Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Liberty Mutual Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Liberty Mutual

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

8 Reviews

 

3 Star

77 Reviews

 

2 Star

13 Reviews

 

5 Star

91 Reviews

 

4 Star

81 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

95 Reviews

 

2 Star

9 Reviews

 

5 Star

150 Reviews

 

4 Star

158 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

7 Reviews

 

3 Star

38 Reviews

 

2 Star

26 Reviews

 

5 Star

117 Reviews

 

4 Star

82 Reviews

 
Premium
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

22 Reviews

 
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

57 Reviews

 
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

124 Reviews

 
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

216 Reviews

 
Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

195 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

15 Reviews

 

3 Star

113 Reviews

 

2 Star

17 Reviews

 

5 Star

274 Reviews

 

4 Star

194 Reviews

 

Liberty Mutual Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: October 16, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I saved a lot of money by switching to Liberty Mutual for my homeowners insurance. I was paying a lot more for the premium with a higher deductible with my former insurance company which I had been with for many years.



Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My experience with Liberty Mutual as my home insurance has been an okay experience, but I wish I didn't have the requirement of having home owner's insurance in the first place, I really don't like it.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Liberty mutual is a good home insurance company. When I have called them with any problems or questions,They always make sure that any questions I have are answered any make sure I am completely satisfied.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premiums on our policy are higher than I would like them to be. We have an older home, so I think that the charge us extra for that fact.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium continues to increase year after year despite having never filed a claim in over 20 years.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium is noticeably lower than other providers due to a multi-policy discount I receive by maintaining home and auto insurance through a partnership with my auto insurance company. My deductibles are fairly standard.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My premiums have fluctuated a little bit up and down from the time that i've started them. Some times they raise other times they lower.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The primium and deductible of my policy with Liberty Mutual is right in line with most other major insurance companies. They offered me a slightly lower premium which is why I chose them.



Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I think that the deductible is actually cheaper than what I have been charged in the past compared to other companies. I am happy with the price that I am paying for home insurance.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductible and premium of my policy is not outrageous in any way and is actually a fairly reasonable price. I have no complaints over it.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have been insured with this company for in excess of 20 years and have never filed a claim. My few contact have been average.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Overall, I have never had to use my home insurance but it has been a smooth process for me. I have no complaints or bad comments to share about Liberty Mutual.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have Liberty Mutual home insurance for five years now. The customer service is good not great and they are helpful when answering my questions. They always greet me on the phone and they speak in clear and concise tones.


Date: October 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium deductible is incredibly reasonable. I am completely satisfied with how much the deductible is. Would not change a thing about it


Date: October 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
when I purchased it Liberty mutual seemed like the best mix of coverage and value. I should probably look to make sure this is still the case


Date: October 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
customer service is helpful,very informative and eager to help with any questions or concerns a person may have. they also talk to you in a professional way and are not rude.



Date: October 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Yes, Liberty Mutual Insurance Is Expensive.Liberty Mutual Insurance sure isn't the cheapest deal. ... In fact, spending more on your insurance policy can actually save you money in the long run.


Date: October 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premiums are pretty low for the coverage we have, and the deductibles are competitive. We do get an employee discount as my wife was a former employee of Liberty Mutual.



Date: October 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
i like their customer service.they are very helpful.i personally like their service.


Date: October 14, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have been with Liberty Mutual for over 30 years.I left to try to save money, but came back when the service wasn't matched. I have multiple life policies, home, auto, and condo insurance with them.



Date: October 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
premiums are affordable , liberty mutual makes it affordable to have insurance by offering bundle options where you can insurance your house and car in order to save money. the deductible is also a low price and affordable.



Date: October 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible is the lowest that I saw when I compared home deductibles. Others were much higher so I chose them for the coverage that was similar but lower cost deductible.


Date: October 13, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium is a little bit more than some of the other companies, however it is not a huge difference. It gives me a sense of security knowing they are so helpful any time I need them.




Date: October 13, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am satisfied with the service provided by Liberty Mutual, I simply wish the premium was a bit lower. My home is newer thus I have not had a lot of claims with the company, so it has been fine so far.



Date: October 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have not really used their customer service, yet. As far as the ease of buying the insurance and keeping our discounts, it is very easy.


Date: October 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Insurance in general is very high for this area, but so far I would say the premium and deductible are comparable but I am always shopping around



Date: October 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Customer service with liberty mutual is about a 4. They have always made it easy to get ahold of a human, but their sales reps are really pushy.



Date: October 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
my deductible is the same as anywhere else. It's something I am use too. No matter where I shop it is all the same




Date: October 12, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I chose Liberty Mutual because they offered the smallest in both of these, the premium and the deductible. That is probably why most people choose the insurance they do, just based on the price really.


Date: October 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Thankfully I am yet to have any major contact with the customer service department so I cant really comment on their customer service. Initial contact was made with a broker


Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My deductible is high at $1000 to try to control the premium, but it continues to increase every year despite having never filed a claim in over 20 years.


Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible with the company we now has seems to be very comparable to the deductible of other companies we have reviewed.



Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The rate I received was quite reasonable and because I had options to choose it was easy to make a decision


Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience with Liberty Mutual has been great. They offer great customer service and have answered all questions I had


Date: October 11, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
my home insurance company's customer service a 5, because they have always been very courteous and knowledgeable any time I have worked with them. When I moved they helped me set up the policy on my new home.


Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am deeply dissatisfied with the customer service we have received from several different insurance companies. The incompetence is staggering. The availability to resolve issues is lacking and time consuming.





Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The price of the premium depends on a variety of factors including-The type of coverage my age,The area in which i live Any claims filed in the past


Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would give my home insurance company a 4 on a 5-point scale, as I have never needed anything major from them, but day-to-day service has been great.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I haven't had many interactions with them since purchasing the coverage. Luckily I have not had to make a claim. I would rate it a 4



Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Liberty Mutual has much more competitive and reasonable policy premiums and deductibles compared to the other companies we researched. They offer the same payment options as others.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
There are plenty of discounts. They may give you a discount if you insure your home for 100% of its value.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premiums are too high. If you get a decent quote and elect their coverage, they will be sure to raise your prices within the next year. They make sure it is very difficult to speak with anyone.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
This company has had good customer service. I have found other companies however that offer the same benefits for a cheaper price.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have no idea what they charge. It's built into my mortgage payment and I never see it. I imagine they're about the same ae the rest of tgem.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
After signing up with Liberty Mutual, they reached out and made sure I was comfortable finishing up paper work. I have not heard from them since


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I felt so satisfied by this insurance because it provides good schemes which is more suitable for me and also for my family members.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Liberty Mutual has been great as a home insurance company. I haven't had any claims to file with them, which could have an impact on my opinion. But up to this point there have not been any claims.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've never had any interaction with them at all. The only reason I knew what company it was is because once a year I get a letter with some policy information, and it happened to come the other day.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I would give Liberty mutual insurance about a 4. It is not outrageously expensive and it offers car insurance as well.I genuinely enjoy their service and would recommend it.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Liberty Mutual's customer service is excellent. I like that there are different ways to communicate with the customer service people. You can always reach someone through phone, text, chat, or email.



Date: October 08, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My current premium for Liberty Mutual is around $2000 and my deductible is around $400. Compared to other home insurance, Liberty Mutual is a little more expensive but I am paying for the quality and that is what I need.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Always helpful customer service it is difficult to estimate how much you could end up paying in premiums, especially if you want an estimate without having to go through the online quote process.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am completely satisfied. They had a much lower premium and had the same coverage. They also had a few ways to lower the policy even more


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The annual premium that I pay through Liberty Mutual is acceptable. While it is cheaper then my previous company, I have the same limits of coverage just not little things like coverage of food kept in a deep freezer.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
So far so good. At this time I would rate them a 5. There is clear communication, the agent knows what my policy does and does not cover, and what my deductible is. There seems to be a genuine concern for the customer.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am satisfied with their premiums and deductibles. For home and condo, I really haven't had any complaints. For the roadside assistance, the coverage was a little low when I needed it, but I just upgraded it for a very minimal charge.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
very friendly, and will help me do anything to help get me in the right direction to get what I need fix. customer service is friendly and will make sure I will get a call back with in 2 days



Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like that they help me right away with a live person when I need assistance. They are kind and considerate in their interactions with me when I call about concerns with the home..


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not filed any claims in over 20 years, and my contact with customer service has been limited. It has been average when it has occurred.


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
This is such a great insurance company. I have never had any problems or difficulties with them. They are always helpful and easy to deal with. Would highly recomend them






Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Most insurance companies customer service is below par. They do not adequately try to be helpful and there is usually a language and comprehension barrier due to the service agent being outside of the country.


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am unsure of the deductible, as I do not have the details. I assume it's satisfactory, otherwise my husband would not have it.



Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have had great customer service with our insurance company. Fortunately we've never had a claim, but whenever we have a question about our policy or coverage we receive quick and courteous replies.





Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Every experience i've had with my customer service has been rather pleasant and i've had no problems with them.


Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The only down side to liberty mutual is that they are a little pricey. They do seem higher proceed than some of the other insurance companies, but I feel you get what you pay for.





Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The home insurance with the policies provided by them was well satisfied and they are really different from the other one such it is more satisfy by their services and schemes.


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium and deductible is substantially less than other companies that I have used and been quoted.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I would think it should be able to be a little cheaper, we have owned our house and our cars for quite some time and the premiums have never gone down.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Liberty Mutual is the nation’s eighth-largest auto insurer based on direct premiums written. In addition to home and auto insurance, Liberty Mutual offers a vast array of personal and commercial insurance policies.