USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Reviews & Ratings

See who are the best homeowners insurance companies rated by customers. Our research shows that homeowners can save as much as 35% on their homeowners insurance by getting quotes from multiple companies. Enter your zip code below and click “GO” to get multiple free quotes.

Compare Quotes from Top Providers and Save now!


USAA Overall Ratings

Company Customer Service Premium Communications Website/App Policy Offerings
USAA

Reviews by customers

Website/App

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

29 Reviews

 

2 Star

6 Reviews

 

5 Star

233 Reviews

 

4 Star

100 Reviews

 
Policy Offerings

3 Star

28 Reviews

 

2 Star

1 Review

 

5 Star

325 Reviews

 

4 Star

109 Reviews

 
Communications

1 Star

2 Reviews

 

3 Star

31 Reviews

 

2 Star

2 Reviews

 

5 Star

270 Reviews

 

4 Star

59 Reviews

 
Premium
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

1 Star

3 Reviews

 
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

2 Star

21 Reviews

 
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

3 Star

79 Reviews

 
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

4 Star

162 Reviews

 
USAA Homeowners Insurance Company Ratings

5 Star

343 Reviews

 
Customer Service

1 Star

3 Reviews

 

3 Star

27 Reviews

 

2 Star

5 Reviews

 

5 Star

481 Reviews

 

4 Star

84 Reviews

 

USAA Recent Homeowners Insurance Reviews & Ratings | Share Your Review

Date: August 20, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have used our insurance company for years with no complaints. They have great customer service and always help us get the best value available to us.


Date: August 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We love USAA for our home insurance because they are always fast at answering the phone and we are confident they would give us great service if we needed them.


Date: August 20, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
USAA had the lowest premium of all the insurance companies I called. I called at least three when I bought my house and USAA was the most responsive as well as having the lowest premium.


Date: August 20, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
USAA provides a reasonable premium and deductible compared to its' competition. A lot of companies charge a very high deductible and it is unfair to the customers who are seeking coverage.


Date: August 19, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
USAA is the best service for the best value. You cannot beat USAA. To those who are not able to get USAA I am sad for you. You are missing out on the best.


Date: August 18, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
USAA has fantastic customer service. I give USAA a 5 out of 5 for their customer service. When lightning struck our house USAA covered the damage and was very helpful.



Date: August 14, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My premium is low, so I am pretty happy about that. I pay less than what some of my friends pay for comparable services with other companies.


Date: August 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The pricing and deductible is very fair and something we could easily come up with if we ever had to make a claim with them.




Date: August 08, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
it has been easy to use as well as understand and the customer service is excellent


Date: July 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
all policy premiums were high with higher deductibles.We were able to get good coverage with a manageable deductible with Erie and were not able to find that elsewhere.


Date: July 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I think USAA home insurance is excellent. I would rate them a 5. They are especially good at customer service.


Date: July 30, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Our homeowner's insurance policy is slightly above average, but the costs aren't all that different from the norm. I'm pretty satisfied with our policy, though of course there is always room.


Date: July 30, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The USAA home insurance premium is very fair in comparison to offers we looked at in the past, by a large margin. The deductible is almost non-existent when you take into comparison.


Date: July 29, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
I feel like I have great coverage over my home and I know that USAA would be easy to work with if something did happen.


Date: July 29, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My home insurance policy has multiple discounts, is bundled, and has additional discounts built in based on the way I pay the premium. The deductible can be set at various amounts to raise.


Date: July 29, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
My insurance company offers excellent pricing for good coverage, and as of recently has held an edge over other insurance companies' rates.


Date: July 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Our family has been incredibly pleased with the attention and care provided by USAA, and they have proven themselves to us time and time again.


Date: July 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience with my home insurance company's customer service has been excellent. I can always reach a real person and get information that I need.


Date: July 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
They were some of the cheapest insurance rates around. They offered me discounts on numerous different options and also because I bundled a lot of my services with them.


Date: July 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
USAA is awesome we have our auto insurance home insurance and other insurance products with them they are great.we have had claims and they are great to work with in those situations too.


Date: July 28, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My experience with my home insurance customer service has been fantastic. On a scale of 1 to 5, I give it a 4 because sometimes the wait time to reach a representative is long.


Date: July 28, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The experience I have had with my insurance company has been great and I would rate them at 5 out of 5.


Date: July 28, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am grateful that USAA covered my home due to its age (Antebellum). The premiums and deductible are somewhat high, but I can not show disdain because many other insurance companies.


Date: July 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
We have had a fantastic time using USAA's home insurance. Our home, everyone, and everything in it are all protected for a low cost.


Date: July 27, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I keep my deductible and the same when I switch companies and this companies premium is way less. Your house better be in great physical condition or they will not insure you


Date: July 26, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
My experience with home insurance company's customer service is really good. They are always helpful and insightful. After, speaking with an agent I always feel like my belongs are safe and protected.


Date: July 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
The deductible of my home insurance policy is in line with what I would expect. The premium is a bit high for my coverage from my insurance company.


Date: July 26, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
we are satisfied with what our policy is, specially because it is easy to reach out to our agent when we need additional support


Date: July 25, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
The prices are reasonable for the coverage I get, and I've always liked working with them for my auto insurance. I haven't had to make a claim yet, but I feel like they would be easy to work with.


Date: July 25, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
They are fair compared to other companies. I do not see much difference when I check with other insurance companies and compare offerings.


Date: July 25, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
While I have not price-compared in a long time, when I did, USAA was equal to other companies and had the same policy offerings and pricing based on the structure we have.


Date: July 25, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My premium seems is a little lower then what I had with American Family. My deductible is the same amount however, if I needed to make a claim.


Date: July 25, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I am very satisfied with usaa and their rates. I have never looked at other insurance company's rates or policies.


Date: July 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I am very satisfied with my home insurance from USAA. I would rate the customer service of USAA at a 5/5. I have never had any issues with USAA's customer service and they are always extremely helpful.


Date: July 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
USAA offer many diacounts on multi product deals and goea through an immense list of dos and donts and what we have and what we dont have what we need and what we dont need.


Date: July 24, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Their rates are much less than that of competitors I've received and they are't pushy. When applying, they gave me the facts and let me come to them when I was ready.


Date: July 24, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
My homeowner's insurance policy has a $500 deductible and I am satisfied with this amount. We always have that available in our emergency savings.


Date: July 22, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
the premium and deductible is not an issue with my current insurance company, and I think that both are very fair.


Date: July 22, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I think that my insurance company does well with policy offerings. I think that they are decently priced in comparison to similar companies.


Date: July 21, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
I believe my insurance is comparable to other companies who provide home insurance in my area. While I have not truly shopped around for insurance, I am sure I have a fair rate.


Date: July 20, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My home insurance is price competitive and USAA has a great reputation for accurate and prompt payment if needed. My policy has multiple discounts, is bundled, and has additional discounts..


Date: July 20, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
The offerings seems to be similar. Price wise it does not seem to be any cheaper even though USAA is considered to be a good company.


Date: July 20, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
my experience during evacuation time with hurricanes and other little things i have dealt with they have been wonderful


Date: July 20, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I haven't looked in a while for another insurance company, but I know when I did most companies said they could not compete with USAA's rates.


Date: July 19, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Previously we had Allstate insurance.USAA gave us a better rate than Allstate. We had been with Allstate for many years.As far as policy offerings,USAA did not cover the boat so we had to leave it with Allstate.


Date: July 19, 2019    Age: Above 60    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The insurance premiums I have are comparable or better than other coverage's. The rates have not changes due to accidents or minor driving violations and I have the option of a payment plan.


Date: July 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Policy Offerings
USAA always knows who we are and addresses us as our names.They also recommend places to stay when we are traveling. The company insurances those that have served.


Date: July 18, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The premium and deductible of my policy is favorable compared to other home insurance policies for the same coverage, and I think it is fair.


Date: July 17, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I've never used another home insurance company. USAA is great, though. I'm fully covered, and it's not too expensive that I've thought about looking for another provider.


Date: July 17, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I am not completely sure about other deductibles and comparing to other companies, but I am very satisfied.


Date: July 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
The home insurance policy is extremely competitive and comprehensive. I would argue that they are one of the best home insurance providers at a very reasonable cost.


Date: July 16, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
switching to USAA we haven't had to file a home claim. We switched for the price and that we have had excellent customer service with USAA when it comes to auto insurance and our auto loans.


Date: July 15, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
Some of their premiums and deductibles seem a bit high on my end. In addition, it seems that you may get a bit less than what you are paying for with them.


Date: July 15, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
USAA has some of the best customer service around. They have always helped when I had trouble with payment dates or issues with how the mortgage insurance would be paid.


Date: July 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
At the end of the day I only had a 500 buck deductible. Off the top of my head however I do not remember what it was that my premium was.


Date: July 12, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
We were able to keep our deductibles reasonable and still keep our premiums down. It is much easier to come up with $500 than $2500 like some other companies wanted.


Date: July 11, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
they were able to provide a great discount. Not only that, the times we have had to deal with them they have been nothing but friendly.


Date: July 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
I haven't had a single poor interaction with USAA and it's customer service representatives. Each call with them has been pleasant and smooth, with each question or issue.


Date: July 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I have never had any trouble with my housing insurance company customer service. They have been wonderful about working with me, and always have a positive attitude.


Date: July 09, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Policy Offerings
The offerings were very competitive and we liked all of the extra coverage we could add on to protect us in the event of disaster.


Date: July 08, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
We use USAA for both home and auto insurance with which I rate them both a 5. Their customer services representatives are very helpful when you have to call in for information or general help.


Date: July 07, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
We love our insurance company's customer service. They have been responsive with us and answered all of our questions easily.


Date: July 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
My experience has been a good one. They are very helpful and friendly when i need their assistance. Additionally, when I had an accident they were able to assist immediately and get me the help I required.


Date: July 02, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
I am completely satisfied with USAA because I have always used them and I have heard many times that I won't find a cheaper rate from another insurance company.


Date: June 30, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Website/App
They are so responsive to our needs and always keep us in the loop as to what is going on. Never have to call and ask whats going on with a claim or coverage. Explained coverage to us in a helpful matter as well.


Date: June 27, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Website/App
I really don't think that USAA offers much on the app as far as home insurance goes. It's more designed for mobile banking. I have never had the need for it though.


Date: June 26, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Policy Offerings
Dwelling is covered as noted above as well as a VPP underwriter, which is a valuable persons property that covers certain items inside our house.


Date: June 24, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Customer Service
Top notch. The always confirms whom they are speaking with, address the customer by their name and thank the client.



Date: June 18, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
USAA is a top-notch insurance company, the customer service is amazing and I never mind calling them; I always leave a conversation feeling cared for and satisfied.


Date: June 17, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
USAA representatives are very kind and helpful, and I've never had any issues with them. They also generally charge equally or less than the majority of their competitors.


Date: June 17, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I would rate USAA a 5 based on the service provided several years ago when a faulty washing machine flooded our home. The company was quick to send repair people who did quality work.


Date: June 16, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
I had a great customer service experience with my USAA home insurance. They were friendly, quick and easy to work with over the phone.


Date: June 13, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Premium
I have had a few claims in the past 5 years that has driven up my premiums. However, before those claims, my insurance company provided a competitive rate but also unparalleled service.


Date: June 13, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
It has been fine. I have to have good insurance because of Hurricanes. So far I have had no major problems, but customer service can be frustrating - as most customer service usually is.



Date: June 11, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I would say that both the premium and deductible of my home insurance policy with USAA is rather low when compared to various other insurance providers, and I am thoroughly satisfied.


Date: June 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Communication
They were very professional and courteous. They repeated what I asked for in my policy and made sure everything was clear.


Date: June 10, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
We have only had one claim which was for a power failure. Our power was out for two days and we received a check to compensate for the loss of all our food.



Date: June 10, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I have been pleased with USAA's customer service. When I have had to make claims, they have been very helpful.



Date: June 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Customer Service
I have never had a negative interaction with my home insurance company, we built the house new in 2014 so we have yet to need their services either.



Date: June 09, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
My premium is in line with what I paid with my previous insurance company. I feel it is a little high compared to the values associated with my home and belongings but I have to pay it.


Date: June 08, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Married

Communication
the steady decline in customer service for the company as a whole has been disappointing...




Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 20 to 29    Gender: Male    Marital Status: Unmarried

Premium
USAA has the best rates of any insurance provider I've come across. I have gotten quotes from various providers but none have been able to beat the prices offered by USAA.


Date: June 06, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Unmarried    Marital Status: Female

Customer Service
when looking into homeowners insurance companies, you’ll want to consider the company’s financial stability, their customer service, how they handle claims, the level of coverage you're getting.



Date: June 05, 2019    Age: 50 to 59    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Male

Premium
I am satisfied with the premium that we pay. I do not feel that it is too high. We did compare this to other insurances,when we factored in the benefits which includes factors other than price.


Date: June 03, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Unmarried

Customer Service
I have never really had to utilize the service so I don't really interact with customer service representatives as it pertains to homeowners insurance.


Date: June 02, 2019    Age: 40 to 49    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
USAA provides customers with many options of home insurance.My deductible is low and I still pay less that I would with any other company at a higher deductible rate.



Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Female    Marital Status: Married

Premium
The coverage we get through USAA is about the same when compared to the last insurance company we went through. The difference is cost. USAA is a little cheaper.


Date: June 01, 2019    Age: 30 to 39    Gender: Married    Marital Status: Female

Premium
Similar to the policy offerings, the deductibles are competitive but not amazing. They could be lower and better for the customers.