USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


USAA Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
USAA

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

29 Reviews

 

2 Star

6 Reviews

 

5 Star

233 Reviews

 

4 Star

100 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

3 Star

32 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

383 Reviews

 

4 Star

117 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

31 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

270 Reviews

 

4 Star

59 Reviews

 
Premium
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

3 Reviews

 
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

21 Reviews

 
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

84 Reviews

 
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

183 Reviews

 
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

399 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

33 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

538 Reviews

 

4 Star

102 Reviews

 

USAA Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: October 14, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not had the need to contact the company once for customer service in the 15 years in my present home. I also had renter's insurance with USAA in between residences.


Date: October 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The deductibles we pay at USAA are at the same cost or lower to other insurance companies we looked into.



Date: October 11, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I'm very satisfied with the coverage and the premium on my homeowners policy. I confess that I never even shopped around for policies with other companies because of my long history with the company for car and renter's insurance.


Date: October 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I'm satisfied with the home insurance policy with USAA because the rate is affordable and extras are free. I can rest knowing that my home is covered for anything that could happen to it.


Date: October 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I am extremely satisfied with USAA home insurance and rate them a 5. We use USAA for home and car insurance. Their customer service is wonderful




Date: October 06, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
While the premium is expensive, it is actually less expensive than the other companies that I got quotes from when I was shopping. The deductible is exactly on track with everyone elses.


Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
i like it so much and i like the facilities in the usaa home insurance company


Date: October 04, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Other home insurance policies from other companies make it very difficult to get the right amount of coverage for the amount of deductible I have to pay with my the different options and low deductibles


Date: September 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I'm pretty satisfied. They offer multiple deductible options for customer.They also offer multiple policy solutions that of which will allow people to cover any gaps in coverage that may exist.


Date: September 25, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Farmers is an average insurance company for homeowners policies, but its many discounts make it a good option if you want the lowest premium possible.


Date: September 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Ok premiums fairly high deductible but there are lots of options to pick and choose premiums and deductibles so you can find a good mix.


Date: September 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer better rates across the board. Other agents have approached us and after we tell them we have USAA they back down and admit they cant touch their rates.


Date: September 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
USAA has been absolutely wonderful. They are consistantly rated as either the number one or number two insurance provider in the country every year, by Consumer Reports.


Date: September 25, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
USAA allows us to select a range of options that work well for us and that fit our home insurance needs. We like the additional riders we can add on the policy.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They offer everything we need at a reasonable price. They have rental, renters, vacation, and home owners policies.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premiums and deductibles are lower than my previous company. This has really helped me save money in the long run.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We love USAA for our home insurance because they offer great customer service everytime we call with a question or policy change.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I absolutely love my home insurance provider.USAA feels very much like a hometown provider. Their main offices are in my home state of Texas. I always have a wonderful experience when I have to deal with them for any issues.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
USAA has very inexpensive coverage, I wouldn't even consider shopping around for something different. They have amazing value and their packages are really inclusive.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Used to be top tier insurance now they are middle of the road. You used to be able to get the best coverage for great prices but not anymore.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy offerings are excellent and offer quick response to all my inquisitions.In addition they offer online service to keep their cost down.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
USAAs premium i do believe is cheaper than other insurance companies. The deductible is about the same as other insurance policies but well worth it for the hassle free interactions with USAA.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
USAA is a wonderful company. I used to work for them previously and know that customer service is one of the top priorities with the company. They always look out for their members.


Date: September 24, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Policy offerings with USAA are very good. Coming from All state I was very impressed by how much more USAA covers. I have a much lower deductible as well.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium is much better than other companies, compared to our previous insurance company it is about one hundred dollars less.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
To date I would have to say my experience with USAA has been positive.I switched to them from All state ten months ago. My rates did increase switching to them but my coverage is significantly better in what it covers.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I trust that USAA has the lowest possible deductibles and prices. I do not even bother to check and compare. USAA serves those that serve our great country.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I give my insurance agency's customer service a 5. They were very helpful when it came to switching my homeowners from another company. Very friendly on the phone and helped me set up my internet account.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
They're always responsive and we have never had a bad experience when submitting a claim or them getting back to us. Always really easy to deal with.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
USAA has provided excellent, responsive customer service since we've had them. Seem true of all the USAA insurance products offered.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
USAA has policy offerings for every need. My brother has $30,000 in collectibles which they cover for only $11.00 a month. I assume that other providers have the same offerings but I know that USAA has the best prices.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium for my home insurance policy is lower than all other companies premiums I shopped for. The deductible is comparable and adjustable to make you happy.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service representatives are always available to help me, and they're always very supportive and easy to understand. They're able to find the information I'm asking about with hardly any wait.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Their customer service is a 4. Sometimes it is hard to reach them, but once you do they take care of your every need and answer every question you have.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
My home owner insurance policy offers a variety of choices for me to opt into. I can have coverage for replacement value, meaning what it would cost me to actually replace the damaged/destroyed item.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have had no issues with the company so far and they have been very helpful whenever I need them to help me out with a problem I may be having.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
USAA has been wonderful to work with and all of the representatives have always been extremely kind and helpful.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I like the policy options because I can get a high mininium value of coverage. I am able to feel secure about my home and being secure in the coverage.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Hands down Usaa is the cheapest provider for our whole package. We could find cheaper options for part of our needs, but the discount we get by bundling coverage makes it significantly cheaper.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
USAA has excellent customer service. Whether I need roadside assistance or help after lightning struck my house they are ready 24/7 with outstanding customer service.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I have always had great service form USAA. Everytime I have had to call them they were always prompt and courteous. I know that when I need to call them they will provide great service.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
USAA not only has some of the lowest rates in the country, but their customer service and quality as a company are second to none. I never feel like my insurance company is trying to screw me over.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The company policy offerings are pretty varied, and I think they're able to meet just about anyone's needs. They can cover as much or as little as you want, and it's all negotiable without guilt.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I loved how easy it was to sign up with usaa. My husband being former military they were so nice and understanding. I was able to customize my policy without any hassle.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
A deductible is the amount you pay for health care services each year before your health insurance begins to pay. ... The lower a plan's deductible, the higher the premium.


Date: September 23, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My deductibles are very good. I have a 2000 deductible on normal coverages, I have a 3000 coverage for hurricanes which being in Florida is critical.


Date: September 22, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
We are satisfied will all offerings of the policy. I don't believe they offer any more or less than previous companies we have used.


Date: September 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy compared to the other company I was with is so much better. I receive more if something was to happen. Knock on wood that I don’t ever have to find out.


Date: September 22, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I think my home insurance company is competitive as to the same covered offered by others. In many cases, my company is more reasonably priced. The cheaper rate companies don't provide the same coverage as mine.


Date: September 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
my rate is reasonable, and got more affordable when I bundled in other insurances too which was very useful


Date: September 22, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have been with usaa for about five plus years and I have to say although it costs a little bit they offer a multitude of services, hands down one of the best!


Date: September 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I do not remember exactly what my deductible is, the premium for the home value and coverage are comparable to most insurance companies.


Date: September 22, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
They are great to answer questions, help me be certain that all of my possessions are covered. They have been able to increase my covered by bundling, which actually saved me money.


Date: September 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
They are pretty similar to what other insurance providers offer. The rates are a much more competitive at USSA. I do wish they had a local office so that I could talk to someone in person.


Date: September 22, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have found that their customer service varies. In the beginning it was excellent, but now it seems they have contracted parts of it overseas and the quality has dropped dramatically.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible are very manageable. They are both affordable and I've never had any struggle in paying it.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I rate their customer service at a 5. I am a first time home buyer and originally created my quote online. Since I was unsure of some of my choices I called a rep to review my homeowner policy.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The policy offerings are consistent with all other companies I have contacted. They have the coverage you want and need and are willing to customize it as much as possible.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have had home insurance with USAA for over 14 years and have been pretty satisfied with them. We have never had a claim and I rate them a 4 with customer service.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have a great policy that makes me feel very comfortable with my coverage and I feel very confident in the company. My policy I have is equal to my previous policy with Grange with a few added extras I did not have.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible of my policy are extremely low, but I've also chosen to not have very much coverage. I know some people with very high deductibles, and I know some with even lower than me.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Have been extremely satisfied with customer service. We had hail damage and the CS was very helpful and followed up well.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the rates arent even close. Other agents wont even attempt to win our business by telling us what they can offer.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I can not compare my home insurance company, USAAs policy offerings compared to other because I do not know what they are.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am very satisfied with USAA insurance policy offerings. I do believe they cover everything other insurance providers plus more. They also explain their policies very thoroughly to make it easy to understand.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible were lower than the other companies I looked at. Having Progressive for auto insurance I expected getting home insurance to be much less through them, which was not the case.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The offerings were tier based and the rates were very competitive.


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My premium is reasonable and deductible is very low. Especially in comparison to other home insurance companies. And USAA offers more coverage than all other insurers!


Date: September 21, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I use USAA for auto, home, and pet insurance. Their customer service has always been exemplary. I can call or chat with them at any time and someone will be there to assist me.


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have had pretty good luck with the customer service at USAA. They helped me get a new policy with them that was comparable to my previous one. They even added on some extra coverage.


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is relatively low and the deductibles are not high either. I know that the mortgage lender was surprised that her recommended agency could not compete with USAA.


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My home insurance has been fantastic. I have had USAA for many years for auto insurance and everytime I have had to contact USAA they have been extremely helpful.


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
having been my first time purchasing home insurance, I not only needed someone to guide me through the purchasing process but also explain to me the products and how they worked.


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
USAA had much more affordable pricing for the coverage requirements I needed than other companies like Progressive, which despite options to bundle and save did not meet the coverage and price range I wanted.


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the deductible isn't the best but they are probably the best when it comes to using them!


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
USAA is very good insurance. It is mainly concerned with members of the military service and their family members. They offer fast assistance as well.


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium is less than what it was with Grange but the deductibles stayed the exact same and I think the deductible is $1000


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
USAA is always less expensive than other insurance providers for personal property, home, and auto. I don't think I would ever switch.


Date: September 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I like the coverage I have a lot but it is expensive. I am getting what I pay for but it would be better if my cost was lower.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I am satisfied with my insurance companies benefits including, cost, coverage, flexibility, and discounts. No other company is able to contend. My coverage is comprehensive to include flood insurance.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
USAA has great policy offerings for affordable prices. I don't know anyone who pays less and gets more from their insurance company. I wouldn't go anywhere else for insurance.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I have not made a home insurance claim so I am unable to rate my experience with the customer service. However, I use the same company for auto insurance and other services.


Date: September 19, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I think our premium and deductible are standard for the are in which we live for the coverage that we have.We get a couple of nominal discounts for having multiple policies with the same company.


Date: September 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I love the customer service from USAA because they are easy to get a hold of and take care of my issues. I do not need to worry if someone will be there because they are where I need them.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
policy is great, coverage is maximum while my rates are reasonable and affordable. They worked to find a custom plan for me rather than forcing something down my throat to maximize personal profit


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The company has been very easy to work with and reach when needed. They were also very helpful with explaining the coverage and pricing.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The home insurance offerings of USAA are diverse and comparable to offerings of other major insurance providers. I did not feel the need to shop around and compare.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I really like having them as my policy holders! they have made it easy and the services online are so accessible


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premiums and deductibles are fair. I often compare them to other insurance companies and they are always one of the lowest and are rarely out of the top 3 that I compare them to.


Date: September 17, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
We do think that the premium is pretty high for the home owners insurance policy. Also the deductible is pretty high. But compared to other insurance companies, USAA is about the same price.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductible, while low, is still really competitive. Same goes for the premium.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
Great! We pay it yearly so we don't really notice like we do other monthly bills. For what it covers a couple hundred bucks per year seems like a steal.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I think they are comparable to other home insurance policies in my area. Their premiums are lower than some companies. They do not subscribe to the idea of giving you really cheap rates just to pull you in.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I have home coverage and the option of flood insurance and since I have other products such as auto insurance there are discounts applied.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I do pay a rather high premium for my home coverage as well as a high deductible for my home coverage. I feel it is worth the higher cost as compared to other companies because I get quick.


Date: September 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The customer service has been phenomenal; attentive, timely and professional. I've never had one bad experience with any customer service representatives. I would absolutely give them a 5 without hesitation.


Date: September 15, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium seems to be on point with the competition in the marketplace. We live in a semi-coastal area in the Northeast so we understand the risk being taken on in case of a large storm hitting.