American Family Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


American Family Insurance Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
American Family Insurance

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

5 Reviews

 

3 Star

33 Reviews

 

2 Star

11 Reviews

 

5 Star

58 Reviews

 

4 Star

38 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

3 Star

18 Reviews

 

2 Star

3 Reviews

 

5 Star

79 Reviews

 

4 Star

38 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

29 Reviews

 

2 Star

6 Reviews

 

5 Star

78 Reviews

 

4 Star

25 Reviews

 
Premium
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

5 Reviews

 
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

13 Reviews

 
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

30 Reviews

 
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

77 Reviews

 
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

68 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

23 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

110 Reviews

 

4 Star

49 Reviews

 

American Family Insurance Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: July 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
My insurance company's customer service is 3 out of 5. I've never had to submit a claim, so I haven't had a lot of experience with them. When I've needed to make changes to my policy they've been very helpful.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Policy Offerings
THIS IS THE BEST COMPANY COMPARING OTHER COMPANIES.I KNOW THIS COMPANY RULES VERY WELL.THIS COMPANY PROVIDES BEST SECURITY FOR MY FAMILY.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I suppose American Family is not the absolute cheapest or the most expensive. I think ALL insurance is a ripoff.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Policy Offerings
American Family Insurance is their policies and pricing. They are very flexible and did not seem to want to just get you to buy insurance. I felt they actually cared about getting me a good deal.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I think the premium is very reasonable on my plan, on the high side. However I paid for a slightly higher premium because I did not want to have an unaffordable deductible that would be out of my price range.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The policy offerings are okay; but honestly they usually first replace the part that's broken on the appliance of whatever is damaged and then they go the route of replacing the object that has broke.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I feel like I got a great deal on my policy. I shopped around a bit when buying home insurance and they were cheaper on average by 10 percent.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have generally been pretty satisfied with my home insurance company. My only complaint is that they tend to have odd business hours and can make contacting them a bit difficult.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
THIS POLICIES IS BEST SECURE FOR MY FAMILY AND OTHER CONSUMERS.THEY OFFER MANY PLICY OFFERINGS AND THE BENEFITS REGARDING THEIR ATTRACTIONS.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
because after many years of never asking for assistance in any way, I called after a stormy season to check on my roof. they threatened to cancel my insurance.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I don't really know how to answer this considering I have never dealt with other home insurance providers. I've dealt with other insurance companies in other capacities.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My home insurance's customer service is pretty bad. The wait time is ridiculous for the customer service associate. I get transferred to different people and sometimes hung up on.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We are an independent agency that represents many different companies in order to match each individual client to the company appropriate to their needs.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied. They have many customer representatives, and they can always answers my questions promptly or get back to me in a very reasonable time.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
THIS COMPANY PROVIDES BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR ALL TIMES.AND BEST CUSTOMER CARINGAND THIS IS THE BEST EXPERIENCED COMPANY COMPARING ANY OTHER COMPANIES..


Date: June 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
My insurance company makes sure to follow through with requests and they contact me right away if something needs to be addressed. They always communicate with me when needed.




Date: June 14, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I AM COMPLETELY HAPPY WITH THE CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT I EXPERIENCE WITH THE AGENT THAT HANDLES MY INSURANCE.





Date: June 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I believe that our premium and deductible are very competitive with other insurance companies for homes our size. We are satisfied with the premium at this time.





Date: June 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
Local agent has evaluated my plan, and made recommendations to lower cost


Date: June 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium is competitive with other agencies and the agency has different choices for deductibles ranging from low to higher amounts.


Date: June 09, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
Overall, I have had good experience with my home insurance, the local agent has reviewed my insurance needs and advised me to make changes and why it would be good for my needs



Date: June 09, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
it has customised protection at affordable prices to ensure that they protect your home and the best customer service available.


Date: June 09, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premiums are very comparable to other premiums.When I reviewed quotes from other companies there was no incentive to change. Often times the actual quotes from other insurance companies were higher.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
SOMETIMES I THINK THAT THE COVERAGE MAY BE A BIT HIGH, BUT I'M SATISFIED THAT MY AGENT IS DOIND HIS BEST TO KEEP MY PREMIUMS AT A MINIMUM FOR THE COVERAGE THAT I HAVE.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
My experience is a 4. There is not problem but the cost is high. I am overall satisfied with customer service aside from trying to find me a better deal.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Our deductibles are comparable to other policies. We were careful to shop around in order to get the best offers. I find that our options increase the longer we stay with them


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I love the insurance company i have. The amount of time csr take to make sure i have everything i need is amazing.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
Our home owner's insurance experience has been pretty seamless. Our insurance agent is present if we should ever need anything, but it's pretty much hassle-free on our part.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I did not compare other policies. But it seemed like it was a comparable deal to other things I have seen advertised or things I have heard from my friends


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I haven't researched any other companies as I'm satisfied with my current company. Never have wronged me so no point in changing.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I have never looked into other companeys but i am vary happy with my premiums and deductables on my policy


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I feel that the insurance company has done a great job of providing us the best possible service. There have been a few hiccups like being told one thing and finding out something different.


Date: June 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
They had absolutely the best deal on the premium versus what kind of coverage we could get. Although it has been creeping up a little.


Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The prices can't be beat for what we receive. We looked all around before going with American Family and I am so glad we did.




Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is of higher end and I am planning to look for other options as I am not quite satisfied with it.



Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I was able to receive the best and most affordable premium and lowest deductible. That is one of the main reasons I chose this company.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I have not had any reasons to dislike or be unhappy with my home insurance agency. They are reasonably priced and easy to reach.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium seems a little high considering the high nature of the deductible on the policy. The rate just keeps going up year after year despite the fact that there have been no claims on the policy


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
THEY ARE VERY COMPETITIVE AS FAR AS PREMIUM AND DEDUCTABLE COMPARE TO OTHER HOME INS POLICIES.



Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I had no deductibles or premiums. Before I had to come out of pocket upwards of 2500 dollars just to an assessor come out. Very frustrating.


Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
You choose your deductible amount along with your coverage limits, and are expected to pay up to the deductible amount before your insurance company steps in to help. .



Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We have had nothing but good experiences so far. The service has been fast, friendly and just as we would expect from the insurance company.The customer service is a 5.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium for my insurance company is a little more expensive than other companies, but that is something I am willing to do in order to receive better service.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
This company took care of me when my house got flooded due to a busted sprinkler system.As soon as I called they scheduled a contractor to come out and assess the damage.


Date: May 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
American Family's customer service has been very top notch. While our experiences related to our home insurance and claims has been very minimal, they've been overall positive where applicable.



Date: May 26, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
The agent at this company is capable, efficient and cares about me as a customer. The agent answers questions clearly and promptly, is honest and takes time to make sure I understand the policy language.




Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
American Family Insurance has been a great choice for me. I have always had very good personable customer service experiences and they have always been extremely responsive.


Date: April 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium we are paying is comparable with other insurance companies. We are getting discounts for having multiple products with American Family so, in the end, we are paying less.


Date: April 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
It is ok but it can always be better. They say all the right things when you are on the phone but tend to be less helpful than just dealing with the insurance agent in the office as they seem to be able to get things done.


Date: April 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Sometimes the site can be hard to use and pretty much encourages the user to just call the customer service line in the end. Kind of defeats the purpose.


Date: April 25, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Jewelery, personal items such as furniture, clothes, and food. Medical expense and personal liability


Date: April 21, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
home insurance company policy offerings low interest compared to other insurance providers


Date: April 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I extremely satisfied with the customer service for the home insurance. Its more helpful for my future.


Date: April 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I completely satisfied the insurance because I need the best help in the future at any time. So I can take it that.


Date: April 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I haven't had to contact American Family Insurance other than to set up my account, so I don't really have a comment on this. I just pay them when they ask for money.


Date: April 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the premiums on the policy is in accordance with its coverage and adapts to each client


Date: April 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
this insurance company gives very good policies since they adapt according to each social class


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I don't own a home, I rent an apartment and have renters insurance. I've never had any other insurance provider so I don't have anything to compare my experience to.


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
i don's know about other products premium amount , my friend he is working as agent in American insurance company so he suggested this one.but i'm very satisfied with this premium.


Date: March 29, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I'm not really sure what this means. I don't think this applies to me. I think I pay about $300 every six months for some type of insurance, maybe it's auto insurance.


Date: March 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I completely satisfied with the premium. So i take the best more valuabe insurance.


Date: March 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
This the best insurance for my family, i suggester everyone should use american family insurance. such a easy and comfortable insurance,they served very satisfied manner.


Date: March 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
compared to other companies, the premium and the deductible become convenient amounts to pay at the time of doing so since this company keeps you up to date with the services you need and notifying you when you must cancel your payments


Date: March 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I think it's a great experience with the insurer because it provides all the services I need when it comes to insuring my house


Date: February 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experiences thus far with American Family Insurance has been very satisfying. They handle all of our insurance needs. Any time we need anything they are just a phone call away and they handle our request in a timely and professional manner.


Date: February 13, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Comparing to State Farm, American Home's premiums are much lower than State Farm. When I switched to American Home, I received a $700 decrease in premuim for both my auto and home insurance.


Date: February 13, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I was previously insured with State Farm, where my policy renewed every 6 months with a large increase. American Family has written a 12 month policy in addition to providing higher limits, additional coverages for a lower premium.


Date: February 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I had to call their customer service to schedule an adjuster to check my roof. I felt they were very helpful to provide me with what I needed.


Date: February 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have a neutral opinion about their options. We previously were covered with another provider and felt like the coverage was basically the same.


Date: February 09, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I interact with an American Family local agent. Each individual in the agency is very friendly and extremely knowledgeable in all lines of coverage.


Date: February 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium is fair and discounted since we have car insurance with them. My deductible is a bit high and frustrating with new roof laws in Indiana.


Date: February 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have had American Family insurance since I was little, we opted for their home insurance policy as well as it was the best for our needs. Their overall customer service is a 4. We have been satisfied with their service.


Date: February 01, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am very satisfied with my home insurance company. The customer service has been very helpful to me. I had an issue with setting up my automatic withdrawals for payment. The woman that took my call was very helpful and we resolved the problem in a timely manner.


Date: February 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I feel our premium and deductible are reasonable. We have price checked the premium which when you include multi coverage discounts is cheaper than competitors. Our deductible is fair when our roof was damage it only cost 1000 out of pocket which is very affordable and great to good a new roof for only 1000 dollars.


Date: January 31, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have a lower than average deductible since it is cost effective compared to other companies.


Date: January 31, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I was able to obtain a $500 deductible at a reasonable cost. Lots of other companies had a $1000 deductible for the price I paid for the lower deductible.


Date: January 31, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I like this policy offering because it is simple as far as what it will cover. The last policy had a list of things it did and did not cover that was quite confusing, and this one groups it in a way that makes a lot more sense to me. I am not an insurance expert, so this made it easier to understand.


Date: January 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer new policies such as damages and they will provide more amount for damages.


Date: January 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
my insurance company are very responsible at any time they need them they can help me and also offer me more comfort


Date: January 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It is a very complete policy covers me many things like if it happens some flood, fire or anything else, the insurance company solves me and pays me every day


Date: January 30, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am completely satisfied with American Family's policy offerings. They are an affordable cost and cover everything. I had many choices I could make.


Date: January 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
American Family Insurance home policy tends to be a little bit better then other insurance companies that I have looked into. That is why we went with them. Overall rating is a 4.


Date: January 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My insurance company has always given me the personal attention that was needed. My agent even called me when he was on vacation with his family.