Universal Property & Casualty Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

9 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

6 Reviews

 

4 Star

7 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

3 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

8 Reviews

 

4 Star

21 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

14 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

5 Reviews

 

4 Star

3 Reviews

 
Premium
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

2 Reviews

 
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

4 Reviews

 
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

7 Reviews

 
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

17 Reviews

 
Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

12 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

5 Reviews

 

3 Star

9 Reviews

 

5 Star

11 Reviews

 

4 Star

13 Reviews

 

Universal Property & Casualty Insurance Company Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy covers theft and liability insurance but has a 2 percent deductible for hurricane coverage.


Date: August 05, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I live in Florida & we did do some research. Geico is the largest insurer in this state (both auto & homeowners) but for homeowners, Universal Property consistently has the most competitive rates for the last several years.


Date: August 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is very expensive as well as the deductible for the plan. premium is 5,695.77, MGA FEE IS $27.00


Date: August 05, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
Honestly, I like the website, their desing is amazing and it is simple to understand all the content.


Date: August 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like it. Don't have much to say about it. The people are polite although, now that I think about it, I did send them two emails which I have not heard back from them on it yet.


Date: August 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like their website because it's very simple and easy to use. There is no fancy website, but it definitely is functional and serves a purpose. I don't need a lot of extras.


Date: August 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I haven't checked other insurance companies although I did some initial research and I found that you can't have had a claim within the last 3 years. I just had my first claim in 20 years on my roof due to the last hurricane.


Date: August 03, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like the website it is easy to use. You can file a claim or look at your claims status. You can review all of the paperwork that goes back and forth after a claim has been filed(I had a total loss house fire so there is a lot of back and forth paperwork)


Date: August 02, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our insurance company offers a fair value for the level of coverage and deductibles chosen. In comparison with other home insurance companies their prices are more affordable.


Date: July 31, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is hard to navigate, it takes a while to navigate from tab to tab, for instance, to file a claim as well as look for contact numbers.


Date: July 31, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I like their availability, pricing, call back timing and they are friendly. There is nothing I dislike about the customer service so far.


Date: July 31, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The entire structure is covered. Contents are covered at replacement value. Other structures such as detached garage, fence, shed etc. Shrubs, trees and grass, basically any landscaping. Temporary housing in case you can't live in your home


Date: July 29, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The website and app are easy to use, secure has all of my information, documents are downloadable, it is free.


Date: July 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I'm an insurance agent, so I'm well aware of market prices and I shopped around to make sure I get the best premium I can. I can confidently say that my premium is lower than a lot of people, solely because I have access to all the best carriers through my work.


Date: July 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy covers dwelling, replacement cost, $1000 deductible, does not cover wind or hurricane, covers roof covering secondary water resistance, roof-to-wall connection, shutters


Date: June 15, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium I feel is a little high but since I had a house fire my options are limited, My rates didnt sky rocket so thats nice


Date: June 08, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Every interaction with our home insurance company has been pleasant. They help you with whatever you need professionally, do not try to sell us anything, and solve any problems or answer any questions quickly.


Date: June 08, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Very good and personalized, they treat the client very well and always try to clarify the doubts in a very efficient and friendly way, taking into account that if we have any problem they immediately respond.


Date: June 08, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I don't have much to say on this point. Everything is escrowed with my mortgage so I honestly rarely speak to or get any communication from my carrier. That is perfectly fine with me.


Date: June 08, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I have not had a chance to talk to a customer service representative since we set up our home insurance so I cannot really speak for their agents. I do wish they sent some more communications or whatnot so we are in the loop and that we are not forgotten.


Date: June 05, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They have been very responsive every time I have needed something--which was not often, thankfully. I have no complaints.


Date: May 25, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
We pretty much never hear from our insurance company outside of our annual renewal documents. It would be nice to feel appreciated as customers throughout the year by receiving mail or even something special like a calendar during the holidays. Mostly we just pay them and never hear a word in response.


Date: May 10, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am not happy about the premium. They force you to cover your house for a ridiculous amount instead of what you want to cover it for. My house isonly worth 65,000 but they require me to cover my house for 180,000. I would like to cover my house for the balance of the mortgage and maybe a 20% down payment. That would be only be 90,000. All companies are like this. I have a deductible of 10% on hurricane so it 18,000 and a 1,000 dollar regular deductible.


Date: May 09, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Universal Property and Casualty has been great in their communications with me and my husband regarding any updates or changes to our policy.


Date: May 03, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
PREMIUM ALSO VERY LOW AND SAME COVERAGE OTHER INSURANCE COMPANY OFFER.


Date: March 13, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We are covered for our dwelling as well as our outside structures (we have a pool and shed). We have a certain amount for our personal belongings should we be robbed or they be damaged. we have a 're-home' allowance if we are forced out of our home. We also have hurricane insurance should we be effected by a hurricane.


Date: March 13, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I think it's a good thing because I see it as normal, I have not had any kind of inconvenience with them, which is why I think everything is excellent, considering that I have not listened to other clients as such, complaining about them.


Date: January 29, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Their premium is pretty cheap compared to the competition. They cover more for less.


Date: January 15, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I like when I call them, they arrive in less than 2 hours. In general, I would say that this company is fast for everything.


Date: December 28, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They have covered several fixes in my bathroom. I was remodeling and the guy who was doing it, did it wrong and I had to go to me home insurance company.


Date: December 03, 2017    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
The communication is okay. They send me a bill every 3 months and I pay it. There isn't much to say.


Date: December 03, 2017    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've never had any issues with them. Any billing issues, coverage questions, etc have always been fixed very quickly and competently.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I don't have any experience with others insurance. This is the only one.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I feel like my premium is high, but I'm not sure. When I purchased the insurance about eight years ago, it was the best deal I could get, but it seems like it is high now, compared to others I've talked to. I'm going to seek other quotes when it is time to renew next spring.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We have wind coverage, hurricane coverage, limited sinkhole coverage, along with structural integrity. The home can be replaced if necessary if the damages are enough.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Well, we looked at different companies and they seem to have the lowest rate. HOWEVER, in terms of hurricane damage, the request a separate premium and many companies now do not differentiate between hurricane coverage and regular coverage.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had to contact the agent much time to make changes to our plan. The insurance company requires us to deal with the agent, and follow up with the agent that sells their insurance. She is very slow and hard to reach.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
My communication with the company has been very minimal, but I feel comfortable with that. I haven't needed anything, so I'm OK with the current relationship.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
We rarely hear from our home insurance company. Occasionally I get a generic e-mail and once a year we get a letter in the mail about coverage. It would be nice to feel appreciated by the company.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like its interface though, it's a bit quick ... However, when I have bad luck it is reported they solve very fast.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
As of this date, I have not needed to contact Universal Property and Casualty's customer service for any reason yet.