Travelers Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


Travelers Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
Travelers

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

6 Reviews

 

3 Star

21 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

43 Reviews

 

4 Star

30 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

1 Star

1 Review

 

3 Star

8 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

52 Reviews

 

4 Star

34 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

11 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

64 Reviews

 

4 Star

20 Reviews

 
Premium
Travelers Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

3 Reviews

 
Travelers Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

8 Reviews

 
Travelers Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

23 Reviews

 
Travelers Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

33 Reviews

 
Travelers Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

53 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

14 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

76 Reviews

 

4 Star

22 Reviews

 

Travelers Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: January 04, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I have not looked at comparisons yet as I purchased this under time pressure from my existing rental insurance company. I plan to do so this month. I hope to find a cheaper insurance policy.


Date: January 02, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The companies app was a little difficult to navigate because of troubles I had logging into the website initially. Once I was logged in to the website It was easy to get around and find all of the information I needed about my policy


Date: December 29, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Dwelling, Other structures, personal property, Guest Medical, Family Liability, Workers Comp (occasional), Additional living expenses, Water Backup


Date: December 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
We have all of our property and jewelry covered in our home policy offerings. We also have coverage for loss of use so that we could stay at a rental property.


Date: December 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
the company website doesn't say where to download the insurance card as I have both auto and home insurance included. It was so confusing to see where the website takes me. Even the mobile app does the same as the website. Overall I was not satisfied with these two.


Date: December 20, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
If I have questions customer service is open most of the day. Its also nice to know I can call a claim in anytime


Date: December 19, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
No problems so far. everyone is polite and knowledgeable. We have our own rep, she's great.


Date: December 18, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website is very easy to use and displays both my home and auto policies in one place so I can easily see premiums owed and pay if necessary. The only thing I would prefer they make available is for me to be able to modify and request new quotes. Claims are easy to request from the webpage.


Date: December 13, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I wish they would send a paper copy of my auto insurance, but as far as home insurance goes the communication is minimal and down to the necessary, which I like because it makes me feel that they are not wasting my money on useless communication. I can get most of what I need off the app anyways.


Date: December 02, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
As I said, they are excellent on the phone. I do wish there was an easier way to send an email for questions, or maybe an online chat. That said hold times on the phone are usually very short.


Date: December 01, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
The website has all my policy documents so I do not need to have paper copies that I can find. The payment can be made and it is easy to see the proving and coverage history.


Date: November 29, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
all belongings are covered at full replacement cost; the dwelling is fully insured to replace/rebuild if necessary


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am very happy with the premium. It is actually $400 less than the last insurance company I had (Metlife). That premium was going to go up to $1,550 before I replaced it.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Both the premium and deductible are fair and comparable with other insurance company policies that offered the same coverage. They also offer a number of incentives and perks that have increased over the years we have been with them, which in turn has lowered the premium.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I actually haven't dealt with my home insurance company's customer service yet at all - I haven't had any claims - I've only made annual payments on their website.


Date: November 24, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think they are about the same as most every other insurance company. The only problem we've ever had is that one time, for some reason, they had our house quoted at double the square footage and we paid a much higher premium for a few years until we realized it.


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer to give me replacement cost on my personal property. This means I can get a new tv for example if my old one is damaged from claim


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer coverage in case water gets in my basement and damages my house. This coverage protects me from the sewer or sump pump


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our home is covered as well as the contents. We have coverage for any accidents that may happen on our property and we also have coverage in case we need to stay in another location while repairs are being made.


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I dont think there is much specialty that my insurance company provides. its just because of rate i am with them, when i took the quotation i came out the lowest.


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are always very friendly when I call to ask questions. Im satisfied when I have to call for billing questions


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They have great customer service. They are always there to answer my questions. They have 24 hour service


Date: November 23, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My home insurance premium is well below the offers I received from other carriers. The deductible makes it prohibitive to have repairs done for things which should be fully covered by home insurance.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think they provide the same services most every one else does honestly. But their prices are good and we get a discount because our cars are with Geico as well.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had to file two claims since living in my home. The customer service from the claims representatives has been wonderful. They were always kind and listened to me when I was upset that something had happened to my home. The adjustors have been very difficult to work with. Once they had been to my home to review the damage they were very hard to get in touch with and did not return calls or emails in a timely manner. It was very frustrating to work with them.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy offerings were on par with the available comparisons. The costs were equal to or lower than other companies which also quoted. Perks and incentives are available and when qualified for have lowered premiums.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
4. I am very satisfied with my home insurance companies customer service. They are very helpful, friendly, and you do not have to wait long to have your needs or questions addressed.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Premium of my insurance company is fair. its not that high. whenever i take a quotation it always show the lowest quote.i think thats the only advantage it has over other competitors.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They literally have the exact same offerings as every other insurance company. Travelers is an underwriting company mostly so that's what they do.


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I guess i am not exactly sure what they all cover, i signed up when i first purchased my house, my realtor and my mortgage broker helped me get set up


Date: November 22, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
All of our interaction with our insurance company's customer service has been excellent. They have returned phone calls quickly, were informed and able to communicate that information clearly and were able to provide helpful alternatives when needed.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am generally satisfied with the policy offering. They are on par with other companies in terms of both coverage and cost. The options are adequate.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We've only had to file one claim and it was on our roof after a storm. It went really smooth and the work was done very quickly.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I pay half of what my friends and family pay. I have similar house and my premium is much less than theirs for the same coverage


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
My insurance broker suggested Travelers to me, because she searched for the best coverage and lowest premiums, from an 'established' company like Travelers, and so I went with them.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home insurance provider offers similar, if not better, coverage than all the other insurance providers in the home insurance segment.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I would say that the offerings by Nelson brothers is comparable to other companies. There is nothing special here nor complicated. My home is insured using simple policies.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The only experience I have had with our home insurance company was when I needed to have them list a mortagae company on our insurance. My overall experience was a 5. They did this quickly for me and was very nice on the phone.


Date: November 21, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium and deductible are a little higher than larger national companies. This is the price that is paid for supporting a local and organic company. I also feel safer as a result of paying a little more than I otherwise would.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
They expect a lot and provide little.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am really a fan of the customer service of Travelers. At any time I can pick up a phone and talk to a person who lives in my town. It makes me feel confident and comfortable.


Date: November 20, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I pay a lot less than my friends and family. My premium is almost half of what they pay


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
my overall experience with them is fair. i have been with them for last 3 years and so far i had no issues or complain. i did not claim anything.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We pay the a cheaper policy amount compared to other insurance companies out there. We currently have them for both home and car.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Travelers was the lowest premiums, for the best coverage I could find, and I always go with high deductibles to lower my premiums as much as possible.


Date: November 19, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They are very friendly every time I call. The reps are friendly and they answer my questions.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My insurance company has been responsive and helpful with any and all my home insurance related needs to date. Every interaction has been pleasant.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My insurance company has a higher deductible than my previous insurance company. We have the lowest deductible they offer and it is still high. The policy offering is what I need to have my home and contents insured but I would like a lower deductible.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Our premium is reasonable for our company. We looked at three different companies at the time and they were all very similar. We have not had to use our deductible.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I have never visited the website. My insurance company is selected by my local agent.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Travelers is much much cheaper than other companies. Geico tried to charge me 700 a year more per year for the same coverage.


Date: November 18, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The house, the foundation, the structure, all my belongings, my fences, my garage, playground, medical payments, personal injury, loss of life.


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer water back up coverage on my house. If the sewer overflows and causes damage they would cover


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is fair for the quality of coverage included in the policy.


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible are on par with a lot of other companies. They offer a bunch of varieties.


Date: November 17, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I pay only $400 a year. My neighbors pay much more than that and they have the same type of house as me


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My previous home insurance company offered a low deductible policy. The company I am currently with does not have that option and the lowest deductible you can get is $1500.00. The premium is also comparable to what I was paying previously for a lower deductible policy with another insurance company.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy offerings are comparable with other insurance companies. They offer the full gambit of life, health, car and house insurance.


Date: November 16, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I give Travelers a 5. They are great and their employees are great. Everyone is very helpful and friendly. They definitely get a 5.


Date: November 12, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The premium is what I pay. Maybe other companies offer other amounts. I don't know about them because I have not compared rates by other companies. Some probably charge more. Some probably charge less.


Date: November 11, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I had my agent/broker search different companies, to find the one that had the most reasonable premiums, but was still a well-established company, and Travelers is what they came up with.


Date: November 11, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
it offerings many profitable things to built my home.it is useful for many other.


Date: November 10, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have tried to obtain multiple quotes but other offerings are charging me an additional $400. The other companies are more expensive than my current coverage.


Date: November 10, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The website is ok however when I have a claim they do not put the ending amount of how much the claim was or how much they paid. They just put the date and claim number. I would think they should detail the claim. I have not used their mobile app.


Date: November 10, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Responses are quick and accurate. Billing is accurate and timely as are any refunds due. I appreciate that.


Date: November 10, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not had to use their customer service so I have no idea how good their customer service is or isn't. It might be good. It might be bad.


Date: November 09, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I've never dealt with Travelers' customer service - I deal with my agent/broker directly, they get the rates from the insurance company, so I can't say anything about Travelers customer service, because I've not had to do any claims yet.


Date: November 09, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
Electrical, plumbing, Wind, Hail, and Hurricane. All perils deductible is $1000.00


Date: November 09, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
Updates on expanded coverage and or how to lower deductibles


Date: November 09, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Always follows through and contacts me with updates without me trying to track my representative down.


Date: November 08, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We have an agent that is always looking for a better deal for us while keeping the coverage we need so I think that is a great benefit.


Date: November 08, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home policy offerings include coverage for dwelling along with other structures, personal property, loss of use, personal liability, medical payments, additional replacement costs, contents replacement


Date: November 08, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
THEY GUIDE US IN VERY GOOD MANNER INTERACT WITH US IN GOOD AND CONVENIENT TO US


Date: November 08, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I like that my insurance company is always available to help with any situations that may arise. They are easy to get in touch with and really seem to care about helping.


Date: November 07, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I like Traveler's website, which I only visit annually to make my annual premium payment - it's user-friendly and easily navigatable.


Date: November 07, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
VERY GOOD AND USER FRIENDLY THANKFUL FOR THE PROVIDER THEY EXPLAIN THE POLICY VERY CLEARLY SO IT IS VERY HELPFUL TO US


Date: November 07, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
IT IS VERY USEFUL TO OUR FAMILY THIS POLICY IS HELP TO MY HOME IT KEEPS SAFE AND THE PROVIDER VERY USER FRIENDLY


Date: November 06, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
WHEN U COMPARED WITH OTHER IT VERY BENEFICIAL TO CUSTOMER


Date: November 06, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
THE COMPANY WEBSITE IS VERY EASY TO INTERACT AND COMMUNICATE , I VISIT THE BLOG IT IS AMAZING JOB U HAVE DONE


Date: November 06, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I have all the normal coverages in my home insurance through Travelers, with average deductibles.


Date: November 06, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Quick response and able to retrieve account number by my phone number


Date: November 05, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
There premium is consistently lower than other companies. Im paying about 300 less than the cheapest company out there


Date: November 04, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Im only paying 400 a month for my house. This is a very good premium for a 250,000 house value. I also have a low deductible


Date: November 02, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I don't understand what you are asking. Try using grammar-check. Are you perhaps asking which items are covered by my policy? That would be flood, fire, theft, etc....


Date: November 02, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
Communication could be better. I haven't heard from them since I signed up months ago. I opted for the paperless, but still no email or anything.


Date: November 01, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I like that I can get to my policies on the website and update any changes. I do think it could be made easier to navigate the site. I really don't go on the website or app for my insurance company very often. I still receive information through postal mail with regards to insurance.


Date: October 31, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
The customer service of the company is very much good. The staff is very much co-operative and responsive to customer complaints.


Date: October 30, 2018    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
$1000 deductible. Does not cover flood insurance. Covers acts of god and normal things basic home owner insurance covers, it is very reasonably priced.


Date: October 30, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Communication
I get letters. I get emails. They communicate with proper grammar and spelling. I can understand what they are trying to communicate.


Date: October 30, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
At the time I signed up for it months ago this year, it was the cheapest premium I could get for my house coverage and the belongings.


Date: October 29, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Compared to other insurance companys they gave me a cheaper price overall that is why i choose to go with my current insurance instead of the other ones in my area.


Date: October 28, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium offered by this company is very much less as compared to other insurance companies in the market. It offers a good variety of services.


Date: October 28, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
The mobile app was easy to download, and I have had no errors or problems with the Travelers phone app.


Date: October 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
I use the mobile app of this company and the app is very much interactive and easy to use. The app also has a very good user interface.


Date: October 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They cover claims from storms and weather. I also have coverage for my wife's ring in case its stolen or lost. My house is covered for theft as well


Date: October 26, 2018    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I gave it a five because it was the best price at the time that I signed up, so I went ahead and signed up for it.


Date: October 26, 2018    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
With Travelers I have a basic comprehensive protection package, at a good price. I don't have expensive valuables, so it was a great deal for me.


Date: October 25, 2018    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Honestly I have not compared premiums lately. When we first purchased the insurance they were among the lowest but we have not looked into saving money on our homeowners recently. I guess it might be a good idea to check into it now.


Date: October 25, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
Customer service is pretty good. I really wish it was easier to reach someone by email. I would rather have an email documenting everything but typically response time is 24-48 hours. Immediate help is only available on the phone.


Date: October 25, 2018    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
Anytime I call they answer all my questions. They are friendly on the phone. They provide great service