Erie Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Erie Insurance Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Erie Insurance

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

11 Reviews

 

3 Star

18 Reviews

 

2 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

68 Reviews

 

4 Star

20 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

17 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

91 Reviews

 

4 Star

35 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

8 Reviews

 

3 Star

16 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

81 Reviews

 

4 Star

19 Reviews

 
Premium
Erie Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

10 Reviews

 
Erie Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

38 Reviews

 
Erie Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

50 Reviews

 
Erie Insurance Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

107 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

8 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

139 Reviews

 

4 Star

45 Reviews

 

Erie Insurance Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: August 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have tried 5 other insurance companies and no one came within $75 of my quote per month. Definitely the cheapest coverage you can find that stillactually gives you coverage!


Date: August 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Erie is a very good insurance company because their policies are very ductile, they tend to consider your income as well and that is one of the reasons I love them



Date: August 16, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Any time I have any questions concerning my policy or need to make changes, the agents are always helpful and knowledgable. I can always reach an agent when needed and have never had a negative experience.



Date: August 16, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not had to deal with my insurance company's customer service very often, perhaps once in the past 10 years. At that time they were extremely helpful in answering questions and providing advice.


Date: August 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have always had excellent dealings with erie. I have been extremely satisfied with them for 15 years. I have never gotten the run around or been nit picked while filing a claim.


Date: August 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium and deductible were very competitive compared to other home insurance providers. We shopped around quite a bit beforehand and found the best rates were with Erie.




Date: August 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Erie is the only insurance company I ever used because I am happy with how they do treat their customers and I adhere and concur to all their policies because it is favorable to me


Date: August 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium is deducted from my mortgage and I feel it is very reasonable.My deductible is low because I set my account that way so that we would not have a large out of pocket deductible.


Date: August 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My premium and deductible are both comparable to other companies but much lower. the personal attention I get with my agent make it worth so much more


Date: August 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
our premium is currently lower than what we had been paying. When we were looking to switch companies, I evaluated 5+ companies. Of all of them, Erie provided us the lowest and best rate.


Date: August 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
We have a very low deductible. Everything about our insurance plan is affordable, but I have not really delved in too deep with it since my fiances mom takes care of it and thankfully we have never had to make a claim.



Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
It seems fair. I don't feel like I pay too much for what is provided to me.



Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Their customer service is awesome and they work with you to find the plans and EXPLAIN THEM! So far only complaint was an issue someone else had with their coverage but not me.


Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have always had excellent service with Erie, but that might be due to the fact that my agent is my fiances mom! But in all honesty, Erie always has exceptional rates for what you recieve and exceptional service.


Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have never had a problem with them. They have answered all my questions.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our home insurance policy premium and deductible is a little high in my opinion.We are planning on purchasing a new home soon, and i feel that I will be shopping around to compare prices again.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I enjoy Erie insurance company, they have been my first and only insurance company. I love their policy and how they treat their clients.


Date: August 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
They provide a range of deductibles, with the lowest being $500. I chose something higher than that since I can afford to cover smaller incidences out of savings.


Date: August 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They have been easy to work with through the whole process and have even provided help a few months after opening our policy with perfecting our coverage and rates.




Date: August 09, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Erie gave me the best rates on my home and was very nice to as a customer.I respect when telling how i can pay several different.ways


Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I personally, have never had a bad experience with Erie insurance's customer service. I do not contact them frequently, because I haven't had any issues to address with them.




Date: July 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience with Erie has been very satisfactory overall. The agents I have spoken to have always been friendly, helpful, and have provided the help or information I have requested.


Date: July 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
It has some of the best rates and comparable services. Anytime that I have needed questions answers or concerns of potential issues, they were there to answer immediately.


Date: July 27, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience with Erie has been very satisfactory overall. The agents I have spoken to have always been friendly, helpful, and have provided the help or information I have requested.


Date: July 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Most necessary tasks can be completed online- payments, renewal, basic changes. Agents are available online to chat help. For more complicated customer service.


Date: July 27, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
They are very helpful as a home insurance company. They are always there to answer my questions and have a 24 hour service. The people on the line are real humans and not a pre recorded robot.


Date: July 26, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I haven't really explored other home insurance companies so I'm not sure how their policies compare. However, I've been happy with what has been included in my policy, although thankfully I've never had to use it!


Date: July 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have checked other national insurance companies and price checked Erie. They are always very close in price. Therefore I don't have a reason to change.


Date: July 26, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My deductible is high just because I do not want to pay a high yearly bill so I have my deductible at 10,000. Since I do this, I have a cheap insurance rate


Date: July 26, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Luckily, I haven't had many reasons to speak with anyone. However, my experience with the company is always good and they have knowledgeable representatives.


Date: July 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
It has some of the best rates and comparable services. Anytime that I have needed questions answers or concerns of potential issues, they were there to answer immediately.


Date: July 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home insurance company policy has maximum value with higher coverage for less money. The out of pocket deductible is low, saving me money and the payout is great.


Date: July 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer 24 hour service where you can call and make a claim or ask a question. When you call they are real people and not a recorded service. The people on the line are kind and extremely helpful.



Date: July 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We have same type of policy as we would have received at a more expensive insurance company. We were with a different one until we switched.


Date: July 24, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductible is the part of the financial responsibility you claim in case of an accident. You have the choice of selecting a deductible ranging from $0 to $1500.


Date: July 24, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not yet interacted with our home insurance company's customer service as we have not yet filed any claim. All interactions so far has been through our insurance agency, which has been excellent so far.


Date: July 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It does not cover mold damage. Property coverage, living expenses if you have to relocate. 100% replacement damage in case my home is destroyed or damaged.


Date: July 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They have always answered our question and been every kind. If we need or want to meet in person they are willing to.


Date: July 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I was very satisfied with the premiums. I was actually able to save $200 with the plans that was set in place by choosing State Farm.


Date: July 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Customer service is wonderful, my costs are the lowest I could find, I'm a little less sure of how in comparison they rate as far as coverage options.


Date: July 22, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Erie Insurance Company's customer service has been excellent.They were the only insurance company that was able to give us a decent rate for home insurance and have treated us well.


Date: July 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Admittedly, this is the first home insurance company that I have ever worked with, but I have been extremely satisfied and see no reason to change companies in the near future.


Date: July 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I believe Erie is comparable to other national companies. I stay with Erie because of the insurance rep. He stays in contact and always asks what they can do to improve.


Date: July 21, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
As far as my premium and deductible, I find that mine is cheaper than the others in the area.


Date: July 21, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am satisfied, but intend to do more premium price comparisons to make sure we are getting the best rate.


Date: July 20, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Erie insurance that rates a 4 out of 5 in terms of rates customer service.Their response rate is exemplary, their fine attention to detail remarkable and the ease with filing a claim.


Date: July 20, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
This insurance company is much more affordable than others we looked into. They have a great coverage for a better price. It is great insurance for a great price.


Date: July 19, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have been very satisfied with the customer service at Erie. They were able to save me a lot of money by switching to them and I'm getting a lot more.


Date: July 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am paying about $550 a year on my premium. I am satisfied with my premium and my deductible. I have not compared with other insurance companies in many years.


Date: July 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
When we bought our house I did a lot of research about what insurance company offered the best policies. I have done multiple searches and got multiple quotes and my company's was the best.


Date: July 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our policy has everything we need in it. The agent help us hand pick it to fit our needs.


Date: July 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My deductible is higher than I would like for my home insurance but It will begin to decrease the longer I have the insurance. They had lots of options for me to choose and this was the one that worked the best.


Date: July 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I rate Erie a 5 out of 5. I have been with Erie for almost 20 years and have never had a claim. I like my agent. He is responsive when I have questions or requests.


Date: July 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am very happy with what I am being offered with Erie, it is the same as what I had before with USAA, but I am paying less.


Date: July 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had no problems with my home owners insurance. I haven't had to file a claim with my home owners insurance policy since I have had them for my insurance carrier.


Date: July 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our rep matched our new policy with our previous policy and was very helpful in determining which coverages we may need and which we could do without.


Date: July 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
When shopping for home insurance we had looked at multiple companies, including the company that we had carried insurance with for over a decade.


Date: July 16, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My current homeowners insurance is bundled into my house payment - which is lovely. It makes paying in one lump sum so easy. My premium is reasonable and makes my deductible lower than most.


Date: July 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My deductible is $3000. I actually didn't know this till I had to look. I think it may seem like a lot but if it really covers 100% of replacement, I guess then it would be worth it.


Date: July 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Their response rate is exemplary, their fine attention to detail remarkable and the ease with filing a claim was second to none. I would recommend.


Date: July 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
While cost and coverages change, we have found that Erie Insurance offers very good plans at a low cost as compared to other insurance companies.


Date: July 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The insurance offerings is pretty on par with their competitors, so we have no complain. However, when bundled with auto insurance, their rates are great, very affordable.


Date: July 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium and deductibles seem fair for my policy. I raised the deductible to lower the cost of the overall policy. I have thankfully never had to use the policy.


Date: July 11, 2019    Age: >60 years    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My local Erie Insurance agent office has excellent customer service - I would easily grade the office and service I have received as 5 Star service. They are always available to answer any questions.


Date: July 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Premium and deductible, again, is pretty on par with other companies. What set them apart is the auto policy that they bundle with.


Date: July 10, 2019    Age: >60 years    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I'm not 100% sure of the deductible of others, but my deductible is very low for how much we pay a year in home owners insurance. I believe ours is around $500, maybe a little less.


Date: July 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Erie has been very good to me, the customer service is amazing as well as the cheap rates. I recently got a new pricey car and my insurance rate only went up a few hundred dollars per year.


Date: July 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I cannot accurately compare the premium and deductible of my current policy when compared to other home owner insurance policies for the same coverage.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Policy Offerings
My home insurance is Erie, once again, the customer service is amazing. I had a tree fall on my house and a claim was made and I got the money no problem


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My new inc. Erie alwas told me all thepremium i needed , and for my deductible they were right there in telling me all the different option.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I'm not 100% positive on the price of other home insurance companies, I've been told by other people about how good their prices are.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our deductible is very low and they always are willing to work with us and help us better understand where our money is going


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My other ins. company was alway trying to make me pay ins. i didn't need. I always thought i was doing the worng payment


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am very satisfied with my premium. I was getting the same thing with a different carrier, but now I am paying less.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We are happy with the customer service we have received from Erie Insurance. Whenever we have had questions about rates/coverage they have been available.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am on a highter deductible for $1000 which is bit more but keeps my premium down. same as others.


Date: June 27, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
There isn't really anything I dislike about the interaction and communication of my current insurance company. I have been with them for over 20 years.


Date: June 25, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
It would be useful to receive clear guidance on when to call the local insurance agent and when to call the corporate office. It would be better just to deal with one or the other. Coordination could be better.


Date: June 20, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I am satisfied, but intend to do more premium price comparisons to make sure we are getting the best rate.


Date: June 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
We're very happy with our homeowner's insurance. We filed a claim two years ago. A man came to the house inspected our claim and helped us through the process.it was very painless.


Date: June 20, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is very easy to use. I have used it on a personal computer and a phone and can always navigate easily to get to what I need.


Date: June 19, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
Erie gave me the best rates on my home and was very nice to as a customer.I respect when telling how i can pay several different.ways


Date: June 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Coverage includes dwelling protection, other structures protection, coverage for damage caused by fires, lightning strikes, windstorms, and hail. Coverage also includes personal property protection.


Date: June 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The deductible of this company is reasonable. I'm unsure of how it compares to other companies deductibles.


Date: June 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
They have good communication. I receive emails periodically about ways to protect my home or things to look out for depending on the season. I also receive monthly bills that outline exactly what my premium is going towards.




Date: June 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have one claim in past which Erie covered it. I don't like it's premium increase every year by at least 15%


Date: June 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
The price is great and our local rep is very accessible and informative. She is friendly and helped to find the best options for us and our home.