water.


Date: September 16, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The company's website is very basic. It isn't visually appealing and does not have a modern appearance. If it were to be updated with a more current design and with more information easily accessible ti would be much improved.


Date: September 15, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Easy to use. You log in, click what you want to do, and it pop ups. You can pay your bill online.


Date: September 14, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
TO be honest, I had no idea if my insurance company had a web presence (they don't have an app) until this survey. So I went & checked them out & signed up for the web access. It seems to be ok, & it has all the information (with more detailed help) that my printed policy has. I have to say I like their web page very much.


Date: September 14, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is basic. It is easy to use but I think can be a little too basic.


Date: September 14, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The most important coverage in my area is flood and hurricane. My hurricane deductible is a little high for what i would like at 7,500 but my other coverage is good. It also covers roof damage during wind storm (separate from hurricane policy) and fire damage.


Date: September 13, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Besides what is listed, theft, liability insurance. It does cover a certain percentage of hurricane damage -- important in Florida but has a 2 percent deductible on that.


Date: September 12, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I dislike their customer service. I haven't had the chance to speak to anyone directly since we set it up, but the fact that they never check in on us or send us any kind of communication is a little disappointing.


Date: September 12, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Their website doesn't explain things in detail. I have a claim, they inspected my home, and did not qualified for any help. They just claim his insurance every year, they are careless.


Date: September 12, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our policy covers the dwelling (home itself), personal property, loss of use, personal liability, & medical payments.


Date: September 12, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Every interaction with our insurance company's customer service department has been a pleasant experience. They answer questions easily and respectfully while proving the requested information.


Date: September 11, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I don't like that I have an unresolved extra charge on my policy that noone can seem to explain or get removed. The claims process was tedious and I am unsure if it was my particular adjuster or just the way it works.


Date: September 10, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They have been quick to respond to requests and questions however i have not had to file a claim which is where customer service matters most. I have yet to see what their customer experience is in that situation.


Date: September 07, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not had the opportunity to engage my insurance company in any way. We have experienced two hurricanes in the last 3 years, but my home suffered no damamge.


Date: September 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
As I said before, they just one my money, and nothing else.


Date: September 04, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am unsure what all is covered under our policy but I know that it covers the dwelling and loss of use.


Date: September 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Covers damage of infrastructure, damage of something fortuitous that can occasional complete damage of the house like an earthquake, flood, etc. It also covers medical damages if something in the house causes human harm.


Date: August 30, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Our premium is super cheap, about half of what we got quoted anywhere else. However, its because they don't hardly cover anything.


Date: August 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Well I really have not looked for much information about other companies, however, I think it's very good I'm paying, I do not think it's exaggerated and I think it's very fair.


Date: August 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like the website, but if I want to make a partial payment -- which I usually do -- I have to call in advance to do that. I would like to just easily pay half the payment, then pay the balance when the bill is due. I also don't like that they don't take debit or credit cards. That is inconvenient.


Date: August 26, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would like it to be lower for my coverage, but seeing as it is the lowest in my area at the moment I am not completely unsatisfied.


Date: August 24, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE ,UNDERWRITERS ARE ALWAYS AVAILABLE, CLAIMS QUICKLY AND PERSONAL ATTENTION.


Date: August 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
They do not seem to offer an app and their website is not too informative. Personally, I hardly get contacted about ANYTHING with regards to our home insurance and it is a little unsettling.


Date: August 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our dog isn't covered, and things like our basement isn't covered if it floods.It is very cheap insurance that we need to replace to actually be covered.


Date: August 22, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like that they are so fast when it comes to customer service, but I dislike that they are never simpathetic.


Date: August 21, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am certainly not an expert on home insurance premiums, but I feel that we do have a good premium. Especially considering we have galvanized plumbing and most companies do not want to cover those.


Date: August 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our home is protected against wind damage, hurricanes, sinkholes, and other damage. Flooding due to water damage is not covered.


Date: August 16, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I have had very little interaction or communication with the insurance company, but when I have they have responded quickly and efficiently and been willing to help in any way possible.


Date: August 08, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
when we were purchasing our policy, Universal was the most reasonable for the coverage we were looking for. They offered several options for a $500 - $800 savings over other companies.


Date: August 07, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
So far, Universal insurance has been the most inexpensive option in my area, which is why i have stuck with them. It is thousands less a year than other insurance companies i have quoted including Geico which currently covers my vehicle and would get a discount for multiple policies.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy covers theft and liability insurance but has a 2 percent deductible for hurricane coverage.


Date: August 05, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I live in Florida & we did do some research. Geico is the largest insurer in this state (both auto & homeowners) but for homeowners, Universal Property consistently has the most competitive rates for the last several years.


Date: August 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is very expensive as well as the deductible for the plan. premium is 5,695.77, MGA FEE IS $27.00