State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


State Farm Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
State Farm

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

49 Reviews

 

3 Star

310 Reviews

 

2 Star

79 Reviews

 

5 Star

563 Reviews

 

4 Star

413 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

18 Reviews

 

3 Star

239 Reviews

 

2 Star

34 Reviews

 

5 Star

929 Reviews

 

4 Star

561 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

19 Reviews

 

3 Star

174 Reviews

 

2 Star

46 Reviews

 

5 Star

805 Reviews

 

4 Star

331 Reviews

 
Premium
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

80 Reviews

 
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

115 Reviews

 
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

443 Reviews

 
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

757 Reviews

 
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

990 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

38 Reviews

 

3 Star

250 Reviews

 

2 Star

50 Reviews

 

5 Star

1,462 Reviews

 

4 Star

554 Reviews

 

State Farm Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am not an expert in these comparisons, but I was able to tailor the package to what I wanted.This includes a reasonable valuation, high deductible,and no excessive coverage for replaceable possessions within the home.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not had to utilize them for any emergencies, so it is hard to say they are great or horrible. However, payment is easy.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Our insurance agent has been very helpful when we had any problems or issues, including a tree down on a fence and roof damage from a storm.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I feel that our premium is competitive as we went through a broker to leverage their relationship for a better rate. Our deductible seems to be the industry standard.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We felt that our insurance was reasonably priced and would meet our needs. Sadly, the one time we needed to use it, it did not cover the full expense of the repair, only a half of it.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Farm may not have the best pricing, but a strong agent network, coupled with a wide range of flexible policies and a streamlined website made State Farm a clear winner in terms of the overall customer experience.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I believe that State Farm offers full home insurance coverage that would meet the needs of most people seeking insurance. State Farm is considered to be one of the highest rated insurance companies.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
This one had the best available for me and it was easy to understand, and that goes a really long way with me.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am somewhat satisfied, but there are still areas that need change.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The coverage options are wide and varied. The option to select which services one would like is of tremendous help because it allows for making adjustments necessary due to budgetary concerns.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience with the home insurance company's customer service has been a wonderful one.I with rate them 4. that is very satisfied


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am rating them a 3 because I have not shopped around for insurance company offerings from other companies, so I am not sure how the current company rates against the competition.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They offer me homeowners and also auto insurance. I get a discount on my auto insurance because I also have the homeowners insurance. I've never had to make a claim, but so far they seem less expensive than other insurers I've looked at.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My policy offers coverage for replacement plus I a calculation that annually takes into account inflation and home owner values in my neighborhood. I have a rider for jewelry that costs me nothing.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premiums I pay are just right for whats covered on my home. Its all I need without any extra expenses.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home insurance company policy offerings are amazing when compared to other insurance providers. State Farm gives me the coverage I need for a good price.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Average cost of other companies. Pretty easy to sign up but communication lacks badly when faxing paperwork to them


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think that my insurance company offers very similar but good coverage and policy options compared to other insurance providers in my area.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer very similar packages to other companies, including the same minimums, liability and full coverage. I don't see a big difference when it comes to what they offer people.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have nothing but good things to say about State Farm and their coverage of my home and property. I feel their rates are fair and their customer service is unparalleled in the industry.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Well this is the first time I bought home insurance so when I was searching for the best rates I found my current offer and it fit me and my current needs very well.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
state farm has been great for our home owners insurance. they are very helpful when we are in need of something and i would highly recommend state farm to anyone looking for a good home owners insurance.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I've had a limited experience with their customer service, but from the experience I had, they were very open about my policy and were able to give me answers to some questions I had.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
State Farm rates as a 2 for Customer Service. The Agents tend to listen to your problem but in the end they only attempt to solve your problem by up selling your policy.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
They've been pretty responsive and have given me the best price on my insurance. I'd give them a 3. Sometimes they are not very communicative, but overall they've been helpful.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The Premiums and deductible by State Farm are higher than other budget insurance companies due to the amount of services that are offered.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premiums are low due to the multi-line discount, which is in line with other companies. The deductible is low and the premium paid for the low deductible is not very high due to the multi-line discount.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have never had to use my home owner's insurance. The customer service representatives I have ever had to deal with have been helpful and courteous to me.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
State Farm has always given me great service. They give me any information that I need about my policy right away. I was confused about some policy changes and they were able to explain them to me.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am very satisfied with my premium and deductible. It is a lot cheaper for me with this company than any other. I have been with them for a long time and they reward their customers!


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Farm offers all that I need in home insurance. While I'm not an insurance expert by any means, this company seems to offer whatever insurance needs that arise.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Farm has a complete portfolio of coverage options available. To be honest I didn't do too much shopping around because I already had my auto coverage through State Farm.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am not only able to cover stuff in my home but also my auto which saves me time and money. I love that they have places near where I live and that I can get rates on stuff I cover once I buy them.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Farm home insurance company policy offerings compared to other insurance providers is that have different discounts that you can choose from. It can be on the prices side but still well worth it.



Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible of my policy compared to the other home insurance policies for the same coverage for State Farm home insurance company is that it is on the prices side but having a local Agent is really helpful.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible are higher than my neighbors, but not by much. It only cost me $500 to remove the tree, and the total work required was around 5 thousand dollars.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I had shopped around when moving into the new house, and other companies cost more for less coverage it seemed. State farm was the correct choice


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
While I do not really have any complaints about my home insurance, I do think that I am paying more than I should be for my coverage. Other than that,therefore, I have no complaints about service at this time.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My experience with state farm has been a great one. They have given me the best price compared to everyone else and took great care in helping me on my claim for some weather damange that I had.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The amount of coverage I receive for what I pay is fair. However, if the value of my home increases, I may have to increase my insurance.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
State Farm's premium and deductible for my renter's insurance are very similar to the other insurance companies I looked into. I could also pay for additional coverage if I needed it.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductible on my current policy is extremely lower than the one I had with my previous company. Again, this was one of the reasons I chose to switch back to State Farm.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
State farm rates compared quite favorably when viewed against other insurers. The comparisons where apples to apples and State Farm came out with far better rates and their service without peer.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Im honestly not sure because I dont price shop insurance but I do think State Farm has competitive rates on coverage. I also insure an auto through them in a group policy and I know for a fact their auto is competitively priced.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience has only been positive with my home insurance company's customer service. They are really great at helping me when I need it.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Nothing much about the policies as I don't really associate with the works related to it but i'd say its a 5/5 for me.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am always satisfied with my premium and since that I am a great driver, I tend to often get a discount every month which lowers my premium. That's exciting seeing that in the mail!


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I haven't had to make a claim yet with them. However, their rates and customer service are great. If I should ever need to file a claim I'm sure that it will go well and I'll be taken care of with them.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Farm has all the offerings I would need and can find a solution that fits my needs and budget. I don't think they offer anything that their competitors don't offer as well, but they have always been able to delivery what I need.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Because I bundled my insurance, home & auto, over all the preium is slightly lower than other insurers. However individually, they are higher.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am unsure how my deductible and premium compare to other companies. I have had the same insurance company for years. I am sure I could find a lower premium elsewhere but the hassle of changing.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
This home insurance company was good with me. well experience persons are well working done, all are support me


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
State Farm has provided nothing but top tier customer service to me. When choosing a new plan, they reached out via email and were quick to respond. They made sure any questions I had were answered.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
It is a small town but I have always gotten exceptional customer service from my agents office. Ive filed a few claims with them and it has been seamless and they always call me back promptly if I have a question.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have priced with other companies before and no one can compare to my discounted policy price with my car insurance bundled in.The deductible itself is about average with other companies.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I will rate our insurance a 5. We have been extremely satisfied over the years with our coverage. They have always been very quick and efficient in taking care of the problem.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deducible is pricey for those who do not have a lot of money; however, extremely reasonable because you pay a low cost to ensure so much of your valuable items are insured.


Date: September 14, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premiums and deductible are fair for the services offered. Again not the cheapest however there overall service makes it one of the better companies around.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am moderately satisfied with State Farm customer service. We insure our condo under a HO-6 policy. The premium is reasonable. However, during the year we never hear from our agent or the insurance company.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
State Farm home insurance company's customer service is very helpful and they can tell that they really value there customers by how they treat you.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
When my wife and I purchased our home in 2016, we looked into three different home insurance carriers and soon discovered State Farm had the most to offer in terms of offerings and cost associated with those offerings.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am not familiar with other companies policies. I would guess they are similar, but my policy covers everything except earthquake.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
They allow me to select between three different deductible sizes where I selected the 500 dollar deductible.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have dealt with a local agent over the phone. They were extremely helpful in getting our coverage set up and dealing with our mortgage company.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am completely satisfied with deductible and policy amount. I pay every 6 months and it can be as low as 125.00 which is wonderful for me.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I wold rate State Farm customer service a 4. The 1-800 number is very efficient. The home office is less efficient and a particular person in the office has difficulty when I want to pay using my credit card.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have always had State Farm coverage and their actions in response to claims has always been rapid and accurate. My only experience with other companies has been through interactions with friends.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I would say that the insurance itself is a lot like the other insurance companies out there, and I have looked at many, but the best part of State Farm is that they give you a lot of discounts.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Rate number one for State Farm. All claims were handled promptly and met my expectations. In all cases they went above and beyond.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied with my policy offerings. My insurance agent helped me and my husband choose the right policy for us and I believe that it is the one we need.


Date: September 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I believe State farms deductible and premium may be slightly higher than other companies. However the lack of delay on payment from state farm and the customer service more than make up for the slightly higher deductible and premium.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I believe our deductible and premium are fair and comparable with other insurance company offerings. We have felt good value from our premiums to this company.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
State Farm is slightly more expensive but it is no-hassle and easy to use. Generally, I am willing to pay more if it means faster responses and an easier, more straightforward claims process, as is the case with State Farm.



Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
State Farm offers competitive pricing for home insurance. The premiums and deductibles are no more or less than other insurance companies. It's nice to have a local agent that you can look at.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Farm offers all the coverage I need and seems comparable to other companies. They have many more offerings than what I currently have covered, but they always send me information about the other coverage.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premiums at State Farm are lower than other companies at first but tend to rise the longer you are a customer.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am very happy with my home owner's insurance and will rate it a five. I have had the same agent for nearly 30 years and he lives in my neighborhood. We had a fire on the side of the house that melted our aluminum siding.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My deductible is low with State Farm. I rate direct general at a 5. They give me the coverage that I need.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible, I think, are pretty good. It is hard to know because I have only ever had one house and one insurer. So it is not something I have massive experience with.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I really do not know. I only compared rates and State Farm was lower, but I do not know if someone else could have given me a different policy that would have better suited my needs.


Date: September 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I'd probably give it a 2, and even that is a stretch. They are constantly calling trying to sell me more insurance which I have asked them not to do.



Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I had a interior flood issue recently. I called state farm, within 3 days they had someone at my house to do an estimate. The customer service rep was knowledgeable,courteous, and efficient.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I believe our insurance company offers fair and reasonably priced home insurance with a high level of service in times of need.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
they are about average they just don't mention ways you can lower your bill ever, so I'm satisfied because not having that much experience with other companies I just assume they all act this way.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
State Farm provides several different insurance products, including auto, home and renters insurance. State Farm is not a participant in the InsuraMatch.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I m not sure what other policies have as deductibles and such. My family has been with state farm and our agent for many many years so I fully trust them and feel that their policies are decently priced.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
State Farm has been very easy and friendly to work with over the years, I would encourage anyone to check them out. Always have been very hospitable and kind.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I would rate them as a 4. They are polite, responsive and very good listeners. On the two occasions I have had to file claims, for the most part the claims have been issue free. I would like them to be more proactive


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium is relatively inexpensive due to bundling the home policy with our auto policies, as well.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have been insured with State Farm for the past 4 years and so far i had great experience when dealing / speaking to them.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It's been 30 years since I've had other insurance coverage from a different provider and I changed because the other company gave us the runaround when a storm caused covered damage to our home.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They offer me any discounts I am eligible for. I get discount for amount of miles I travel,how far I go from home,and age. Thye are a 5 on this and i cam completly happy with rates and discounts.


Date: September 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
For my premium, we pay about $130 a year with a very low deductible. I think it is $750 to access the coverage through deductible.I am very pleased with my coverage in comparison to other policies.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Overall the customer service is helpful however at times it takes a while to get to actually speak with someone. Their premiums and coverage are fair.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I'm not sure currently what my deductible are I bought my policy a while ago. But my yearly premiums are less than $1,000 so I think that's pretty good.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am satisfied because I was able to raise the deductibles to get a lower premium. I also questioned the valuation of the home versus the land.


Date: September 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not really had to use the insurance , but I think I called them once about a delaying a payment for a couple of days and they were friendly and helpful.