Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Liberty Mutual Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Liberty Mutual

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

8 Reviews

 

3 Star

77 Reviews

 

2 Star

13 Reviews

 

5 Star

91 Reviews

 

4 Star

81 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

95 Reviews

 

2 Star

9 Reviews

 

5 Star

150 Reviews

 

4 Star

158 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

7 Reviews

 

3 Star

38 Reviews

 

2 Star

26 Reviews

 

5 Star

117 Reviews

 

4 Star

82 Reviews

 
Premium
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

22 Reviews

 
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

51 Reviews

 
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

112 Reviews

 
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

186 Reviews

 
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

178 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

15 Reviews

 

3 Star

99 Reviews

 

2 Star

13 Reviews

 

5 Star

244 Reviews

 

4 Star

174 Reviews

 

Liberty Mutual Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I would think it should be able to be a little cheaper, we have owned our house and our cars for quite some time and the premiums have never gone down.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Liberty Mutual is the nation’s eighth-largest auto insurer based on direct premiums written. In addition to home and auto insurance, Liberty Mutual offers a vast array of personal and commercial insurance policies.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have only used my home insurance once, They took multiple days to come out to take a look at the water damage which continued to get worse over the time that we had to wait.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium and deductible are extremely affordable. We get a lot of bang for our buck because the coverage is amazing.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Liberty Mutual offers Claims free discounts, in business over 100 years, multi policy discount, mobile apps, offers auto and home insurance. personally customizes policy to the needs of the client.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
my premium deductable is 1000 dollars an i think that is average amount for the same property in my area


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They overall seem good. I cant guarantee that every other company has better offers than what i am getting now. I feel im paying a reasonable amount and im getting all the protection i need.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
It has been okay. No problems so far. If all stays well ill be a loyal customer for years to come.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My insurance policy is great at providing offerings to meet my needs in giving me the policy I need for getting options I need. It is nice at being helpful with my cares and concerns for my home.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
first my thanks to this company because its give more offer to the customers thanks again to this company


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
i previously had a claim and dealing the liberty mutual was pleasant and the whole process was smooth and the support level from the insurance was outstanding.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My price just went up so I might shop around. However, they have all the same features as most other major carries. The set of features is easy to change on the fly and they are very agreeable to adjusting withdraw dates if needed


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My home insurance company rep was very nice and professional. He was not pushy at all and made the over all experience pleasant. I would recommend Liberty Mutual to my family and friends.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have been extremely satisfied with my current insurance. They are willing to look for every discount when I talk to my agent to give me the best price. I have filed one auto and one home claim.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Liberty Mutual's policy offerings are varied compared to other insurance companies. I have lots of choices and options and can customize my policy based on my unique needs.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Liberty Mutual customer service rep was very pleasant to work with. The liberty Mutual rep was very professional and knowledgeable about getting me set up with a policy.The Liberty Mutual rep was very efficient.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have personally never interacted with Liberty Mutual. It was the insurance company that my husband already had, at a great discounted rate through his alumni affiliation.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My insurance company has very good customer service. Whenever I have had to call them, they are very helpful and work very quickly to resolve any problems that I may have.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
This company does not cover all items in the home Some of the things that broke are not covered as they would be with other companies.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I found Liberty Mutual to be very helpful when I filed a claim. They were quick to answer questions and direct me to the right department. On a scale of 1 to 5 I would rate them a 4.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am very happy with the choices I was provided and the explanations of the coverage. Compared to my previous company Liberty Mutual is able to provide better coverage at a better price which is great.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Liberty Mutual has an excellent selection of discounts, but despite this, customers have reported its rates to be about average. Its customer service and claims handling also received average ratings.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium and deductible are both extremely reasonable. They did not raise my premium at all after a small claim. I have never had any kind of increase which is great.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would rate my insurance company a 5. They have some of the best rates in town and I have had no issues submitting a claim to them. Customer service is always friendly and can answer questions for me.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium was substantially lower than the previous company with the same deductible. Essentially I got better coverage with a cheaper premium!


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy offerings are comparable to other insurance companies therefore I guess I would give them a ranking of five. No barriers have been encountered on my quest for coverage.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
my premium is good not too expensive or too low and for the services it is perfect well for me anyway.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not had to do much work with my home insurance company, but they seem to have great customer service based on the little interaction I have had with them.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My insurance company provides the same or similiar offerings just like any insurance company in my area. fire / flooding / natural events / burglary.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The rate and my monthly payment is I would not leave them for nothing in the world I been with them for a very long time


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They were cheaper than other options. There were a lot of add ons that they went through and discussed the necessity of them.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I feel that our policy is average for the homeowners insurance market and offers pretty much the same thing you would get with any company. It feels like a fair deal for the price. I feel that we have good coverage.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Liberty Mutual policy offerings include personal property protection and also inflation protection. They offer a coverage calculator on their site, which helps you decide exactly how much coverage you need.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I've been with Liberty Mutual Insurance for many years for home insurance. I am very happy with their service. I love that I have very comprehensive, quality coverage at a reasonable cost.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible is $1000, which is considerably lower than it would be if I had to get coverage from another company. This is because of all the hail damage we have had in our area of the last few years.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
This was unsatisfactory beacuse they failed to make it clear in the agreement which items would not be covered. Our unit has broken.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium is reasonable. We switched from Allstate 2 years ago and it was less than what Allstate charges. I haven't comparison shopped in a while, but I think they offer good value.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium just went up so I am not too excited about that. I think it could be lower but I think it likely compares to other carriers.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premiums and deductibles are just as good or even lower than other insurance agents in the area. That is one of things that attracted me to them. The pricing was good.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium seemed to be the lowest around compared to other national brands. The deductible was comparable to other companies in the area.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium on my home insurance is higher than I expected it to be. It does cover flooding, which isn't the case always with home insurance, but it still is above how much I would ideally like to spend monthly.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My insurance provider is excellent at communicating with me and providing the proper tools to get me the plan I wanted. They ask me questions about my needs.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My home insurance is a fix rate and very fordable ,they are very helpful and is one of the best company I ever signed up for


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have found this carrier to be extremely easy to work with. I like that they are quickly available.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Most of the Customer Service is online and making changes is very easy online. When I have needed to talk with somebody they have been very friendly and always resolved issues or met my need


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I rate the customer service a 4 out of 5. When I have to call to place a claim, the person I talked to was efficient, friendly and competent.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Liberty Mutual is the best choice for homeowners who are looking to find the cheapest rates for home insurance. Liberty Mutual low rates, combined with its national coverage.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am fairly satisfied with my home owners insurance's customer service. This is my first time as a home-owner, so I really wanted to ensure that I was getting informative and dependable customer service.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home insurance policy is very maintenance free. I don't have to do anything to renew every month. As long as I pay my bill they have my back and I like that peace of mind.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would give Liberty Mutual a 4. I changed from another insurance company 3 years ago and really liked the face to face meeting and discussion of insurance options.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised that my premium and the deductibles and much better than my previous insurance company. I was definitely glad I decided to look into a different company.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible are very reasonable and more affordable than other plans in my area. They have the lowest deductible for my plan.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am satisfied with my home insurance company. I say this but I really have had no interactions with them except to pay my premium. I have never had to file a claim so I really cannot sufficiently answer the question.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is the lowest I could find and the deductible is $1,ooo


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am pleased with the deductible and policies that are offered by this carrier. I think they are competitive with other carriers.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They provide normal standard home insurance coverage. I am insured for dwelling, contents, liability, and some other riders I have purchased.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My insurance premium and deductible are higher in comparison to other insurance companies. But, I like having a big company that I trust to make sure my house is protected.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductible is a plan that you would love they never over charge the staff and people or very friendly


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My policy covers everything that I could ask for. I am really happy that they offer a chip to be put into my vehicle to monitor my driving. Based on the findings, I will get even more discounts.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have had two other providers and switched due to premium increases for the same coverage. Overall, I am satisfied with the policy offerings.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible for my policy seem to be pretty good compared to other insurance policies. I switched to this company for their lower premiums for the same coverage.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am extremely satisfied as they were able to provide me with the lowest possible premium.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had minimal interaction with my Liberty Mutual.I recently had to update my policy since I moved to another state. The process was very simple. I would give them a 4


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
In many ways, Farmers is an average insurance company for homeowners policies, but its many discounts make it a good option if you want the lowest premium possible.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy rates are the lowest I could find when I switched from Farmers.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The home insurance policy provided an extensive coverage in case of thunderstorms and flooding. Considering I live in an area prone to hurricanes and saw Hurricane Harvey, this was really important for me to have.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Liberty Mutual have handled my insurance needs for over 25 years. I have been satisfied, with personal attention always received. They always handled my clams with speed and professionalism


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have a very affordable deductible. My house is not very big and I can't afford much, but my insurance is a reasonable price.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My Liberty Mutual premium and deductible is about the same as my last with Erie insurance. The only difference is the overall cost which is about half the amount of Erie insurance.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I didn't see a difference in the deductible because you can select the deductible for yourself. Based on the Deductible you select determines your you premium.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Liberty Mutual. While it may not be as good at denying and delaying claims as State Farm and Allstate, Liberty Mutual sought the help of the same consulting firm that the other two companies did to reduce costs


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have been trying to get a hold of my assigned worker, but after multiple attempts I find out that they no longer work at the company. I have not been informed on who is my new assigned person.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am extremely satisfied as they were able to provide me with the lowest possible premium.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is better that what I expected for a new house and the deductible is pretty standard percentage rate.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I feel like they offer the same options as other carriers, but they are far less expensive and have a different model.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Liberty Mutual is pretty similar to other companies I've used for home insurance. They have competitive rates and answer any questions about how much I need to insure for.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The Liberty Mutual company has not been satisfactory. The annual fees provides limited coverage for large appliances. We decided not to renew. Thank you for your time.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I can choose what deductible I want, so they are on par with the other companies. There really isn't much difference in pricing unless I have to add things to the policy.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
they would scale around a 4 very good and customer service has been excellent this year, plus they hire new people every year so nice to deal with new faces.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
By compared to other insurance companies the liberty mutual is much better than others and I am very satisfied about it


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My home insurance deductible is about the same as my previous policy. The only difference is that my current home insurance company saves me about one hundred dollars every month.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am very satisfied with my home insurance policy. They cover what my house needs at a price I can afford.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My policy has continued to increase year after year despite having never filed a claim in over twenty years.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I know that the rate we get is very competitive. It beats the best rate I ever received back when I was living on my own, which was through Lemonade.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would rate Liberty Mutuals Customer service at a solid 5. We moved from Geico for both our home and car insurance policies and they made the process extremely easy including a letter.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think the premium and deductible are comparable to other insurance companies. I do get a discount because of where I do my banking so that is nice.. I would rate them a 3.


Date: September 09, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am rating Liberty Mutual's customer service as 5 as I am extremely satisfied with their customer service. They have always been responsive, pleasant, and efficient.


Date: September 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our deductible is low and that seems fair to me. It does seem about average for any company that we looked into. we were able to have a lower deductible because of the discounts offered for combining with our car insurance.


Date: September 09, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not filed a claim, but the interaction I had with the company would say they are a 5.


Date: September 09, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium was average. It was not the cheapest, but far from the most expensive.


Date: September 09, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Liberty Mutual premiums in different states vary widely, and depending on where you live, the average cost of home insurance may range from approximately $600 to $2000 per year.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They are quick to get me the policies and have them sent to me in writing. They sent a professional folder and made me feel important and protected.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Their offerings are good. Not much different from other companies I don't believe. I would rate them a 3.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have never filed a claim with my home insurance company in over twenty years, and they never check in with me to review my coverage.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They did offer to cover a little less that another company that offered coverage but LM is a larger company so I was reluctant to use to use a company I hadn't heard of before.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We chose our insurance company because of the pricing that surpassed everyone else we looked at. Also, because they are very responsive and easily available to contact unlike the other companies we looked at.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Liberty mutual were much easier to understand from a policy point of view than Geico. They explained each and every part of the new policy and how it was different to our original policy.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I absolutely, love our home insurance. Our representative is always free to clarify any questions we have and responds to emails swiftly.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Liberty Mutual's premium and deductible are cost effective. I saved a lot of money by switching to them from my previous company which I had for over ten years.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The liberty mutual offers varieties of policies in affordable price range and also give full coverage