Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Nationwide Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Nationwide

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

7 Reviews

 

3 Star

17 Reviews

 

2 Star

6 Reviews

 

5 Star

44 Reviews

 

4 Star

29 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

16 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

44 Reviews

 

4 Star

20 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

19 Reviews

 

2 Star

3 Reviews

 

5 Star

50 Reviews

 

4 Star

24 Reviews

 
Premium
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

4 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

7 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

26 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

33 Reviews

 
Nationwide Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

51 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

4 Reviews

 

3 Star

12 Reviews

 

2 Star

3 Reviews

 

5 Star

68 Reviews

 

4 Star

32 Reviews

 

Nationwide Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: December 24, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
It has been pleasant so far but I really have not had to use the customer service line really all that much. I've only called just to update the policy and they have always been pleasant.


Date: December 17, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
They interact with me in an appropriate and in an effective manner. They are always helpful and friendly when they are communicating with me


Date: December 14, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My policy covers all medical payments, Loss of use, Anything that gets lost or stolen. It is a very good policy.


Date: December 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Only my house and structures that are attached to my house are covered by my insurance. I don't have any other options do to my circumstances


Date: December 05, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I have never had a reason to use either. My policy is paid out of escrow and it automatically renews. I know that Nationwide's website is fairly easy to use because I have used it for automobile purposes.


Date: December 03, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Everyone I have interacted with has been kind and very helpful. I like that in a company. They make you feel like a valued customer.


Date: November 30, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
When I first downloaded the company's app, it had a lot of glitches and would freeze and stop working. But they have worked the bugs out and it works now.


Date: November 27, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I do not really know how they compare. I have only had a couple of homes, and never had to file a claim or anything.


Date: November 27, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
they are way more affordable and offer equal if not better coverage than other big name insurance providers


Date: November 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I feel my premium at the time of signing up is equal to other companies. But I wonder if thee change over time, and if I can currently get a better rate.


Date: November 27, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Nationwide's customer service is what Customer Service should be! No problems handling any questions I have or any claims I need filed. I never wait for more than a few minutes before someone is more than happy to great me on the phone. Happy people on the other end. And our agent is great!


Date: November 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I would rate it as 3 out of 5. When it comes to premiums and deductibles the pricing I have is very similar to other companies I asked for quotes from.


Date: November 27, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
3. The customer service is fine but that doesnt matter when everything that ACTUALLY happens isnt covered. I dont care how nicely you say no, I have yet to be glad or grateful that I have the home insurance.


Date: November 27, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
i a great deductible but they seems to not go down on it throughout the years.


Date: November 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My car was broken into and robbed, TWICE. But that is "auto" even though it was on my property. I installed security systems to assist with my safety and PREVENT incidents, again, no help. I honesty do not know if this would have been covered by other companys, because why would I check after the fact??


Date: November 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
It was the best price I received in conjunction with my auto service. It also is a well known brand that I knew I could count on in times of need.


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Overall they have a great customer service department. Very helpful with answering questions and very polite when they were addressing there customers. I rate them at a 5 for overall performance.


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the premium and deductible of my policy as compared to the other home insurance policies with other companies is a lot lower and this is why I love my insurance company.


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Nationwide seems to offer similar products to other insurance companies. I have found everything I need in terms of insuring my home.


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My premiuim is pretty cheap per year, it goes right into the cost of the mortgage payment i don't even see the payments really


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The customer service has been great this far. It has been extremely easy to get to discuss our policy with a human being rather than a machine. The agent gets back to us within the same day when we have questions about our policy.


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My customer service is really great. I get personalized attention for my needs.


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
With this company I have a very low deductible compared to other companies located near me. Making it more affordable to make a insurance claim if I needed to.


Date: November 25, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I've been very satisfied with the customer service at Nationwide, though I have not had to contact them frequently. They've always been helpful.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
4. Dealing with the sales person they answered all my qeustions about what would be covered in the event of a claim. This gave me confidence to pay the amount of money they requested. Do i think it was a good deal. No just an acceptable value.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am pleased with the policy offerings from my insurance. It fit into exactly what I was looking for o n my insurance pollicy.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I think what they offer is pretty standard. They also provide me with discounts as a result of my other insurance needs being taken care of by them.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience with home owners insurance is limited to compensation for wind damage from a storm and i would rate it the customer service a 5.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The premiums are much more affordable especially for home and car insurance than other companies I've gotten quotes from.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I was able to find the lowest primium insurance from the list of companys that had the coverage I was looking for.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I would rate my premiums and deductibles as a 5. I do not have any premiums or copays, so it makes it very easy to be able to get the medical treatment and prescriptions needed when necessary.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My experience with my home insurance company's customer service department has always been good because they make sure that they have answered every question before I get off of the phone.


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our policy offers replacement cost, and a fair value for other items such as personal property, other structures, etc. And a really good reasonable rate.


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think my deductable is 1000 dollars. This is the amount of money i can forgo without taking a massive hit to my savings. That is why i chose that as a deducable. The coverage is about 20k which is roughly the value of what i own.


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home owners insurance policy offerings in compared to other home owners insurance offering are average and there is no special coverage involved.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I HAD A CLAIM FOR DAMAGE BY ANOTHER INDIVIDUAL AND THEY KEPT GIVING ME THE RUN AROUND FOR A YEAR WITHOUT PAYING ME FOR MY CLAIM. i FILED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AND WITHING 1 WEEK I RECEIVED MY PAYMENT.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our deductible is $500, premium is escrowed through our bank. Really fair and reasonable rate for our area and the size of our home.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My interactions with my home insurance has been minimal. I've only called them 1 time to set up the policy but from that interactino I had no complaints so I would rate them as a 5


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I think the premium and deductible of my policy compares favorably to other home insurance policies. I have been satisfied with the premiums.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible seem to be reasonable to me. I have shopped around, but haven't found anything better or equal for a lower price, so I just stick to my current provider.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The offerings that our company offers seems so superior to other policy offerings. The previous company we switched from didn't have near the offerings that Nationwide offers its customers.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have had no interactions with my company and i think that is a good sign, cross my fingers i wont have to contact them for anything, i would give them a 4 out of 5


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I believe that if some super specific accident occurred, my company would cover me more than others. A lot of natural disaster related stuff isn't even covered, but I guess the MAIN stuff is covered well.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I would give a 3 out of 5 for options comparable with other companies. I found they provide more options than many but pricing wise it does not very too far off from other companies.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My insurance company, on the surface, offers mostly what other companies do, except I do wonder if there are cheaper alternatives.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
they offer multi policy so my rate can be cheaper for all my other insurances. They offer things of the event of theft, water backup, personal injury and other types of losses they most companies don't do.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Usually customer service is an extremely hard option to find now days where who I am talking with actually knows what they are talking about.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had a good experience with the home owner's insurance companies customer service. However, when I first started using them I was able to walk into the office and get personalized information. Now, the company has moved to online only. That is fine because I prefer to contact most businesses online, but Nationwide's website is not personalized, I do not feel all of the information pertains to me.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
i rate the coverage of the policy inadequate for any comprehensive insurance.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
my nationwide insurance cover loss or damage caused by covered risks like a fire or vandalism. Because my house roof came off during a storm, some of my shingles came off. They came and look at it and replace the whole roof. i only pay 500 out of my pocket.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I would say that the level of service is a solid 5. They have always been able to offer me personalized service no matter the questions I might have.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Our premium is a little higher than the past insurance provider, however that extra cost comes with additional benefits that were not available to us in the past.


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
the premium and the the deductible of my home owners insurance policy is generally the same as most other insurance companies


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They are more expensive but they are more trusted. They are a large brand which gives me confidence they know what they are doing.


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I would rate them as a 4. I haven't had to really contact them much recently, but when I purchased my home I had some interaction with them. They were pretty quick to address any concerns that I had.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The offerings that my insurance company in regards to my policy as compared to other insurance companies is a lot like the other insurance companies with the basic; dwelling, theft, fire, flood, medical, and etc.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
This company had a better choice of options to chose from with there policies then other companies located there me.


Date: November 12, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is set up ok if you can get logged. The problem is most of the information I need is never updated on my online account. Claim status is never updated, no information is provided or help for getting it.


Date: November 12, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The website is easy to use and is very well organized. Easy to contact someone online if I have any questions.


Date: November 12, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My policy covers the structure of my home, including the roof, floors, walls and built in appliances up to $323,500. It also covers the contents of my home, including furniture, appliances, food, electronics, and clothing up to $226,450. It also provides protection for injury and property damage when I'm legally responsible.


Date: November 12, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
There is communication. I had to file a claim and after over 20 calls to my claims adjuster I could still not get a return phone call or update. Talking anyone else was useless as no knew anything about my case and say my adjuster would call me. It took over a month to finally get a response.


Date: November 11, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I have had no issues, but this is partly because I have never contacted them for anything other than a quote and paying the bill.


Date: November 11, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have recently had some issues with lack of communication. This is in regards to a few different issues, all starting with them volunteering to reduce my premiums.


Date: November 10, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium seems to be about average for the coverage I have. I could probably shop around more, but I've been with them quite a while.


Date: November 10, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
What I like about my company's website is that the site moves really quick and I can find answers to most of my questions on the website itself.


Date: November 09, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think that the premium offered by this company is a bit more as compared to other companies. The benefits offered as compared to the premium are good.


Date: November 09, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service is the worst I have ever experienced with this kind of company. No one can give any information if you call their 1800 number. If you have a claim the agent will not return phone calls. The status will never be updated in their system and they will not communicate will you at all.


Date: November 08, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It's a condominium policy. It covers things inside my home. I also have earthquake insurance. It covers liability. It covers flooding and other basics.


Date: November 08, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The staff of this company is very much well-behaved and responsive to the needs of the policy holder. They handle their customers politely.


Date: November 08, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like the website overall, though sometimes it is hard to immediately pull up what is covered and the amounts on the policy. I'd like also to have more information about what the standard coverage is.


Date: November 08, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I love the customer service of the company, whenever I want help they welcome me with a big smile and kindness


Date: November 07, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The website of the company looks very much attractive with a good user interface. The navigation is fast and the web pages load quickly.


Date: November 07, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The different policy offerings covered by my home insurance company are Dwelling Protection, Personal Property Protection, Other Structures Protection and Liability Protection.


Date: November 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The cost is a little bit less than my previous coverage with another company. It is saving me about 10% every year.


Date: November 05, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They have always been responsive when I have called with questions. I've never had to make a claim, so I can't speak to that.


Date: November 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home insurance policy covers the most important needs thanks to the analysis carried out by the company's advisors.


Date: November 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The staff of this company is very much well-behaved and responsive to the needs of the policy holder. They handle their customers politely.


Date: November 04, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
No communication at all. I had to file a claim and could never get any help, My claims adjuster would never answer my calls or call me back. Probably left 20 voice mails with no communication.


Date: November 03, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
My few interactions with the company have been just fine. I have no complaints except maybe wishing for more advice for what's standard to my area and situation.


Date: November 03, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
What I like about the company's customer service is that they make sure that I understand everything that I have a question about. Their service is in the top tier.


Date: November 03, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Basic coverage of property. Inside coverage of vaulables up tp $100,000. Also added mechanical failure of appliance and Air conditioning.


Date: November 03, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
Hard to get longed. Gives wrong number to call for claims. Hard to get updates online about claims, Website is never updated.


Date: November 03, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Dwelling, furnishings, external buildings, medical for us, and for others. Mold and other biological things. I do not have flood or earthquake coverage.


Date: November 01, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My policy provides the most basic coverage. It covers damage caused by different events like, including fire, lightning, windstorms, hail and explosions. I also have earthquake and flood insurance.


Date: October 31, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
It used to be fine. I call or email, and they respond, within a day. Now I seem to be just another number to them. No real sense of urgency, to any of my questions or concerns.


Date: October 31, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The customer service is the worst I have had with any company. I had to file a claim and could never get a call back from any customer services member.


Date: October 29, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
As compared to other insurance companies of the same coverage, I would say that my premium is a lot lower for which I am really happy about.


Date: October 22, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Sometimes it is difficult to communicate with the company through the telephone number because you have to make two or three calls at times to communicate


Date: October 21, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is a little higher I think than other insurance companies, but they do offer more incentives and quick response to any issues.


Date: October 20, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My full house is covered for all types of damages including fire, flooding, and wind damage, there is a 900 dollar deductible.


Date: October 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Great communication I usually call rather go in person and they have always been great on the phone. They send out numerous emails and letters to keep me in informed as well.


Date: October 19, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
It seems to be more clicky than is necessary. I don't feel I should have to click 8 times to get to my policy, or other info about my policy.


Date: October 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Very simple and straight forward to use, easy to access on my phone and on my computer. I can do everything I need to do on the internet site they have set up.


Date: October 18, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I think they could be faster with thier service but other than that it is okay


Date: October 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium of my current insurance company compared to other insurance companies for the same coverage is definitely cheaper. I am saving a fortune with my current insurance company.


Date: October 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
This insurance company is one of the best here in OH. It offers a great coverage for a much better price than other insurance companies


Date: October 17, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
What I like about the communication with my current insurance company is that I can communicate with them either over the phone, web chat, or just by emailing.


Date: October 17, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Great customer service always have somebody to pick up the phone even in the middle of the night when bad things frequently can happen. Very friendly in person as well.


Date: October 17, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The site offers the necessary information to know about the different policies that can be offered for car insurance, life insurance and home insurance.


Date: October 15, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is 10% lower than what I paid with Progressive and before that State Farm. That is why I changed to them.