American Family Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


American Family Insurance Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
American Family Insurance

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

5 Reviews

 

3 Star

33 Reviews

 

2 Star

11 Reviews

 

5 Star

58 Reviews

 

4 Star

38 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

3 Star

22 Reviews

 

2 Star

3 Reviews

 

5 Star

81 Reviews

 

4 Star

42 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

29 Reviews

 

2 Star

6 Reviews

 

5 Star

78 Reviews

 

4 Star

25 Reviews

 
Premium
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

5 Reviews

 
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

13 Reviews

 
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

40 Reviews

 
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

87 Reviews

 
American Family Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

77 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

27 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

120 Reviews

 

4 Star

63 Reviews

 

American Family Insurance Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: October 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Mine has been fine so far, it covers mostly everything and I havn't had to use it for now and they do not consitently spam me about my policy as other companies do.



Date: October 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
If I had to rate the customer service I get from American Family it would be a positive on based on many factors. I have had policy changes and ev6went without flaw. Overall customer service has been a great.


Date: October 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Good deductibles I like large deductibles so I can keep my yearly outgo relatively low and I have the deductibles in month;y CD's so I earn a little interest. One company would not allow anything over 250 deductible that is just wrong


Date: October 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have had a good experience with American Family Insurance. I haven't had any issues. It was easy to set up and pay for a plan with them.


Date: October 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My policy premium is okay. I would like it if it was lower. The deductible seems reasonable and where I would like it to be.


Date: October 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
They offer rates that are very affordable, i pay the premiums over a period of time which makes it easier and cheap for me.


Date: October 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible was the lowest that we had ever had. It was a good thing, since we had to make a claim. I was satisfied with the deductible and I hope I don't have to pay it again to be honest.



Date: October 11, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
the premiums offered are very affordable and are spread for a given period. this makes it flexible for me to pay given my financial state


Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My deductible is reasonable and the premium is as well. I paid up front for the year and received a discount. I haven't looked at many other companies, but I think American Family has good plans and coverage



Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductibles are pretty standard for home insurance across the board. I haven't considered changing because of the prices.





Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am fairly satisfied with my home insurance company. I have no real complaints about the customer service. I would rate it a 4.


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Most ot the things I get covered back but I am not really sure about these things my husband is more familair


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Based off of my previous experience with my home insurance company's customer service, I would rate them a 4. They were attentive and knowledgeable. I just felt like the call took longer than necessary. .


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've had a very positive experience with my insurance company as they have always been there and they usually provide me with the best rates


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We used the customer service to replace our roof and a broken window from a hail storm. The customer service was actually good and we had no issues with the process. I would say that we are a 4 out of 5 on customer service scale.


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have had a great experience with my insurance company as they are very friendly and take time in letting me know their product



Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible on my American Family insurance plan is not that high. I believe its 500 and that is reasonable.



Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
So far no problem.Application was easy went through a broker so it was easy. Payment is easy discount if paid up front for the year. So far extremely satisfied so 5 on the scale of customer service


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Local agent has evaluated my plan, and made recommendations to lower cost


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
their policy and other feed back are so nice and also their home isurance policy is very nice and they explaining very well


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I feel like the premium is a little high for what we get but it was the cheapest we could find.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I have only used American Family Insurance, I have no experience with other home insurance. I would say they are about average though. So I rate them 3 out of 5 on the rating scale.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
compare to other they were equal some point some point high and also some point high. in this there is no good and also bad


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
their services are so nice and also they response quickly any problems or any doubt


Date: September 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
All I needed was the bare minimum as a supplemental policy for the insurance purchased by my HOA. This ticked the boxes because it was the least expensive


Date: September 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
their customer care service is the best ,their prices are affordable and their website is very user friendly.i signed up and changed from insurance company and it is better compared to my last one.


Date: September 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
they have insurance professionals since 1985 with experience protecting customers’ dreams. this agency offers auto, home, life, business, farm/ranch and other kinds of insurance tailored to fit your unique needs.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I beleive that my coverage is very good and has a low deductible. American Family covered us when we had extensive hail damage. We were generally please with the service



Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have used American Family Insurance for about 6 years now, and never had a problem with it. While I really have no way of knowing how well they will handle the situations I may or may not have.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I've had the same company and coverage for 34 years. I haven't compared other companies as I have been please with my coverage


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would rate my insurance company as a 4.They are wonderful, quick and receptive when dealing with our car and home insurance.The customer service is generally quick and pleasant.We have settled claims easily.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've never actually had to call the customer service for American Family Insurance so I cannot reliably saw how good or bad they are. I'm assuming they are ok


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Their premium plan have ranges of prices which are affordable and not a burden to your liabilities.the deductible i have is of 1000 dollars per year which i consider the cheapest and afforadable company out here.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductible is a little bit better than other insurance companies.I also would like to note that the reputation for American Family Insurance is much better than others in my area when it comes to deductibles.


Date: July 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
My insurance company's customer service is 3 out of 5. I've never had to submit a claim, so I haven't had a lot of experience with them. When I've needed to make changes to my policy they've been very helpful.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Policy Offerings
THIS IS THE BEST COMPANY COMPARING OTHER COMPANIES.I KNOW THIS COMPANY RULES VERY WELL.THIS COMPANY PROVIDES BEST SECURITY FOR MY FAMILY.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I suppose American Family is not the absolute cheapest or the most expensive. I think ALL insurance is a ripoff.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Policy Offerings
American Family Insurance is their policies and pricing. They are very flexible and did not seem to want to just get you to buy insurance. I felt they actually cared about getting me a good deal.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I think the premium is very reasonable on my plan, on the high side. However I paid for a slightly higher premium because I did not want to have an unaffordable deductible that would be out of my price range.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The policy offerings are okay; but honestly they usually first replace the part that's broken on the appliance of whatever is damaged and then they go the route of replacing the object that has broke.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
because after many years of never asking for assistance in any way, I called after a stormy season to check on my roof. they threatened to cancel my insurance.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I feel like I got a great deal on my policy. I shopped around a bit when buying home insurance and they were cheaper on average by 10 percent.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have generally been pretty satisfied with my home insurance company. My only complaint is that they tend to have odd business hours and can make contacting them a bit difficult.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
THIS POLICIES IS BEST SECURE FOR MY FAMILY AND OTHER CONSUMERS.THEY OFFER MANY PLICY OFFERINGS AND THE BENEFITS REGARDING THEIR ATTRACTIONS.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I don't really know how to answer this considering I have never dealt with other home insurance providers. I've dealt with other insurance companies in other capacities.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My home insurance's customer service is pretty bad. The wait time is ridiculous for the customer service associate. I get transferred to different people and sometimes hung up on.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We are an independent agency that represents many different companies in order to match each individual client to the company appropriate to their needs.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied. They have many customer representatives, and they can always answers my questions promptly or get back to me in a very reasonable time.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
THIS COMPANY PROVIDES BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR ALL TIMES.AND BEST CUSTOMER CARINGAND THIS IS THE BEST EXPERIENCED COMPANY COMPARING ANY OTHER COMPANIES..


Date: June 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
My insurance company makes sure to follow through with requests and they contact me right away if something needs to be addressed. They always communicate with me when needed.




Date: June 14, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I AM COMPLETELY HAPPY WITH THE CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT I EXPERIENCE WITH THE AGENT THAT HANDLES MY INSURANCE.





Date: June 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I believe that our premium and deductible are very competitive with other insurance companies for homes our size. We are satisfied with the premium at this time.





Date: June 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium is competitive with other agencies and the agency has different choices for deductibles ranging from low to higher amounts.


Date: June 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
Local agent has evaluated my plan, and made recommendations to lower cost


Date: June 09, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
Overall, I have had good experience with my home insurance, the local agent has reviewed my insurance needs and advised me to make changes and why it would be good for my needs



Date: June 09, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
it has customised protection at affordable prices to ensure that they protect your home and the best customer service available.


Date: June 09, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premiums are very comparable to other premiums.When I reviewed quotes from other companies there was no incentive to change. Often times the actual quotes from other insurance companies were higher.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
SOMETIMES I THINK THAT THE COVERAGE MAY BE A BIT HIGH, BUT I'M SATISFIED THAT MY AGENT IS DOIND HIS BEST TO KEEP MY PREMIUMS AT A MINIMUM FOR THE COVERAGE THAT I HAVE.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
My experience is a 4. There is not problem but the cost is high. I am overall satisfied with customer service aside from trying to find me a better deal.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Our deductibles are comparable to other policies. We were careful to shop around in order to get the best offers. I find that our options increase the longer we stay with them


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
Our home owner's insurance experience has been pretty seamless. Our insurance agent is present if we should ever need anything, but it's pretty much hassle-free on our part.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I did not compare other policies. But it seemed like it was a comparable deal to other things I have seen advertised or things I have heard from my friends


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I haven't researched any other companies as I'm satisfied with my current company. Never have wronged me so no point in changing.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I have never looked into other companeys but i am vary happy with my premiums and deductables on my policy


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I love the insurance company i have. The amount of time csr take to make sure i have everything i need is amazing.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I feel that the insurance company has done a great job of providing us the best possible service. There have been a few hiccups like being told one thing and finding out something different.


Date: June 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
They had absolutely the best deal on the premium versus what kind of coverage we could get. Although it has been creeping up a little.


Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The prices can't be beat for what we receive. We looked all around before going with American Family and I am so glad we did.




Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is of higher end and I am planning to look for other options as I am not quite satisfied with it.



Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I was able to receive the best and most affordable premium and lowest deductible. That is one of the main reasons I chose this company.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I have not had any reasons to dislike or be unhappy with my home insurance agency. They are reasonably priced and easy to reach.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium seems a little high considering the high nature of the deductible on the policy. The rate just keeps going up year after year despite the fact that there have been no claims on the policy


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
THEY ARE VERY COMPETITIVE AS FAR AS PREMIUM AND DEDUCTABLE COMPARE TO OTHER HOME INS POLICIES.



Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I had no deductibles or premiums. Before I had to come out of pocket upwards of 2500 dollars just to an assessor come out. Very frustrating.


Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
You choose your deductible amount along with your coverage limits, and are expected to pay up to the deductible amount before your insurance company steps in to help. .



Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We have had nothing but good experiences so far. The service has been fast, friendly and just as we would expect from the insurance company.The customer service is a 5.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium for my insurance company is a little more expensive than other companies, but that is something I am willing to do in order to receive better service.