Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Nationwide Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Nationwide

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

11 Reviews

 

3 Star

24 Reviews

 

2 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

67 Reviews

 

4 Star

50 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

34 Reviews

 

2 Star

8 Reviews

 

5 Star

96 Reviews

 

4 Star

46 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

27 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

79 Reviews

 

4 Star

36 Reviews

 
Premium
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

12 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

16 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

65 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

81 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

118 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

7 Reviews

 

3 Star

31 Reviews

 

2 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

151 Reviews

 

4 Star

79 Reviews

 

Nationwide Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: September 09, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premiums from this company are the lowest that have been quoted to us. The coverage is far better than most companies. We are so satisfied with the quotes and coverage from this company.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our offering is comparable to offerings with different companies. I am overall satisfied with the policy and what it offers.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would give the Nationwide Customer Service team a 4. They have been very attentive when I call them, actively listening and making sure my needs are met.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Nationwide's rates are pretty much in line with other insurance companies I am familiar with.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am completely satisfied with the premium and deductible of my policy. Again, it's the same type of coverage that is offered through other companies, but at a very good price.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
customer care service of nationwide is a bit average,not that perfect,only tries to stay in touch with costumers when there is an issue to solve regarding premiums paid or case on the sum assured.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductibles on my Nationwide policy are good and very competitive. The only issue I have with my Nationwide home insurance policy is the premium is a little bit too high.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Offerings wise, I'd say decent. The packages and product services you get definitely will help you through the month, but the cost to package ratio isn't very good. Even cancelling some products does little to drop the price per month.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My company policy offerings are very competitive. I have not found anything significant that other companies offer that are not available through Nationwide home insurance. Very good.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
have had this insurance for about 6 months, i am waiting for a discount to come up on my next renewal. I give this company 3 because I had to download an app in order to get my discounts.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The plan I'm on which isn't even the lower level has an average monthly payment but has a deductible of 2500 so most of the times I wouldn't even be able to utilize their services and and that then they would raise my rates.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The insurance I have has deductibles closely matched to other companies. The deductibles I have are not the reason I switched to my current insurance.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service has been fantastic. I bought a home recently and they were so helpful in getting me the insurance I needed. It would take a lot to get me to switch to a different insurance company.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am fairly satisfied so far. Their customer service can take a while to get to you on the phone or over email, but they are thorough when they do reply. I also use them for car insurance, and they have been prompt taking care of claims.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I've had wonderful experiences with Nationwide any time I've dealt with them. Their customer service is always quick and reliable.Nationwide takes care of that for me so I've bundled all of my services!


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I had to change my insurance company about a year ago and Nationwide provided a much better value for my money. Better coverage at a cheaper rate.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Although I've been insured with the company for more than ten years, I've never interacted with its customer service and can't write a negative review.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My deductabl is on the 500 side. I wish I could afford the 250.00 deductabke


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I would rate my current companies customer service at a 5. I have had only good experiences with them.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the company has reasonable premium that can be managed by middle class family ,with less deductibles compared to the other insurance companies around.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Although I'm satisfied with my insurer, I do evaluate other providers before renewing my policy. For the past ten years, my insurer has proven to have the most appropriate police offerings for my needs.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Their premium is fairly high compared to other companies. I definitely pay more than I could be paying with another company. I think they are extremely responsive when you need them to be though.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not had any issues with Nationwide's customer service. They have been prompt in responding with anything that I have needed to ask them.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I use Nationwide as my insurance company for my home and I have been really pleased with their level of customer service. They can be reached any time of the day or night.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Their offerings of the homeowner policy is about the same as what any other company offers, but it was at a lower price than was offered from three other companies I received a quote.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
These are two areas that work well. They've had to be used twice now for small accidents, payout was good, service was fast - either cut a check for reimbursement or fixed at a quality collision shop. Person arriving was friendly.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Nationwide was able to cover all of my insurance needs pertaining to my home. They offered the coverages that met or beat my previous insurance and deductibles were better as well.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am completely satisfied with the amount of coverage I have for my home. When rates increase in my area because of weather and other factors, my coverage generally increases as well.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible is similar to other companies. After shopping rates, our premiums seem to be slightly higher than the going rate.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I honestly do not recall the premiums and deductibles off the top of my head. I do know they are very comparable.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium is satisfactory compared to other home insurance polices I've evaluated. I would prefer a lower deductible as most people do when discussing insurance, but the ratio to premium seems appropriate.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I believe Nationwide offers a variety of coverage compared to other insurance companies and at a good price.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Nationwide's customer service is mediocre in the grand scheme of things, but ultimately better than previous insurance companies I've dealt with.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Nationwide's offerings are pretty similar to other insurance companies I've dealt with.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductible policy is very easy. You have to spend a certain amount of money and then they pay for hte rst


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have only had them for a short time but I have called with some basic questions, not even to make a claim and the employees usually seem like they would be doing anything other than trying to help me.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
home insurance is threw nationwide and again had to download an spp to get discounted


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
i've had nationwide for years and they have always provided me with great service. Thankfully i havne't had to use them often, but i know they will always be there for me


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I think my deductible is average compared to other companies. I think it's a little bit high.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would give my homeowner's insurance company a customer service rating of 4. While I do feel that my premiums are too high, I can always get help answering my questions when I need it, and the staff is friendly.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think they have extremely competitive prices compared to other companies. That's the main reason we switched to the insurance we have now.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible on my policy are exactly where they need to be. In the event I have a small loss I am still covered to the point paying the deductible makes sense.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I've been using Nationwide for over 20 years and have never had an issue with them. I give them a 4.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am satisfied with my one- thousand-dollar deductible, but I feel like the premium is too high compared to other companies. Because of the nearly annual rate increases, I can only give a rating of 2.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My experience with Nationwide has been good. All contact has been over the phone and they are very responsive. They got me setup quickly and were able to answer all of my questions quickly.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think they offer the same coverage except for water damage. They do go above and beyond in that, offering structural water damage.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
When comparing pricing with other insurance companies off the bat Nationwide was able to offer me a cheaper price. This in conjunction with bundling discounts makes it a no brainer.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My husband and I looked many places while we were searching for our home insurance company. We found Nationwide to have the most complete package for the needs that we have to be sure our home is protected.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We've had to use the service a few times, service was good except sometimes you get a person who doesn't speak english exceptionally well. The wait time to recieve service could be better also.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We haven't had an opportunity to file a claim and haven't had to deal with customer service. Our only interaction with the company has been with the agency which has been satisfactory.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am satisfied with the service and the office staff is very nice. The only problem is that the prices are a little bit too high. Overall it is good.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I find the policies a bit favorable to my current financial situation,i like the policies because i can be able to fit in perfectly ,other insurance companies policies in proximity are bit hard to comply with.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am completey satisfied with nationwide. They have been very helpful to me.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They have lots of options for their policy offerings, and are happy to help you find the one that would be best suited for you and your needs. They have a policy for anyone in any housing situation.


Date: August 14, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It seems premiums are high and keep going up, but we have compared to other insurance companies, and the premiums and deductibles seem to be similar.




Date: August 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the deductions are made to suit the client and not forced on them so that the client can pay up at his or her conducive time




Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I love nationwide. They offer me rental and car insurance along with a discount because I used the save driver app they offer. I would rate them a 5 at this time because I have had nothing but good interactions with them.


Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have been happy with my home insurance customer service. There is an easy to use website, and I can also call, but I have not had to call them yet.


Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am a 5 and extremely satisfied with my insurance company i have no complaints. I have never had any issues that have come up in which i felt it was unfair.



Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I would rate the premium I pay on my home owners insurance a 3 because although I feel it covers everything that I need it to cover, sometimes I feel that the deductible is a little too high.


Date: August 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
When I called the representative worked with me to find my state minimums and then he talked about everything individually. He really took the time to make me understand each thing.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
A deductible or discount, either way they make it work. Good offerings and plans made for my choosing so nothing bad on either end.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am very pleased with Nationwide.I made a call to Nationwide and they were able to bundle by auto and home and ended up costing under what Progressive charged just for my home.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
After researching, my deductible is a little higher than other home insurance policies, but it also does have a bit more added coverage.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
the home owners insurance that I currently have is very satisfactory, I rate them a 4 because they are always available, the prices are reliable and convenient.



Date: August 10, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
We contact our insurance company often due to umbrella policy and home policy payments being switched to accounts. Personnel in office usually handle quickly.


Date: August 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am indifferent to this because my husband will pay for the home insurance so i have never had an issue with the price or the deductible.


Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had very little issue with Nationwide. Have only had to use their customer service once but the experience was pleasant.



Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Nationwide's premium was cheaper than any company I was able to find. I used numerous insurance sites that compared prices and was unable to find anything cheaper.


Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would rate the customer service a 3. They were not very helpful in directing us to the right person when trying to file a claim.


Date: August 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Overall im really satisfied with the company cause its a need for me. And really good rates to get from them.




Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
When I call with a question, it is hard to get good service. I do personally know the agent that owns that location and if i really need something, he takes care of it, so when I deal with him, I get good service.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I actually pay quite a bit less than I was paying with my other company and receive better quality service



Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Nationwide's customer service is better than other insurance companies I've dealt with because they usually answer calls fairly quickly and respond relatively quickly.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
At this time I believe our policy could be lowered to meet other companies rates. Our out of pockets seems a little high. Our premiums are manageable, easy to pay with monthly rates.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Nationwide's premiums are very similar to other companies I have dealt with. They may be slightly higher, but come with slightly more options. So all things considered I would say they are about average.


Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
they have been extremely wonderful and they have their clients interest at heart, though they might take some time too.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The policy is decent. Compares favorably to coverage that I had before. Does offer a few more options that I couldn't get before so definitely a solid reason to switch providers.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The agent himself is a friend of ours and when he gets involved, the service is great. However, the people that work there don't provide good service.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
very good to deal with and is easy to work with giving many options and rates to deal with . I like alot


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Very good care and many options that make ya a satisfied costumer . Good service and many good benefits to help you as a costumer


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I really believe there are better or less expensive insurance companies out there. However, we hate to change simply because we have great service. I have had other companies that are not attentive.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I haven't filed a current claim but my current policy seems sufficient. My replacement cost for the house is higher than the total purchase of my home by about 25% so it seems worthwhile.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I like how they have the combination deal. So, the more you services you use them for the bigger discount you will receive.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My deductible is high, as is my monthly payment. It's great! Love insurance don't you? The insurance company and its scams are amazing. Go insurance go!


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I did some price and policy coverage comparison when I moved to my new home and wanted to take out a policy. I was mainly concerned about potential damages since the home is old.


Date: July 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My home insurance company has been easy to work with and have things resolved so far. They've been helpful with issues I've raised but so far I haven't had a major claim.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I wish they were a bit less but I'm sure that's what everyone wishes. I do get the amount of coverage I would like at a lower cost then I used to so I can't complain too much on that end.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied with the policy, they even added some specific valuable items to the policy at no additional cost. That said I'm not super aware of other companies offerings.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I would rate my experiences with Nationwide Home Insurance a 4. I've never had a problem. They were easy to use in the home buying process and were helpful in many regards.