The Hartford Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


The Hartford Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
The Hartford

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

12 Reviews

 

4 Star

6 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

3 Star

1 Review

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

30 Reviews

 

4 Star

8 Reviews

 
Communications

3 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

13 Reviews

 

4 Star

3 Reviews

 
Premium
The Hartford Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

7 Reviews

 
The Hartford Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

9 Reviews

 
The Hartford Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

26 Reviews

 
Customer Service

3 Star

3 Reviews

 

5 Star

34 Reviews

 

4 Star

7 Reviews

 

The Hartford Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: July 05, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
THE PREMIUM AND DEDUCTIBLE OF MY POLICY COMPARED TO OTHER HOME INSURANCE POLICIES MY COMPANY IS BEST,BECAUSE MY COMPANY PROVIDE THE PREMIUM OF MONTHLY OFFERS.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
THE EXPERIENCE WITH MY HOME INSURANCE COMPANY CUSTOMER SERVICE IS BEST BECAUSE THE WORKING STAFFS ARE SO FRIENDLY AND GENTLE.


Date: July 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have a wide range of offerings for my policy, and my insurance company has tailored them to my own special needs. I feel I can get the plan I need.


Date: July 03, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am not exactly sure of the price difference at this time as it has been a while since I have compared. I do know at the time I was searching out companies, I was happy with the pricing they gave me.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am not really sure what the difference is in the offerings of my insurance company and other insurance providers.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have been satisfied with my insurance companies customer service. I have had to talk with them a few times about my homeowners insurance and the people I have spoken to have been helpful and knowledgeable.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
COMPARED TO OTHER INSURANCE PROVIDERS MY HOME INSURANCE COMPANY IS BEST BECAUSE MY COMPANY PROVIDE MANY POLICY THAT WAS STATISFIED TO THE CUSTOMERS.


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am able to choose the premium that I want. I can change the premium if I choose to. It is customized to me


Date: July 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have a "5" feeling about my home insurance customer service. When I call them I never have to wait. They pull up my information immediately. They are always extremely knowledgeable and helpful.


Date: May 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
This insurance company has been fantastic .We have had to replace our roof twice due to hail and the claims process is fast and easy .The local agents are knowledgeable and friendly.



Date: May 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Premium
The premium and deductible were both the best deals I could find when comparing against other insurance companies. I felt that they would serve my needs best.


Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I would rate them as a 4 because they are reasonably priced, easy to get in contact with, and work with me if I need it. I have not felt the need to look for any other company.


Date: May 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
We chose to go with a higher monthly premium in order to have this company for our house and the rentals we own due to reviews and ratings of the company


Date: April 18, 2019    Age: >60 years    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
Sometimes it can take a bit to find what I am looking for. Then getting the correct information on the policy can be troubling. Also, links they send me do not correctly get me to the right spot.


Date: April 07, 2019    Age: >60 years    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
For the amount of risk that my property would have, I do believe that the premium is higher than it should be. Fire loss is an uncommon loss. I have never had a loss. Other carriers are more tho.


Date: April 04, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The insurance i purchase through aarp has the best rate and lowest deductible their hurricane coverage exceeds their competers


Date: April 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible of your policy compared to the other home insurance policies for the same coverage.BECAUSE IN THIS PROVIDE MANY OFFERS.


Date: April 03, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I lov this company for my home insurance and the rate i receive through aarp is unbeatable they are defiantly a 5


Date: April 03, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
the Hartford through aarp has the lowest premium and deductible ive found for Florida There Hurricane insurance has the best coverage in the state


Date: April 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the premium and deductible of your policy compared to the other home insurance policies for the same coverage.


Date: April 02, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The basic job of a homeowners policy is to protect your home and possessions ... Personal property is only protected against the same perils covered by a HO-2 policy.


Date: April 02, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
There are various home insurance providers in India that offer different plans as ... be compared while choosing one home insurance company over other:.


Date: April 01, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
When you experience a loss covered by your HomeOwner's Insurance, your primary obligation is to notify your insurance company of the loss, prove your loss and make your damaged


Date: April 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
MY home insurance company policy offerings compared to other insurance providers.


Date: April 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Covers for injuries and material damages of third parties, both at home and at home, in this case, instead, in a place, in an accident, in which we participate family members or even pets.


Date: March 31, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the premium and deductible of your policy compared to the other home insurance policies for the same coverage. staff work perfect with us


Date: March 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
i have five years experience from this company i have improve my knowledge


Date: March 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
MY HOME INSURANCE COMPANY POLICY COMPARED TO OTHER INSURANCE PROVIDERS MY COMPANY IS BEST BECAUSE IN THIS COMPANY STAFFS ARE WORKING WITH CUSTOMERS IS FRIENDLY.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
MY EXPERIENCE WITH HOME INSURANCE COMPANY IS BEST BECAUSE IN THIS COMPANY STAFFS ARE VERY FRIENDLY TO DO THEIR JOBS.


Date: March 28, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the deductible premiums of this policy are very competitive in the market like other


Date: March 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
MY EXPERIENCE WITH HOME INSURANCE COMPANY IS VERY BEST BECAUSE ON THAT COMPANY THE STAFFS ARE VERY GENTLE TO DO THEIR JOBS.


Date: March 27, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
this insurance company I would give you 5 points since you have been very responsible


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have had excellent experiences with my home insurance company. I also use them for my auto insurance. They are very easy to deal with and make any claim as painless as possible.


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
It protects both the structures of the house, such as foundations, walls, stairs, etc.Options available to hire a replacement cost.


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My home insurance offers several different policies and like I mentioned before, I also carry auto insurance with them.


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The experience with the policy is good, reliable, safe and responsible when it comes to solving problems


Date: March 12, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
the offers are constant since in the market new methods and more innovative ways are being penetrated at the time of providing a service


Date: March 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The Hartford Insurance company has consistently offered me the lowest premiums out of any other insurance company I have received quotes from.


Date: March 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
It offers different offers and very good services to the customer such as great customer safety.


Date: March 11, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
When I contact The Hartford I always get connected to their claims department or customer service. I feel that they answer any of my questions in a complete and timely manor.


Date: March 10, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think it is one of the best insurance policies that exists and I think it may be the best compared to other services we can get.


Date: March 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
with this company I feel very safe since I have a lot of benefit in which I agree


Date: March 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
It is a very good company because it always manages to understand every one of my problems at all times and it always helps me.


Date: March 08, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have found the premium for my insurance to be lower than other comparable insurance.They took time to explain the different deductibles available.


Date: March 06, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I love the Hartford Insurance because they are part of the AARP program. They offer my payments to be included in my mortgage.


Date: February 20, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I think all premiums are too high. I had to raise my deductible in order to lower my premium when I was experiencing some financial difficulties. I am going to research other companies, to find lower ins.


Date: February 20, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They have offered me earthquake insurance, which was hard to get at the time I signed with then. they also offer lower payments having home and auto coverage


Date: February 20, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have been very pleased with the customer service. They have helped me in ways to lower my premium, and also been very timely and diligent in my pursuit of a claim.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
It was a fast and good experience. I didn't feel like I really needed renters insurance but was forced to buy it to renew my lease which is a bunch of hoopla.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I really do not recall what it covers and does not cover. I think flood was in there somewhere. Not sure really. I do not remember who I had it with last.


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
premium and deductible is good compare to other insurance i try out up to so far so i then it is fair deductible


Date: February 05, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
satisfied with home insurance policy offerings, and i enjoy work with them and they is there when i need them


Date: February 04, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I will give it a four and i will recommence to other to try i no they will like it and will agree with me.


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I do not own the home but my sister does and what she has told me about her home insurance company has been an overall positive experience. She has kept it for a very long time and she would have changed it, if she was not pleased with it. I would say 5 on the scale from what I have gathered in our talks.


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am not sure what other insurances offer because I have had this insurance for 8 years. I have not seen any commercials on tv that talk about it either.


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
She has had to change insurances a few times. She has kept this insurance company for quite some time and would have had no problem changing it as she has done in the past with past bad experiences with other insurances out there.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
This question, too is hard because I have never seen a premium and coverage rate advertised for home insurance. I am happy with my monthly premium.. I was able to select whatever deductible I wanted.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I like my insurance because it is tied to my car insurance. Payments are taken out automatically. They have exceptional phone customer service. R


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am not a home owner and my sister and I have never talked in depth about the premiums and deductibles on her policy. I would go further a bit but it is not my place and that is all I will say about the building.


Date: December 27, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I've had Hartford insurance for many years and have had above satisfactory assistance from customer service with any questions I've had or any changes I needed to make to my policy.


Date: December 23, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The policy has a wide range of options to choose from that fit my needs and fit my budget as well.


Date: December 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Etsa company of suros is very good since it has all its services very well organized and the customer service is very good


Date: December 22, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My premium payments and deductible can easily be paid online or by credit card. Some coverage may be a bit higher than other companies howeve I feel Hartford is more trustworthy.


Date: December 14, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
good I think it's very good because it provides a very reliable security at the time of handling and it is very easy to download


Date: December 01, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
They sometimes send mildly confusing emails. These lead me to links that are not specific to the area of concern. Their reps are great on the phone tho.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
finds different ideas of coverage. ie: didn't cover down fence, said due to age on friend's policy was covered because of storm


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I checked a variety of insurance policies before deciding to change. I had been a long time customer with a national chain with a local office and was not satisfied with the length of time to hear back from this agent.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We do not have a direct agent with this company but it typically is not difficult to obtain what different documentations that are required for us to obtain.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We recently decreased the home insurance deductible so that we would pay less if we had damage to our home. We were greatly surprised at only a slight increase in our rates.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
There are probably lower cost providers like e insurance or Progressive. Premiums and deductibles are probably higher than average if not average for the insurance company.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Compared to Allstate, my previous insurance company, the Hartford's deductible was lower and offered more property and liability coverage for almost 50% less.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They are a full service insurance company and they are nationally known. They offer probably everything all the other providers do. The only difference probably would be the pricing and service quality.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
very easy to deal with and answers questions promptly rated a


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience with customer service. The wait is not too long (under 5 minutes when I called) and they were able to solve my problem.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium that I pay is so much cheaper than the other quotes I have got. The deductible is 100.00 on my insurance. The others want me to have a 500.00 dollar deductible.


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They have a wide range of offerings for me. In case I decide to go ahead and but a home entertainment center, they'll be able to add it to my policy immediately at a reasonable price.


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am very satisfied with Hartford. When you call them they are there for you. They work with you the best way they can. They are like family.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The Hartford has been my insurer for over two years. I've never had claim, but whenever I've had questions that I could not find the answer to on their website, customer care has taken care of me. They've always been polite and professional.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My insurance is better than the others because I have don't price quotes and mine is cheapest. They offer faster reimburse ment if something happens.


Date: November 09, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Interaction is fairly constant I like that they keep me informed of all the plans and services that are in the company and in this way maintain the best possible plan


Date: November 07, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
Good customer service, I do not have a single complaint about that company


Date: November 07, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
in comparison with other companies the insurance premium of this is very accessible for anyone with an annual salary of a salaried employee of this great confidence in this company


Date: November 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
The customer service is quite nice they treat all the people with kindness and they always have very good presence certainly this is very important for the company


Date: November 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The comparison of this insurance with another is that this insurance makes me feel more confident at the time of passing an incident


Date: November 02, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
This insurance covers a significant amount of the totality of my house. Almost all the furniture and an endless array of valuables found inside my home


Date: November 02, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
For the most part I like how simple the page is, I can find all the plans and services that I need for my day to day and in this way to have the best possible service for my home.


Date: November 01, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
customer service is an alternative to not being able to access the website I like it because we always have your support


Date: October 31, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like the website because it is practical and easy to learn is a great alternative when having a question


Date: October 30, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
the housing policy covers the whole house, in case there is a fire or a theft also covers the car as long as it is inside the house


Date: October 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I have not had to deal with interaction or communication since i had the policy so i cannot comment on how well their service would be. Ive heard they are very responsive


Date: October 25, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The coverage i have includes replacement coverage, fore, theft, vandalism as well as medical coverage and liability coverage


Date: October 25, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have not had to deal with customer service since i had the policy soo i cannot comment on how well their service would be. Ive heard they are very responsive


Date: October 24, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The rates could be a bit more competitive but overall comparing with other providers the coverage is adequate for our personal situation


Date: October 23, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
for the coverage i explained above i would say the premiums are bit a higher than some of the other quotes received with comparable coverage


Date: October 05, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Employees of the insurance company provide good care and clarify all kinds of questions


Date: October 04, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
This is mainly for fire coverage. There is also coverage if anyone is hurt on my property, which is important to me.


Date: October 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium to pay for this insurance is very comfortable since it provides me with several payment installments and this makes me have the best insurance package and thus keep my house safe


Date: September 29, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I don't see many reasons to be upset with the companies website. I do wish, however, that it was a little more user-friendly. It is slightly hard to navigate.


Date: September 24, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
The communication is just fine. No issues. Paperwork is always timely and up to date. Great customer service always.