MetLife Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


MetLife Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
MetLife

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

5 Reviews

 

3 Star

22 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

44 Reviews

 

4 Star

11 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

3 Star

13 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

36 Reviews

 

4 Star

34 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

6 Reviews

 

2 Star

3 Reviews

 

5 Star

40 Reviews

 

4 Star

30 Reviews

 
Premium
MetLife Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

10 Reviews

 
MetLife Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

21 Reviews

 
MetLife Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

52 Reviews

 
MetLife Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

54 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

14 Reviews

 

2 Star

4 Reviews

 

5 Star

62 Reviews

 

4 Star

48 Reviews

 

MetLife Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Metlife's deductible is better than other companies. This is mainly due to my employer benefit that provides lower costs for a better plan.


Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not had to make a claim for Metlife. They have decent rates as I have an employer discount.


Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We have a relatively low premium and deductible for our property. Without getting into too many specifics, our insurance salesperson has assured us that what we were paying was standard for the people in our area.



Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am satisfied with my experience. I give them a 4 because I am satisfied but they did not provide anything above and beyond to get a perfect score. I've dealt with them with issues of billing and claims.


Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I compared my premium to average statistics researched on the internet and it seemed in line with those, and so I am satisfied enough.



Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Home insurance definitely a safe, secure and modern reliable way. Our house become unsafe when go out for work or any other activities. Insured house is better to the owner if anything happen then he will compensate.




Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have been with our Home Insurance company for over 10 years. We have never had any issues to report to our insurance company in this time frame, but our provider has given us all updates to our policy in a timely manner.


Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium amount is comfortable for me. There is no deductible amount just they add the tax. I do the regular premium payment becuse I care about my service from the insurance company.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Metlife insurance company insurance company offers are disclosing our website. There fore i don,t go there office. So we i will check my mail or there websites. The company offers was very attractive offers.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am always satisfied in their service. Their premium amount is less than other insurance company premium amounts. Then i have save per year few amount for their service.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My home insurance company name is Metlife. Met life insurance company is best foe me. The company customer service is almost working in any time.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy is pretty straight forward, we shopped around and most policies fell into the same buckets. Thankfully we don't need flood at our home!


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
So far so good, luckily we haven't had any major claims yet but we live in Florida and its hurricane season so I can guarantee that will change soon.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
we shopped around and MetLife is very competitive. What stinks about FL is that we have a inflated hurricane deductable. I understand the reasoning and it makes sense but it's still a hard pill to swallow.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Premium and deductibles are not too bad. Mostly average with other companies. Many friends and family pay around the same amount.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Our customer service from MetLife has always been spot on. We live in a hurricane prone area so we interact with our insurance company more then most people I would imagine.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premiums we pay now are actually slightly lower than with the last company we used and our coverage is about the same. I am satisfied with with metlife in this regard.


Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Very easy company to work with and a fast response time. I like how I can also have access to customer service 24/7



Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've generally had a good experience with metlife.We had a small fire that destroyed much of our upstairs kitchen and they were excellent with taking care of us in a timely manner and communicating.


Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium is much cheaper than others I looked at, mostly because I got a discount for bundling it with my auto insurance. I would have chosen the same deductible for any company assuming comparable costs.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium is competitive as is our deductible. As stated previously we mostly have to deal with our hurricane deductible which is high but thats just how it is when living on a island in Florida


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Technically it's for renter's insurance but I have been satisfied with their customer service. Other than initially purchasing the plan, I have not interacted with them about my renter's insurance.





Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I'm satisfied with the offerings that my home insurance company offers. I believe they are inline with other insurance providers


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I haven't had to connect with our home insurance company yet so I couldn't rate them. I have connected with our broker about questions - and would rate them a 4.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Metlife offers a wide range of options with insurance coverage. I love the fact that you can consolidate all your insurance with the same company.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I enjoy working with Metlife. My experience has been very good to date, I would rate them a 4 on the scale. They are always willing to go over best rate options with me.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium seems to get.higher every year even when I've never filed a claim.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our deductible is much lower with this insurance company that it was with previous companies for the same coverage.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I'm not sure how others compare but our deductible is $1,000. Our premium is included in our mortgage. I believe it is $1,300/yr. I feel $1,000 deductible is extremely high.


Date: June 22, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
They are the cheapest policy that I could find, but I still feel like we are paying way too much for insurance. It is ridiculous to pay 2000 a year.





Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
My home insurance company that I use customer care are good, they attend to evry issue I have at anytime I ask. They are readily available always


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I am fine with the premium and deductible.I reached out to the insurance company and they were able to lower it back down to the payment I previously had.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium is lower than what I had with the previous home insurance company and the deductible is currently the same.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
So far so good. Had the about 3 years and they've always been honest about my benefits and what I could remove from my plan to save money.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
The Met life home insurance customer service was friendly and easy when signing up with the company. The representative was easy to talk to and provided the information needed.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
Yes, this company service is very good and helpful services from customers and it's very useful to customer.


Date: May 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
the deductible for my home insurance policy is also comparable to the others offered in my area and i can only find slight differences in the price not enough for me.


Date: May 29, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
My premium goes up every year without having had a claim so I am rating them an average score compared to other companies.



Date: May 29, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
My home insurance premium policy are so good and I benefit from them, while others insurance company aitnt that good


Date: May 29, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
They did not go above and beyond to earn a 5 but did very well.Their response to my claim and expeditious and simple and was everything a typical homeowner would like in a home insurance company.




Date: May 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
Everyone is very helpful. The staff seem knowledgeable and they make sure my concerns are answered during the phone call. I enjoy speaking with them because they are attentive and fast.




Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I give it a 5. However, we use an independent broker who deals with Metlife for us. I prefer it this way since it prevents us from being tricked. Metlife has always worked well with our broker.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
Fortunately we have not had to file claims, but in the necessary communications, they have done a great job.



Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Their deductibles are similar to those of other companies. The coverage was a little better. I was happy with their rates.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
We feel their rates are totally in a reasonable range. We have shopped around and looked at other offers that come along, but have chosen to stay with our current coverage.


Date: May 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
i have never had any issue with our service. the only reason i didn't give it a 5 is the price could be a little better. whenever i call about anything i get a quick response and a valid answer



Date: May 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I only compared the company with 1 other insurance company and MetLife was cheaper on both the deductible and premium cost so I went with them.



Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Yes, the insurance company is provided from home insurances policies and any other policies to provide the customers.




Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The deductible are in a good price range. The premium for my policy is reasonable. I had some issues with them changing the amount. However, I did contact them about the price change.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
They were quick to respond when my roof had hail damage. It was easy to get it approve and I had a check within a week.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
definitely how I rate the deductible because I don't have one at all. It is the lowest cost and definitely the best value for my money as a customer.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
I was satisfied with the premium and found it fair. Compared to other insurance companies this one offered the best rate for the coverage I felt would best suit my needs.



Date: May 23, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Premium
They have the best price but the highest deductible if I ever need to file a claim. I wanted to pay the least monthly so they were the best option for home coverage.


Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have had a good experience with Metlife's customer service.They were prompt and courteous. They answered questions skillfully and quickly.


Date: May 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have only had to interact with them very briefly and it was pleasant enough. They seem like they are people who will work with you if you have any questions or problems. They send out notices about relevant things and that is about all the interaction I have with them or expect to have.


Date: May 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It covered damages of the house also structures attached to it. It also includes damage to fixtures such as plumbing, electricity, heating and permanently installed air-conditioning systems.


Date: April 30, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I find the company's customer service to be easy to use through either the website or by calling the toll free number provided.


Date: April 22, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is comparable and also competitive with other insurance companies that offer the same coverage options as we currently have.


Date: April 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Covers fires, theft, roof damage, flood damage and natural disasters, like a tornado. It covers total loss of the house and some money toward living expenses for while the house is repaired or rebuilt.


Date: April 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I liked that we can combine home ,auto and life insurance. Thought it would be easy that way.They pay for new changes made to the house in case of updating.


Date: April 04, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
we moved from geico to metlife as metlife is cheaper and has a superior customer service. geico customer service complacent on the false notion that they are the cheapest.


Date: April 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It has all of the standard coverage to protect you and your vehicle in the event of an accident, plus some supplemental options that are exclusive to MetLife among major providers.


Date: April 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
By combining home and auto i was able to save 10 percent on the premiums.Higher the deductible the lower the premium.


Date: April 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I do not really have anything to compare to. I didn't go in details when i purchased my home insurance. I just looked at the price tag and went with it, knowing that i have the option to change it at any time.


Date: April 01, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
we are insured with metlife for both auto and home. we are very satisfied with their premium and customer service. we had an opportunity to interact with their customer service on a claim.


Date: April 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium was amazing. Since we are raising two young children with another one on the way, we have no reason to overpay for our policy.


Date: April 01, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
we settled down with the present company and they are really value for money and the deductible is very reasonable for the kind of premium rates they offer


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We saved $300 by combining our insurance. Our insurance was around $700 less than similar protection from USAA. We are very pleased with MetLife.


Date: March 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have Metlife home insurance. Ours is a old house and thought Metlife provides good replacement .So far we haven't made any claims. But I like the customer service and clarity.


Date: March 29, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
When purchasing our new home, my wife and I decided to use MetLife. MetLife was able to bundle our auto and homeowner's insurance which saved us about $300 a year over our last policy.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have everything covered: possessions, earchquake, natural disasters, tornados, flooding. The interior furniture and house are all covered in the policy.


Date: March 27, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I love working for MetLife fun environment great people. What I love the most when the opportunity comes we can work from home on bad weather days .


Date: March 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Out deductible is $1500 which is low. We did not have to pay extra for that either which is a blessing.


Date: March 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
At the time of having the insurance, the process is fo fast and for recovery, the process is quite moderate. The service is very good.


Date: March 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I had previously used USAA for everything and had been pretty satisfied. USAA is a great insurance company but their homeowner's policies tend to be way overpriced.


Date: March 14, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I have a condo. The products offered by Metlife are both affordable and comphrehensive. They will carefully review with you what you actually need instead of overselling.


Date: March 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The offerings slightly differ but all of the companies offer the same. We are satisfied with the offerings provided by the company.


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have no idea what the comparison would be to other insurance companies and I don't feel like I would get a much better price anyway. I think this place is pretty standard for my area and the value of my home. Again I doubt I would bother to shop around for different insurance since I plan to sell soon anyway.