American Home Shield Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


American Home Shield Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
American Home Shield

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

2 Reviews

 

4 Star

2 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

7 Reviews

 

4 Star

5 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

2 Reviews

 
Premium
American Home Shield Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

3 Reviews

 
American Home Shield Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

5 Reviews

 
American Home Shield Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

1 Review

 
American Home Shield Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

6 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

8 Reviews

 

4 Star

4 Reviews

 

American Home Shield Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I have never made any comparisons; therefor a rating of 3 -- right down the middle. (very difficult to reach 20 words rating a company that I have never had to make a claim to.


Date: June 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have had this insurance for nineteen years and have never had a problem; I also have never had to make a claim



Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
American Home Insurance has carried my home coverage for 19 years. In that time I have not ever had to make a claim.there is no reason to make comparisons with other insurance companies.


Date: March 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
For the same coverage about the premium and deductible of your policy compared to the other home insurance policies is very good to me and benefit to me


Date: March 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The exclusions limit the overall effectiveness of coverage the policy provides and detracts from claims made policy to claims reporting policy.


Date: March 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home insurance company policy offerings compared to other insurance providers. I am very much satisfied with my home insurance company police.


Date: February 28, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The coverage terms and conditions have limited defined coverage enhancements yet the policy is mired in exclusions and limitations with provisioning insuring clauses.


Date: February 26, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I had a great experience in with home insurance company customer service. They are really made good conversation between people i had never seen.


Date: January 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are friendly and reasonable, I've always been able to get my questions addressed, even if it's not the answer I'm looking for.


Date: January 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
It's fairly convenient and easy for me to see my policy at a glance. I don't want to spend too much time dealing with this stuff, so I like to get the info quickly.


Date: January 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My policy covers a number of things, including damage due to storm, wind, lightning, vehicle, and liability insurance for others getting injured on my property.


Date: January 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium pay of the insurance falls between 300-500 dollars. This is very affordable to anyone who could be interested in the insurance. They deduct directly from the account so it becomes very flexible to operate.


Date: January 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Rebrand main operating companies (countries) under one unified business while responding to tough economic climate and higher expectations from customers.


Date: January 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Your home is your largest investment. Get a quote online or speak to an agent today to insure it with coverage that meets your needs.


Date: January 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Customer service has been ok, in my opinion. I would give the service a 3 or 4. They do not really spend time with you in most of the issues. I also sometimes do not get a response from the repair company. Sometimes I have to call and schedule as the repair company fails to call me back.


Date: January 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
American Home insurance is the most satisfying home insurance. They are very reliable and they care about the welfare of their clients. They come home to home to check how the house is and what damages have occurred and not reported.


Date: January 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium for our home owner's insurance policy is very low compared to that of other home insurance companies for the same coverage. For what it covers, I thought it was a good deal at first. The deductible is manageable as well. Their prices are probably low because they control their costs actively by patrolling the homes they cover.


Date: January 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We strive to constantly offer our customers fast and effective solutions with our network of qualified service contractors. We know you are looking for value for your money, and we believe we provide great value and protection against the high costs of home and appliance repair.


Date: January 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer online services where you can make consultations whenever you may need. Their customer service is perfect compared to other companies. They come so fast when you call them. Their prices are very realistic and affordable.


Date: January 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
It took us hours on the phone just to get to the right department. And days for them to return a call for our concern.


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
About 1 in 10 insured homes has a claim each year. Homeowners insurance covers more than just fire. Most policies also include coverage for wind, hail, water damage, theft, and personal liability.


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
In efforts to create an engaging, tech-focused omni-channel experience, priorities and resources were assigned based assumptions of customer needs, as opposed to actual need.


Date: January 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I believe that my home insurance company's offerings are limited compared to other insurance providers. I believe that because they are a smaller company, they are extremely selective with the properties and homes they cover.


Date: December 30, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Compare up to ten quotes from home insurance providers in your area, discuss the best coverage options for you and gain access to the biggest discounts possible. Work with a local agent or get a quote online. We’ll help you find the right coverage for your property and unique needs. We're experts at helping customers trim their home insurance premiums to better fit a budget.


Date: December 30, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I do not really think there is much difference in offerings. However, I have not researched it as of late. I do not think the difference would be major. It seems like for every plus there is a negative.


Date: December 25, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible is also an issue with most policies I have seen. You have to pay a 60 charge for each visit and then if they have to replace something there is a fairly high deductible which makes it so we don't even call usually.


Date: December 05, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
CUSTOMER SERVICE HAS BEEN A GREAT PLUS. I HAVE NEVER FILED A CLAIM IN THE LAST 12 YEARS. BUT I DO TALK TO OCCASIONALLY. SO FAR THEY HAVE PROVE TO BE OPEN TO MY GETTING INFO


Date: December 01, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
AS OF TO DATE MY COVERAGE HAS REMAINED THE SAME. MY PREMIUM IS VERY AFFORDABLE. I LUCKY IN WITH GOOD COVERAGE WHICH I AM PROUD


Date: November 29, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
An integral part of evaluating HomeOwner Insurance Claims are coverage interpretations, limitations and exclusions. To review these factors, please go to our HomeOwner Insurance Coverage page. The subjects discussed in this text are as outlined above.


Date: November 29, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Believe it or not, the majority of rights belong to the insurance company, while the majority of obligations belong to the consumer. When you experience a loss covered by your HomeOwner's Insurance, your primary obligation is to notify your insurance company of the loss, prove your loss and make your damaged property available for inspection by the insurance company.


Date: November 29, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
An insurance-specific, multi-channel solution that empowers carriers to understand and measure member behavior at every touch-point.


Date: November 28, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Depending on the professional ability of the adjuster, the motivation of the adjuster and/or the motivation of the insurance company, your legitimate $100,000.00 loss could be valued at either $100,000.00, $50,000.00, or any variations in between. I think it is important to say at this point that I have been an adjuster for more than thirty (30) years and have worked with 100's of other adjusters on many 1,000's of losses.


Date: November 28, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Behavioral and Clinical Personas to understand consumers and drive personalized recommendations


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Robust Member Value calculation incorporating risk adjustment, member behavior and claims history in real time


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I could definitely switch, as my current company has slowly increased premiums over the past few years.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
THEY HAVE A POLICY THAT IS TRUE TO THEIR CALLING. THEY HAVE MANY CLIENTS THROUGHOUT USA. I AM AWARE OF ALL THE DAMAGES BEEN CLAIMED IN THE USA. I NEED TO BE AWARE OF THEIR SITUATIONS. SO FAR SATISFIED


Date: November 14, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are friendly and reasonable, I've always been able to get my questions addressed, even if it's not the answer I'm looking for.


Date: November 11, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I am extremely satisfied with the website that American Home Shield offers. Everything is simple, effective and easy to find. This makes life as a consumer much better!


Date: October 18, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Communication is great. I receive a email, by choice, every three months when my bill is due. Also, if anything changes then i am notified.


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am covered by fire, and weather events that cause structural damage. I am also covered by issues that arise inside the home. Should something fail due to old age I can pay a $75 fee and someone is dispatched to fix it. This also includes appliances, plumbing, electrical, etc.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
There is no app and the website is archaic and does not offer convenience, ease of use, or any commonly offered services.


Date: September 17, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Pretty good overall. They communicate well and offer me the flexible assistance that I need to get the relevant info for my policy.


Date: September 15, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Other insurance companies would have charged me much more but it is still a significant amount of money to pay. The insurance company I use is exclusively for veterans so I feel special being able to use this service.


Date: September 11, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home is covered in the way most homes are under traditional policies but does not include flood damage and we live in a flood zone.


Date: September 02, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My policy covers a number of things, including damage due to storm, wind, lightning, vehicle, and liability insurance for others getting injured on my property.


Date: August 20, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I have had very bad customer service recently. The agent is difficult to get ahold of and his secretary is rude because they are always having problems with the main office.


Date: August 10, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Every time I have had an issue everyone was courteous, non-combative, and someone was promptly sent to correct the issue. Very pleasant customer service experiences so far.


Date: August 07, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
They are friendly and reasonable, I've always been able to get my questions addressed, even if it's not the answer I'm looking for.


Date: August 03, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
Any time I have spoken with someone on the phone they were very warm and friendly. The people that have been sent to work on my home, while not professionally trained in customer service specifically, were always friendly and got straight to work. Awesome company!


Date: August 02, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is slightly higher than many companies and also requires membership in the Farm Bureau Association which increases the cost.


Date: August 01, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
It is easily accessible and has the information I am looking for whenever I have an issue or am curious about something related to my policy. Easy to navigate and intuitive in design.


Date: July 31, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
It's fairly convenient and easy for me to see my policy at a glance. I don't want to spend too much time dealing with this stuff, so I like to get the info quickly.


Date: November 19, 2017    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I could definitely switch, as my current company has slowly increased premiums over the past few years.


Date: November 18, 2017    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I think I could get a better deal if I got quotes from other companies and shopped around a bit.