National General Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


National General Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
National General

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

6 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

19 Reviews

 

4 Star

6 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

5 Star

20 Reviews

 

4 Star

8 Reviews

 
Communications

3 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

26 Reviews

 

4 Star

8 Reviews

 
Premium
National General Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

1 Review

 
National General Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

6 Reviews

 
National General Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

21 Reviews

 
National General Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

12 Reviews

 
Customer Service

3 Star

2 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

26 Reviews

 

4 Star

7 Reviews

 

National General Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I was able to bundle my home and auto insurance together, so the rate was competitive and made applying easy. Offerings were consistent through all companies


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I had chosen to go with a higher deductible with my plan to lower my yearly cost. I've yet to need to file a claim which has proven to be the more financially sound decision.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Ive been with my insurance company since September of 2016. The rate is fair and I haven't had to make a claim so my contact with the company has been minimal.


Date: June 29, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am totally satisfied with my premium. This company gave me an affordable premium when other companies wouldn't so I can't complain.


Date: June 27, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are often very willing to help whenever I may need to call or message them about a question or concern in terms of payments and/or any possible claims that I have questioned them about.


Date: June 24, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
My companies website is perfect for me. It's just a simple website with an option for online payments and policy changes.


Date: June 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Interaction is typically always very nice and it is easy to contact them while also responsive to them to find the correct answers to my questions.


Date: June 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I like everything about my companies website. It is simple and offers an easy online payment option for me to use.


Date: June 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
My company is always just a call away if I need them and there are never long holds so their easy to communicate with.


Date: May 31, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The property itself, personal property that is inside the home to a certain dollar amount, personal injury (to a limit), fire, etc.. Flood insurance is not included in the coverage.


Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
National General's customer service overall is a not so pleasant experience. Either the reps have no idea what is going on or they have no time of day to answer simple questions.



Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium is comparable to other carriers for the same product, Deductible is lower than the typical one thousand dollar deductible.


Date: April 17, 2019    Age: >60 years    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The interaction with National General has never been a problem. I receive billing notices with plenty of time to pay, with good options. I have never had any other interaction with the company.


Date: April 15, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I do not ever use the app or website other than to check the billing or the renewal, to be honest. The website seems like it is very organized, however, I don't often feel that I need to check it.


Date: April 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like the National General customer service because I work with one agent from start to finish. I have his direct number and if he is unavailable he calls me back at his earliest convenience.


Date: March 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am very satisfied with my premium because my company offered me an affordable premium when no one else would.


Date: March 09, 2019    Age: >60 years    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have the premium coverage offered by National General. It covers the house and the detached garage, as well as expenses if we cannot live in it.


Date: January 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium is higher at our home then a rental we have in another area (for a bigger more expensive house) but that is because of the rural wildland fire potential in our area. I wish it could be lower but I think that there is something to be said for our decision to live in a higher risk area, so I cannot expect everyone to bear the burden because of that. Although, I think we will be partially paying for the other terrible fires in CA.


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I like them because they are always in constant communication with us through the mail. They keep us updated on any changes and If we don't mail in our new forms each year to add any changes they always call us to remind us,


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
From what I know about my current insurance policy everything is covered except what they call "acts of god" and flood damage. This seems to be pretty standard coverage.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would give them a 5 because I have never had a claim and anytime I call them with questions they are quick and nice with the answers. I find that they do come out and inspect the house which upset me at first, but I keep my home fire safe etc. so I tried not to be too defensive about that.


Date: December 26, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I again give it a 5 I am always concerned, living in the rural hill of CA, that insurance companies in general are going to abandon us all due to the wild fire danger, so I am very grateful and satisfied to have insurance at all. I have had neighbors that have had tremendous issues finding a company that will take them on.


Date: December 01, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The only thing I don't like about their website is our specific policy info for what is covered is not included. I would like to make changes to our policy in their website and the last time I checked that option was not available.


Date: October 03, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I have the premium coverage offered by National General. It covers the house and the detached garage, as well as expenses if we cannot live in it.


Date: October 03, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had very little interface with the National General customer service. I have had no claims since I started coverage with them two years ago. They did answer a payment question once.


Date: October 03, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
No problem with communication, I am notified when a bill is coming due, is paid, and whenever I make any changes online.


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
as for home insurance, they have been great. They charge an arm and a leg for the auto though, and they seem to not make notes of previous calls in


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
it was the cheapest I could find with the coverage I needed. I could always pay less for the same though haha


Date: September 30, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have the premium policy for home insurance. It includes full replacement value for the house and all its contents, living expenses while the house is being repaired/rebuilt, and medical expenses if necessary.


Date: September 30, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like the website because it is very user-friendly. It also has access to help and answer my questions. There is also a live agent I can talk to easily to have my questions answered.


Date: September 29, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It covers a lot but I think I should cover more such as all the belongings and perhaps medical payments if needed.


Date: September 29, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
we have only dealt with our personal agent and like him really well. we just found out nationwide joined with another company and don't like that so not sure how long that personal service will anchor us.


Date: September 27, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I do not ever use the app or website other than to check the billing or the renewal, to be honest. The website seems like it is very organized, however, I don't often feel that I need to check it.


Date: September 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It covers the home itself, plus any items inside the home. Also covers other structures including a shed out back


Date: September 25, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The only thing I don't like about their website is our specific policy info for what is covered is not included. I would like to make changes to our policy in their website and the last time I checked that option was not available.


Date: September 23, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Fortunately, the only interaction I have had to have with customer service was the initial sign up service and that went very smooth.


Date: September 22, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My policy covers basically dwelling, dwelling extension, a detached garage, loss of use, personal property, trips and falls and injuries and my extensive model train collection.


Date: September 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
When getting a quote this one offered not only a very good premium for what I was needing but also the coverage I was needing. Having a mobile home on the coast, your market is limited but National Lloyd's is great.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I like the National General customer service because I work with one agent from start to finish. I have his direct number and if he is unavailable he calls me back at his earliest convenience.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have never had to work with the National General customer service. Everything I have done has been through an insurance agent for the company.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I've had no problems with interacting or communicating with the agent or his office staff. They are in the ball and on top of their game when I need something.


Date: September 20, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I like that the website has the ability to submit and manage claims online, and there is the ability to chat with customer service reps.


Date: September 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They have excellent customer service, always willing to help and they seem to enjoy the job. I have never had a problem before


Date: September 18, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Their customer service is great. They always answer quickly. I have never been on hold for more than 30 seconds, They have always been polite and answered any questions I may have had.


Date: September 18, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My homeowner's insurance only covers my dwelling right now due to some special circumstances but at least I still have homeowners coverage.


Date: September 18, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have water damage insurance as well in case of a busted pipe or a water leak from my hot water heater.


Date: September 17, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium is what it is, but the rates often rise from year to year, minimally. I have only had 2 insurance companies in my home owning experience, so I cannot really say which premium and benefit outweighs the other.


Date: September 17, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I like them because they are always in constant communication with us through the mail. They keep us updated on any changes and If we don't mail in our new forms each year to add any changes they always call us to remind us,


Date: September 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Very easy to communicate with them, they always replied and acted very quickly and get me everything I needed


Date: September 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I am extremely satisfied with my home insurance company. I only have positive things to say and recommend Nationwide to all my friends and family. They have been very helpful and receptive to addressing my concerns.


Date: September 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Only based on talking to my friends and family and shopping around, my insurance premium is far less than any others I've compared to.


Date: September 13, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I cannot make heads or tails of the mobile/website app. I have trouble signing in and verification process. I've been with Nationwide for 19 yrs. Thankfully my agent's office is a few blocks away from me.


Date: September 11, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I like everything about my companies website. It is simple and offers an easy online payment option for me to use.


Date: September 11, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
My company is always just a call away if I need them and there are never long holds so their easy to communicate with.


Date: September 10, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am totally satisfied with my premium. This company gave me an affordable premium when other companies wouldn't so I can't complain.


Date: September 10, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Of course, I would like for it to be lower, but it's the best price I could find for the coverage I get.


Date: September 09, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have a condo home insurance policy that covers the inside property from damage. The policy will also cover part of the deductible of the master deed.


Date: September 09, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I actually have had one claim and the service from them was outstanding, very fast and helpful


Date: September 09, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My brief experience with customer service has been very positive. They have been very quick to answer my questions and help me arrange a policy that fits all of my needs.


Date: September 08, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I've been with the same insurance co for years. When they came out with a mobile app, I was super happy bc I could access my documents on the go and email them when necessary from my phone.


Date: September 07, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like the fact that I really don't have much to do when submitting a claim


Date: September 05, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
my insurance agent is easy to get a hold of and answers my questions right away


Date: September 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like the website because it is clear, easy to navigate, and free from third-party advertisements that would take up the page with nonsense.


Date: September 04, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I made sure to get my recording studio and all of the instruments covered in case of anything. They are very expensive to replace


Date: September 02, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My policy covers of course the house, as well as my belongings inside. It also covers structures outside, including trees and other plants. Pets are not covered but the liability of a pet attacking someone, I am covered for.


Date: September 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They have excellent customer service. I like that The associates you speak to are easy to understand, they speak English and they know what they are talking about.


Date: September 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The National General website is well laid out and easy to use. It lists the individual policies on the home page at the top. If you select one, it shows all the details. You can also do claims or change your coverage.


Date: August 31, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
we haven't called around and done any pricing in years for other coverage because of the personal relationship we have with our agent. though with this new merger and the rising rates that may be changing


Date: August 31, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Right now I only have coverage on my dwelling due to some previous circumstances but its better than no insurance at all.


Date: August 30, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
it seems to never save my password, so I really only use the actual site on my computer. Granted, that is how I do most tasks like that


Date: August 27, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The dwelling is covered for damage roof, windows, siding and other permanent structure.


Date: August 27, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
we really don't have much communication unless I am changing something. I haven't really filed and claims or anything.


Date: August 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
the communication is great and it is easy to get a hold of someone


Date: August 26, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I was paying more for the same coverage so I like to be able to save a little money and still have good coverage


Date: August 26, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I've shopped around and they are by far the lowest in my town


Date: August 25, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The property itself, personal property that is inside the home to a certain dollar amount, personal injury (to a limit), fire, etc.. Flood insurance is not included in the coverage.


Date: August 14, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is slightly high in my opinion, however, it is the most exhaustive coverage I could find. So all in all, I think it is well worth it if tragedy ever struck our home or life.


Date: August 14, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They have excellent customer service. The associates you speak to are easy to understand, they speak English and they know what they are talking about.


Date: August 13, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The customer service is excellent. When I filed a claim after hurricane Harvey they were prompt to take care of me.


Date: August 12, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I don't know much about other premiums. We use National General for both our auto and home insurance. I do believe they offer the lowest rates for any type of insurance


Date: August 11, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
As with anyone I would always like to pay less to cut down on my monthly bills but my company did offer the lowest rate compared to the other companies I have checked with.


Date: August 11, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I really like the company's website because you can combine your home owner's insurance and automobile insurance policies together, so you can view both on one site.


Date: August 10, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like the NMJ customer service because I work with one agent from start to finish. I have his direct number and if he is unavailable he calls me back at his earliest convenience.


Date: August 09, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
When I did the comparison when shopping for Home insurance NMJ was not the cheapest company but I get to have a single point of contact when filing a claim.


Date: August 09, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
It is easy to use and you can find the information you need quickly. You can see where to go to contact the correct departments as well.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The National General website is very simple and intuitive to use. It lists the individual policies I have with the company, and provides links to the policy details and ways to contact the company.


Date: August 06, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Interaction is typically always very nice and it is easy to contact them while also responsive to them to find the correct answers to my questions.


Date: August 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I like that they send me detailed information about my coverage every 6 months, including updates to their policies and any information that may be useful for me to have that I may not have had before regarding my current coverage and premium.


Date: August 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The interaction with National General has never been a problem. I receive billing notices with plenty of time to pay, with good options. I have never had any other interaction with the company.


Date: August 03, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
It's very easy to use and to navigate. Easy to read. I also have my auto insurance through them and it's easy to switch between the two.


Date: July 31, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is lower than other companies for the equivalent coverage. A couple of years ago, I requested quote from six insurance companies for what I was looking for, and National General was the lowest.


Date: July 31, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
My companies website is perfect for me. It's just a simple website with an option for online payments and policy changes.


Date: July 31, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like how claims are responded to in a timely manner. We had a claim a few months ago, and they had an adjuster out at our home within days. As soon as the claim was processed, it was paid within 2 weeks.


Date: July 30, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
They are easy to get in contact with and I've never had to wait on hold for a very long time when calling them.


Date: July 29, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I compared six other companies before I selected the National General. Their rates were the lowest and the agent I worked with provided the optimum coverage for what we needed.


Date: July 29, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied that our agent got us the best coverage for our money. he is constantly working to take care of our insurance needs


Date: July 29, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
I've been able to speak to a live person almost immediately each time I've called them with an issue. On the occasion that I couldn't, I got a call back within an hour.


Date: July 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I've been quoted much lower premiums from other companies such as my auto insurance firm but I've been hesitant to switch over due to my relationship with my agent.


Date: July 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
When I did the comparison when shopping for Home insurance National General was not the cheapest company but I get to have a single point of contact when filing a claim.