State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


State Farm Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
State Farm

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

49 Reviews

 

3 Star

310 Reviews

 

2 Star

79 Reviews

 

5 Star

563 Reviews

 

4 Star

413 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

18 Reviews

 

3 Star

239 Reviews

 

2 Star

34 Reviews

 

5 Star

929 Reviews

 

4 Star

561 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

19 Reviews

 

3 Star

174 Reviews

 

2 Star

46 Reviews

 

5 Star

805 Reviews

 

4 Star

331 Reviews

 
Premium
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

80 Reviews

 
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

115 Reviews

 
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

443 Reviews

 
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

757 Reviews

 
State Farm Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

990 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

38 Reviews

 

3 Star

250 Reviews

 

2 Star

50 Reviews

 

5 Star

1,462 Reviews

 

4 Star

554 Reviews

 

State Farm Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They've always been there for me. I've been with this company since I was 16 years of age. Never had a problem with them. They are always customer first and anything I need they are on it.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Ours is great. Again the price is very reasonable. We wouldn't change anything about them. Everything is always covered and there is always someone there to answer any questions we have.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have a higher deductible, but because I see no real threat to this insurance that I would use it very often if at all. I set my service up this way.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience has been great. There have been no issues. The price is great as well very affordable. I would rate them 5 for extremely satisfied with their customer service. They are always there when needed.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I give State Farm insurance a 5 out of 5. While I have not used State Farm's customer service often, on the rare occasion when I've had to contact them, all went as expected. No complaints with as expected!


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
we have not had any issues needing to make a claim. As far as our coverage and payment, they offered us the best deal for our coverage.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I do rate this question a 4. I am satisfied whith my home insurance but I have not really looked at other insurance carriers.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have renter's insurance from State Farm. I haven't had to us my insurance yet, and am hoping not to ever need it.Before deciding on this company I spoke with their customer service as well as reading reviews online.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I Rate State Farm at a 5. I say this because the price I pay is a reasonable price. If I need them for anything they're always there. I also go through State Farm for my auto insurance.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have been very happy with customer service. When I have called, Rachel helps me with what I need. Once I could not go online because I needed to change the password. She got me up and running within minutes.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
This deductible was quite good to me and I compared it to all of the other companies and this one was the best.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Giving a rate of 3 because i disagree with all deductibles. Why do we pay monthly if we have to pay at all out of pocket during an emergency.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State farm offers / covers damages like flooding and fire damages up to $50k and also theft, similar to other insurance companies withing the area.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible of my insurance policy was my choice and was comparable to other policies I checked, so I am satisfied.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
State Farm offers a good coverage on my home. Compared to other insurance companies they are the cheapest in my area. I rate them at a 5


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
When I did do comparison shopping last, State Farm had the second lowest cost out of everyone else locally, I didn't check offerings online or not in my area, because honestly I don't trust them.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The insurance company online site have their disclosing there new offers and decisions. Then we have suddenly forget their offers and rejections.It will make our new changes.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
State Farm's customer service goes well above themselves to help you with questions and answers you may need to know about your policy


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I honestly do not know how their rates compare because I didn't look around. I feel as if State Farm is giving me an amazing rate though.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
State Farm has ben wonderful. My rates are way lower with them than they were with my previous insurance company. This is why I switched last year.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I pay higher premiums but have the same low deductible that I've had for years. The only insurance company I've had other than my current provider charged lower rates with a higher deductible.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied with the insurance policy that I have. I do feel that if anything were to happen, I would be covered appropriately under my plan.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I honestly dont know how they compare with others because I didn't check other company's but I do get a discount on my car insurance.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I investigated other companies like Lemonade, Geico,Esurance, Progressive and some others for renter's insurance. Some offered bundles that were perfect for my needs but didn't get such great online reviews for customer service.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I give my insurance company a 5 as there customer service reps are always helpful and knowledgable about my policy. If I have any questions and they don't know the answer they will find the answer and cll me back in a timely manner.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the premium and deductible of your policy compared to the other home insurance policies for the greater coverage


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
State Farm is lead home insurance provider ,their customer services are to good and they holding good relationship with customer end .


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I feel since I have my insurance under my mother's, everything is cheaper for me. Since with insurances, the more you have on a policy, the better your monthly premium. I enjoy Statefarm's prices over any others.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They have a very personalized customer service experience.Every time I call they have a professional manner and make me feel valued.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have a had a really good experience with my home insurance company. However, when I inquired about motor coverage, they were unresponsive, leading me to find another carrier for auto coverage.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am very satisfied with the premium and deductible but I give this a 4 because it would always be awesome to be able to pay less monthly and to have a lower premium with the same insurance coverage.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had no problems with the customer service through state farm. In fact, they have been nothing but very helpful with my situations and very nice.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
i think that my insurance plan is pretty comparable to other homeowners insurance plans. i also think that it all depends on the size of your house and how much all of your assets are worth


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible of my policy is great when compared to other insurance policies for the same coverage. I did my research and State Farm has the best rates.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I had Farmer's before I had State Farm. The policy was similar. I just did not know the agent because the former one retired. I went with State Farm because my co-worker's husband was starting the business.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
State Farm home insurance company renders to me first class services any time any day. They are number one home insuance company in California


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I feel that State Farm was able to get me set up with a decently-priced insurance plan quickly and at a lower cost than the competition. They took the time to understand my house and what it needed.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had state farm insurance for 5 years. I have never had to use it, but I pay my premiums on time and the agent that I have is really nice and helpful if I do have any questions or concerns.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My deductible is reasonable, especially since the monthly premium is so low in comparison to other insurance coverage such as auto insurance. I did compare premiums and deductibles with other insurance providers.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
When I was comparing plans online State Farm was the cheaper option for both home and auto insurance.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
State Farm again seems pretty comparable to the other carriers. My deductible is the standard deductible that is offered by the other insurance companies.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have seen other companies on TV offer way better offers. I have also seen other companies on website advertisements offer better policies for less, though I do not know if they are telling the truth or not.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
We are completely satisfied with our coverage. Our agent calls every so often to make sure that we are up to date on coverage and if there are any new coverage that they think we should add on.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible of my policy is better than I've been able to get through other insurance companies for the price. Either the policy is more expensive or they're making me have a higher deductible.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My home insurance company customer service is absolutely perfect. It is working on 24x7.customer care anytime helping mentality.It have insurance apply in their sites.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
So far the experience has been A+. They are always a phone call away and willing to help. Local agent makes it easy and painless.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I feel like most policies offered are the same. This is not a big differentiator for me in choosing an insurance company. Customer service and price are much more important.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible on our insurance policy as an average rate across the board with others, but the discounts you get make the premium well below average.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I had excellent service had roof leaking they set up a appointment the next day got it repair the very next day.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They were pretty much the cheapest and the level of service seems to be on par, As they say you get what you pay for


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I pay less in premiums that most companies but I also have a higher deductible. I prefer this as I can use the money I've saved in premiums to pay for the deductible if I need to.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I would give them a 5. Anytime we have a question a live agent is always available and has knowledge they need to do their job.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have never had any problems contacting my State Farm office. There is a very kind gentleman that works there that always answers my questions promptly and satisfactorily.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
While I think that my insurance company offers a good value, I also believe that they have a high deductible.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
A deductible is the amount you pay for health care services each year before your health insurance begins to pay. ... The lower a plan's deductible, the higher the premium


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductible was fairly similar to other providers. However the premium was one of the most competitive.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They seem to make sure your happy if not they give back 100 dollar and you don't pay for that month.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My husband and I have had State Farm Insurance for 33 years now. We have had renter's insurance and automobile insurance with them. They are the most friendly and helpful customer service.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I like it so much because if it is a very good company with many fantastic ideas


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium is very reasonable and the deductible is about the same as most insurance company.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I believe their policy offerings are comparable to any other insurance firm. We have never looked for other policies because of all the bundle discounts we have at State Farm.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
State Farm has excellent customer service. Their office is local which gives me a good feeling talking to them, as I know they are in touch with everything I am.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I have never found complete home insurance for as cheap as I get it from state farm. I have everything included, fire, flood and sinkhole.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
state farm is a great company and they offer great coverage. we have a 1000 dollar deductible for all things that happen on the outside of our home and it covers all of our personal belongings up to 50,000 dollars.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
State Farm does a pretty good job. They have a clear understanding of what my lender was requiring and were able to offer me just enough coverage without trying to overload me with expensive stuff that I didn't need.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Compared to other companies this was the best option for me because it was a way cheaper rate. Also with having my auto insurance with this company it gave me more deductions.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I would like to see more rewards for being a long term customer. I have had a policy with them going on 15 years with little to no claim activirty. I think that should be rewarded


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Farm's policy offerings are more than I expected for the good of what I need for my home. Its better than any company


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I wold rate this question a 4. I really cannot compare my premium and deductible to other home insurance policies since I have not compared to other insurance companies. I really ought to.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have been with them for a few years now and have nothing but good things to say about their customer service. I have always felt that they really care about me and my business.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
This is our first home and I feel like our insurance covers our needs, but I have nothing else to compare it to. All I know is when I needed a roof repair they paid to have the entire roof replaced.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
State Farm has been helpful to me for the past 16 years and I have an agent that has always been available, helpful, honest and has always had a very communicative staff.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I would say if they were a bit more faster in their work it would've been the greatest company in the whole world but even now they are the best.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had state farm for car insurance so when we moved, I decided that they would probably be a great home insurance company and they are.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I think the offerings are pretty standard. We get to choose between different coverage levels and varying dollar amounts. I cannot complain about this.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductibles are low from what I understand but my wife managed all of that so I dont know all of the details exactly.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Other providers are not as easy to access and a lot of them have issues in their policy that make their process confusing, which is not good.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I do not even know what my deductible is. I am approaching retirement age and have been a saver all of my life. I will be able to retire comfortably as long as the economy does not bottom out.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am completely satisfied with my home insurance policy offerings. State Farm offers comprehensive policies and a wide range of services.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State farm product offering compared is equal to and in cases better than the competition. Also very good at explaining the policy in great detail.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I rarely need anything from customer support as they make everything easy to use but on the rare occasion I need a new card or something they have always gotten back to me within a day.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My insurance company's customer service is average from what you would expect. They have covered a claim in the past and it took a while to get it done.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My insurance company policies are many types of coverage.If we are select a short period then we have available a normal insurance rate.Then we have select a long period we have redaction in the premium rate.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
It's pretty high on both so don't except to get everything fix


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Other companies are trying to take over the companies that are working hard but that won't happen to my company, as they are working really hard.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
It is more expensive than comparable plans. That said, I am ok with this because a portion of the claims goes to pay the local rep who has been incredibly helpful.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have been fortunate enough to have little need for their customer service, but when I have needed some assistance, I have found them to be professional, speedy and accurate.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We recently had a leak in our kitchen sink that went undetected. Water ran through the wall and down to our finished basement. We noticed the problem when the carpet in the basement showed wetness.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Farm's offerings to me are excellent. Only thing they couldn't help me with was insurance for my boat. I had to get boat insurance through progressive.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I enjoy having insurance through state farm because I know that regardless I am always covered for a reasonable price.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think that my insurance offers many different options to suit everyone's different needs. I have only had one this home insurance so I really cannot compare them to other home insurance companies.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
State Farm is not the best policy Ive ever had but is somewhat better than Liberty Mutual. Liberty Mutual has terrible response time to any potential issues even if you consider the issue urgent.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have been with State Farm for nearly 20 years for both auto and home owners insurance. We have had multiple claims with them and all have been handled quickly and fairly.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I feel that they offer all the services I'm seeking or need at a reasonable price point. I'm happy with them.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I give it a 5, because they were the cheapeast i could find in my area. You are able to add and take away different coverages to make your bill more manageble for you.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My current insurance company is a little cheaper than most and it covers a little less. However, I like that I have the option to pay less if I want to.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
State Farm insurance company is more than just an insurance provider, they are our partners in all things home insurance, you get a fast insurance quote and reliable and affordable.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are the best when it comes to service because they are very kind and they wanna help you with anything you have to say to them.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My insurance company's customer service is 1. They are friendly and efficient. I have had zero problems or complaints with State Farm.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Customer service is ok and response time is ok. Accountability and them keeping up with paperwork is bad