Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Nationwide Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Nationwide

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

11 Reviews

 

3 Star

24 Reviews

 

2 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

67 Reviews

 

4 Star

50 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

34 Reviews

 

2 Star

8 Reviews

 

5 Star

96 Reviews

 

4 Star

46 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

27 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

79 Reviews

 

4 Star

36 Reviews

 
Premium
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

12 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

16 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

77 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

88 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

130 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

7 Reviews

 

3 Star

37 Reviews

 

2 Star

7 Reviews

 

5 Star

173 Reviews

 

4 Star

87 Reviews

 

Nationwide Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My deductible of my insurance company is higher than that of the average insurance agency. This is because I choose to have a higher deductible in order to have a lower monthly payment.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Nationwide has been super easy to work with especially this past year when we had to file a claim for water damage in our basement. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for home insurance.



Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premiums are fairly reasonable at Nationwide. However, I believe the main reason is that we bundle all insurance needs with them.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Our premium is pretty low compared to others I know, and our deductible is pretty standard among home insurance policies so I am overall satisfied.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
So far the customer service has been pretty good, Only issue is getting through the phone menu. Once in the wait is short and the service is quick


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Their home insurance customer service is stellar. Any questions I've had have always been answered promptly.


Date: October 10, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience with Nationwide Insurance is limited and varied. After Hurricane Florence, I called and was told very curtly by customer service to call my hurricane insurance company.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I haven't had many experiences with their customer service but when i did they were very polite and courteous. They talked me through all of my questions thoroughly.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
They are actually extremely responsive and have always been able to help me solve any of the issues I am having. Any time I have to deal with them they are extremely wonderful to work with, its rather surprising.




Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The bundled premium Nationwide gave me was lower than with Progressive. Nationwide worked with me a lot more to get my premium to an affordable price.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My policy is a bit higher than others and lower than some. However, my agent is great, so if something does happen I know I can trust her and Nationwide to make things right.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our insurance company was relatively fair with the deductibles and premiums. The cost of the deductible was next to nothing compared to the cost of replacing all of our damaged electronics.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've been using Nationwide since i first bought my house and they have been great. Their deductibles aren't that much, and they've always been very helpful with what ever I've needed.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
There are a lot of branches around us and customer service is always friendly and helpful. Sometimes a long wait on the phone but usually helpful as well.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Nationwide has been fairly responsive and up-front relative to our insurance needs. We've only made 1 claim when we had hail damage to our roof but they took care of our situation fairly well.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible is reasonably priced. Nationwide offered better deals than many other companies I looked at before making my decision.


Date: October 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My experience with my home insurance company has been good. We have not had to file a claim yet, but their customer support and online interface make everything easy.


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The only downside is that we have a higher deductible than the other companies were offerering but overall I think we made the best decision.


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I reduced my premium by switching to this company although I think the premium is still more than what I get out of it since I do get piece of mind but at a price




Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have been satisfied with our insurance company.we used the same company for renters insurance and they were fast and fair when helping us when an electrical issue fired all of our electronics in our rental home.


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Price wise Nationwide was very similar to other companies I shopped when it came to premiums and deductibles. Although I have had some issues with claims in the past they were willing to work with me.


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've had nationwide since i first bought my house and they have been amazing for me. They've always been receptive to any my quetsions, and i feel they are worth the money.



Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Although I haven't had them long I would give Nationwide a 5. There customer service and communication during the sign up period was amazing. They were willing to work with me on how payments would be made.


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible for my home insurance could be a little bit lower than what it is right now, but my family does not need a very low deductiable as our home is fairly new. The premium is great and everything that we need.



Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
i feel like nationwide provided me with the perfect information in regards to my deductible and also my premium, im pretty much covered way more than if i was with another insurance



Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Nationwide has been good to me when it comes to customer service. I have a representative by the name of George who calls me every few months to check up on me and to see if my plan is to my liking.


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have a thousand dollar deductible and am satisfied with that as I had never had to use it.


Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I would rate this a 5 because I have never had to use it but the agents are always nice and knowledgeable.



Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I don't have information on comparative policies for the same coverage. I went with Nationwide because they were our insurance provider at our other home, and we were happy with their service.


Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have been happy with Nationwide insurance but think insurance companies in general are too expensive and are a scam.


Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've been using Nationwide since i first bought my house and they have been amazing. Their customer service has been been great and their deductible policy is very similar to every other insurance company.





Date: October 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Compared to other policies, we have a good premium and deductible that gives a peace of mind which is important to us over cost.


Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
my expirience with nationwide customer service has been amazing, i always get the help i need and i never struggle



Date: September 29, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
As far as I know our rates are very reasonable as well as our deductible. I believe that they are among the best in this area. We have kept the same company for 15 years and not had any complaints.


Date: September 09, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premiums from this company are the lowest that have been quoted to us. The coverage is far better than most companies. We are so satisfied with the quotes and coverage from this company.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our offering is comparable to offerings with different companies. I am overall satisfied with the policy and what it offers.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would give the Nationwide Customer Service team a 4. They have been very attentive when I call them, actively listening and making sure my needs are met.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Nationwide's rates are pretty much in line with other insurance companies I am familiar with.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am completely satisfied with the premium and deductible of my policy. Again, it's the same type of coverage that is offered through other companies, but at a very good price.


Date: September 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
customer care service of nationwide is a bit average,not that perfect,only tries to stay in touch with costumers when there is an issue to solve regarding premiums paid or case on the sum assured.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductibles on my Nationwide policy are good and very competitive. The only issue I have with my Nationwide home insurance policy is the premium is a little bit too high.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Offerings wise, I'd say decent. The packages and product services you get definitely will help you through the month, but the cost to package ratio isn't very good. Even cancelling some products does little to drop the price per month.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My company policy offerings are very competitive. I have not found anything significant that other companies offer that are not available through Nationwide home insurance. Very good.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
have had this insurance for about 6 months, i am waiting for a discount to come up on my next renewal. I give this company 3 because I had to download an app in order to get my discounts.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The plan I'm on which isn't even the lower level has an average monthly payment but has a deductible of 2500 so most of the times I wouldn't even be able to utilize their services and and that then they would raise my rates.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The insurance I have has deductibles closely matched to other companies. The deductibles I have are not the reason I switched to my current insurance.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service has been fantastic. I bought a home recently and they were so helpful in getting me the insurance I needed. It would take a lot to get me to switch to a different insurance company.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am fairly satisfied so far. Their customer service can take a while to get to you on the phone or over email, but they are thorough when they do reply. I also use them for car insurance, and they have been prompt taking care of claims.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I've had wonderful experiences with Nationwide any time I've dealt with them. Their customer service is always quick and reliable.Nationwide takes care of that for me so I've bundled all of my services!


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I had to change my insurance company about a year ago and Nationwide provided a much better value for my money. Better coverage at a cheaper rate.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Although I've been insured with the company for more than ten years, I've never interacted with its customer service and can't write a negative review.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My deductabl is on the 500 side. I wish I could afford the 250.00 deductabke


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I would rate my current companies customer service at a 5. I have had only good experiences with them.


Date: September 07, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the company has reasonable premium that can be managed by middle class family ,with less deductibles compared to the other insurance companies around.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Although I'm satisfied with my insurer, I do evaluate other providers before renewing my policy. For the past ten years, my insurer has proven to have the most appropriate police offerings for my needs.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Their premium is fairly high compared to other companies. I definitely pay more than I could be paying with another company. I think they are extremely responsive when you need them to be though.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not had any issues with Nationwide's customer service. They have been prompt in responding with anything that I have needed to ask them.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Their offerings of the homeowner policy is about the same as what any other company offers, but it was at a lower price than was offered from three other companies I received a quote.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
These are two areas that work well. They've had to be used twice now for small accidents, payout was good, service was fast - either cut a check for reimbursement or fixed at a quality collision shop. Person arriving was friendly.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Nationwide's offerings are pretty similar to other insurance companies I've dealt with.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible is similar to other companies. After shopping rates, our premiums seem to be slightly higher than the going rate.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Nationwide was able to cover all of my insurance needs pertaining to my home. They offered the coverages that met or beat my previous insurance and deductibles were better as well.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am completely satisfied with the amount of coverage I have for my home. When rates increase in my area because of weather and other factors, my coverage generally increases as well.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I honestly do not recall the premiums and deductibles off the top of my head. I do know they are very comparable.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium is satisfactory compared to other home insurance polices I've evaluated. I would prefer a lower deductible as most people do when discussing insurance, but the ratio to premium seems appropriate.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I believe Nationwide offers a variety of coverage compared to other insurance companies and at a good price.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Nationwide's customer service is mediocre in the grand scheme of things, but ultimately better than previous insurance companies I've dealt with.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I use Nationwide as my insurance company for my home and I have been really pleased with their level of customer service. They can be reached any time of the day or night.


Date: September 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductible policy is very easy. You have to spend a certain amount of money and then they pay for hte rst


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have only had them for a short time but I have called with some basic questions, not even to make a claim and the employees usually seem like they would be doing anything other than trying to help me.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
home insurance is threw nationwide and again had to download an spp to get discounted


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
i've had nationwide for years and they have always provided me with great service. Thankfully i havne't had to use them often, but i know they will always be there for me


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think they have extremely competitive prices compared to other companies. That's the main reason we switched to the insurance we have now.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I think my deductible is average compared to other companies. I think it's a little bit high.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would give my homeowner's insurance company a customer service rating of 4. While I do feel that my premiums are too high, I can always get help answering my questions when I need it, and the staff is friendly.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible on my policy are exactly where they need to be. In the event I have a small loss I am still covered to the point paying the deductible makes sense.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
When comparing pricing with other insurance companies off the bat Nationwide was able to offer me a cheaper price. This in conjunction with bundling discounts makes it a no brainer.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I've been using Nationwide for over 20 years and have never had an issue with them. I give them a 4.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am satisfied with my one- thousand-dollar deductible, but I feel like the premium is too high compared to other companies. Because of the nearly annual rate increases, I can only give a rating of 2.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My experience with Nationwide has been good. All contact has been over the phone and they are very responsive. They got me setup quickly and were able to answer all of my questions quickly.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think they offer the same coverage except for water damage. They do go above and beyond in that, offering structural water damage.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My husband and I looked many places while we were searching for our home insurance company. We found Nationwide to have the most complete package for the needs that we have to be sure our home is protected.


Date: September 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We've had to use the service a few times, service was good except sometimes you get a person who doesn't speak english exceptionally well. The wait time to recieve service could be better also.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We haven't had an opportunity to file a claim and haven't had to deal with customer service. Our only interaction with the company has been with the agency which has been satisfactory.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am satisfied with the service and the office staff is very nice. The only problem is that the prices are a little bit too high. Overall it is good.


Date: September 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I find the policies a bit favorable to my current financial situation,i like the policies because i can be able to fit in perfectly ,other insurance companies policies in proximity are bit hard to comply with.